Saikyou Densetsu Kurosawa
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Saikyou Densetsu Kurosawa

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Legend of the Strongest Man Kurosawa, The Legend of a Strongest Man
Japanese: 最強伝説黒沢

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 11
Chapters: 90
Status: Finished
Published: Jan , 2003 to Sep , 2006
Genres: ActionAction, ComedyComedy, DramaDrama, PsychologicalPsychological, SeinenSeinen
Authors: Fukumoto, Nobuyuki (Story & Art)
Serialization: Big Comic Original

Statistics

Score: 8.341 (scored by 50335,033 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #2182
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #823
Members: 14,356
Favorites: 958

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 4, 2014
Kenji_The_Engi (All reviews)
“At the crossroad in my life, I didn't know which way to go. I just mindlessly choose a random direction... then, after regretting my decision I tried to retrace my steps. However, without even realizing it the sun had already set.”
-Kurosawa

Saikyou Densetsu Kurosawa, or Legend of the Strongest Man Kurosawa (not to be mistaken for Onanie Master Kurosawa) is a masterful tragic comedy manga written by Nobuyuki Fukumoto, the original creator of well-known works such as Kaiji, Ten, and Akagi, which tells the magnificent tale of a middle age man going read more
Oct 27, 2010
Daimyo (All reviews)
Preface (Please don’t read)

And now it’s time for another amazing (half ass) review from the world renowned and now famous (in his head) Daimyo. In our last segment we reviewed blank. Indeed blank and blank’s characters will always hold a pace in my heart. This time around we’ll be reviewing a personal favorite of mine Fukumoto Nobuyuki’s Saikyou Densetsu Kurosawa (Legend of the strongest Man, Kurosawa). And now I know they’ll be those among you who will ask what’s the occasion? Why is the elusive and super rare Pokémon Daimyo making such an appearance? A review even!? Well I can calmly say that it read more
Feb 28, 2014
Po_and_Dong (All reviews)
Saikyou Densetsu Kurosawa is an outstanding manga by Nokuyuki Fukumoto of Kaiji and Akagi fame, telling a story about a man named Kurosawa and his quest to find his place in the world. Throughout its 70 something chapters it gives some of the most touching and bizarre moments, all revolving around the titular strongest man. I begin the review by saying that this Legend of the Strongest Man is one of the best manga I've ever read.

Saikyou Densetsu Kurosawa, or as its known in English as The Legend of the Strongest Man Kurosawa, tells the story of Mr. Kurosawa, a 44 year old single, overweight read more
Jul 19, 2011
rustopholis (All reviews)
If I only have my first sentence to grab your attention then read this. This is probably the most real, hilarious, sad, scary, disgusting and exciting manga I have read in about 3 years.

Do not let the art scare you away if it isn't your style.

I wont necessarily call this a review.

I don't want to summarize it because I couldn't do the story justice.

But I will say that this story takes an unlikely character and turns them into a hero. An awkward, dirty, old, fat, ugly hero in need of anger management and alcoholics anonymous.

Please read this entire (11 volume) series. read more
Dec 15, 2014
PonPonPon (All reviews)
Fukumoto Nobuyuki’s work has a strange appeal. It is so bizarre, yet buried within the self-deprecating eccentricity is a boundless love and understanding for humanity in all its ugliest forms. He gets people. His writing is wild and somewhat unrefined, but his capacity for creating relatable, engaging characters is impressive, to say the least. And so it is with Legend of the Strongest Man Kurosawa, where in spite of a few pitfalls, great characterization blends with powerful, sweeping statements about society and life to create an unorthodox, volatile, yet ultimately touching story.

Kurosawa is a construction worker and alcoholic in his 40s, living alone in his read more
Mar 1, 2015
truisms (All reviews)
Saikyou Densetsu Kurosawa is an offbeat seinen comedy about a 44 year old construction worker with no family, no friends, no girlfriend, and basically no prospects. It touches on a lot of themes that will be familiar to many people, and brings a maturity and thematic depth to a classic shonen formula.

Story: 6/10
The story itself is fairly straightforward and inspiring, following Kurosawa as he seeks to become more accomplished in the eyes of others. The storytelling is funny and smart, and the story has some thematic depth as well. The main issue comes from the fact that, like many shonen manga, it follows a general read more
Nov 9, 2015
Tylonius (All reviews)
*Note* This is less of a conventional review, and more of a analysis/my overall thoughts on this piece.

Do you ever wonder what your purpose is in life? If you don't have anyone in your life to care for or vice-versa, is living even worth it?

As for a quick synopsis, Legend of the Strongest Man, Kurosawa written by (Nobuyuki Fukumoto) features our titular character experiencing a hard-hitting mid-life crisis. Kurosawa has been living an ordinary blue collar lifestyle for the latter half of his life. As a man who's just turned 44, Kurosawa has decided he's had enough of being unpopular among his co-workers and will read more
Feb 8, 2019
SCLFI (All reviews)
Strongest Legend Kurosawa is a manga about a 44 year old man, which already strikes it apart from most manga/anime - it's almost muscle memory at this point for me to write high schooler/young man. In any case, it's about our titular character, who's a 44 year old labourer, barely getting by. His large build leads others to mistake him for a brute, and so he has no friends at work, nor a girlfriend or wife. One day, he brings it upon himself to be the changed man he always wished he were, and so begins his endeavour to attempt to become an accomplished and read more
Feb 28, 2018
Gundroog (All reviews)
Man I wish I had gotten around to this manga sooner. SMK has been around for a while now and when something becomes a hit even in niche circles I feel like it takes away some mystery from the work cause you go in knowing what's it about and why people loved it but Kurosawa has so much to offer that I sure hope more people give it a try.

Starting point of the manga is the lowest point for its protagonist. Kurosawa is old, poor, unattractive, doesn't have any family or friends and he loses the last shreds of hope he had for having a read more
Feb 12, 2017
wariowariowario (All reviews)
TL;DR A wonderfully well made tragicomic manga that has an exquisitely unique art style that may not be enjoyed by many, an extraordinarily realistic and funny main character and touching themes. I thoroughly suggest reading this to everyone who wants to enjoy a silly yet meaningful manga.

First review I'm making bla bla bla, don't be too harsh with me 'n' all.

So, Saikyou Densetsu Kurosawa, a manga written by Nokuyuki Fukumoto, what do I think about it? This masterpiece truthfully hit me really hard, I've read a lot of manga (perhaps by this website's standards I might have not read a lot of it, but eh) read more
Jan 31, 2021
DrakuLL (All reviews)
This is a masterpiece from its concept, deepening, characters, the simple way in which the author shows reality is moving and terrifying at certain times, we realize very early that this is not a shounen where the protagonist will leave a situation with a simple feeling of anger or love. Here the character's life is like that of our parents. It is how our life will be or it already is, it is cold and hard, but we always find our way to solve our problems ... sometimes not. All that Kurosawa sought at the beginning of the work were common desires, such as women, read more