Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Canis Series

Canis Series

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Dear Mr. Rain, Dear Hatter, Canis The Speaker
Japanese: CANISシリーズ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Jun 28, 2012 to ?
Authors: Ishie, Hachi (Story & Art)
Serialization: Opera

Statistics

Score: 8.461 (scored by 1369 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1692
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2120
Members: 4,735
Favorites: 219

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
May 13, 2015
Pastabeanchuu (All reviews)
What do I see? could this be a great BL manga?

Yes, you are not dreaming! This could very well be the start of an excellent series. Apparently, the author heard the prayers of millions of BL fans and chose to go out of their way to write an interesting story.

It focuses mainly on Satoru, a hatter, and Ryou as the latter came to Japan to die. It starts with their fateful meeting and goes down from there.
The storytelling is one of the best I read in a manga and it definitely makes me want to know more about the characters (and they happen to read more
May 15, 2016
misskitsune97 (All reviews)
This is a true gem, believe me.

The story and the way of showing same-sex relationships was definitely far from typical shounen-ai and is hard to find even in western books or films (that tend to avoid stereotypes and categorization more often). This story contradicts every comment about manga or anime, and especially the shounen-ai genre, lacking depth or meaning or creativeness.

The story is sweet and dramatic at the same time, and although it's rather short it makes you feel like you've known the characters your whole life - all the little details we learn in between, later appear to fit perfectly and really complement the read more
Jul 24, 2015
Tangerinne (All reviews)
This is one of my favorite mangas because of the art and story.

Canis is about the encounter of two individuals from different worlds. One lives as a hat maker and struggles to maintain his store when the other just tries to survive. It's not new that thing of finding a collapsed person on street, but their reasons to do what they do are interesting.

The art makes story flows pretty well with funny moments and a comic look. Their relationship develops slowly and carefully as the character's personalities grow too. I like the fact that fashion industry is relationed to the story and tells some read more
May 10, 2017
ToshiKata (All reviews)
This was such a sweet and poignant story and the two main characters are so incredibly adorable.

What I loved about it:

1. Nice sense of mystery surrounding Ryou's character at first.
2. Unique setting - hat maker shop - fashion industry.
3. Both men are masculine (no blushing maidens) and neither fall into a typical uke or seme role.
4. The artwork is unique and gorgeous.

This story is very similar to No Touching At All. It's a slice-of-life view of the development of a relationship without the straight vs gay angst. It's wonderful because both characters are (mostly) honest with read more
Jan 22, 2018
AkumaMusume (All reviews)
Okay so my score might look too high, but this manga truly deserves it.
First, it's a boy's love but has none of the usual stupid clichés yaois often have.
The two main characters are both interesting and don't have that Seme/uke dynamic, and beyond the romance is a dark story involving human trafficking, the mafia and a very interesting polyamorus relationship.
The art is very specific and looks kind of wester, which might not be liked by everyone but I personally find it gorgeous.
The characters a believable and their dynamics are great !
This manga definitely is worth checking out !
May 13, 2017
FMAHD (All reviews)
Canis is a really distinct and wonderful read.
It's classy style and the world it builds around the characters is very strong. The art has an unparalleled to it and the artist (ZAKK) clearly understands good direction and scene making. This story gives the two mains a lot of space, as I honestly think that this story is more of a story about a fashion designer getting back to creating fashionable hats and the nature of artists than a romance, although the romance is very prominent and welcomed. It's not too long in dragging out Ryou's past. Amazingly, it puts more emphasis on the themes read more
Jun 1, 2019
bigmccreefan420 (All reviews)
I don't often re-read manga, but I found myself thinking about this story again yesterday, and decided to crack it back open. As a bonus, there were three new chapters since the last time I gave it a go!

The first few volumes, containing Dear Mr. Rain and Dear Hatter focus primarily on the relationship between Satoru, a hatter, and Ryou, a young man who came to Japan to die after being involved with a seedy organization in America. The former rescues the latter, and their relationship blossoms beautifully in a unique setting that I'm not used to seeing in Manga. This was enough to make read more