Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kimi wa Girlfriend

Kimi wa Girlfriend

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: You're My Girlfriend
Japanese: キミはガールフレンド

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 1
Chapters: 4
Status: Finished
Published: Dec 5, 2003 to Oct 26, 2004
Authors: Minami, Maki (Story & Art)
Serialization: Hana to Yume

Statistics

Score: 7.721 (scored by 7801 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #20922
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #663
Members: 13,633
Favorites: 141

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 15, 2008
w12920 (All reviews)
Kiimi wa Girlfriend / You're My Girlfriend: A story about a high-school girl who has some personality issues, thus resulting in not having any friends...until she met a guy. Except there's a catch......he's gay. How will both of their lives progress?!?! Happily-ever-after or a situation spiraling out of control?!?!

[Story - 10] The story in Kimi wa Girlfriend really intrigued me. I personally found it interesting to see whether two polar opposites will be able to get along or not. It may be a fairly common storyline amongst manga, but it's always interesting in it's own, unique ways. In this case, a mean girl surrounded by read more
Dec 21, 2007
tatsukimi (All reviews)
Kimi wa Girlfriend is and still is my absolute favorite manga read, I've loved to read it and continue on with it's comedy/romance theme and so on. I constantly refer to it as my "inspiration" and manga read of all time. I enjoyed this manga C:
May 17, 2013
Nocti (All reviews)
First of all, I apologize for the grammar and spelling mistakes I may make. English is not my mother tongue.

There are lots of good examples in mangas of straightforward girls that find it difficult to build relationships with others: Maria Kawai, of Akuma to love song is the first example that comes to my mind. This is not the case in this manga: I didn´t like the female character at all. I don´t find her "credible".

The story goes about a girl that has no friends because she is unable to communicate properly, and the way her life changes when she joins the "Maidens read more
May 4, 2010
Mellolicious (All reviews)
At first I didn't wanna read this. The cover art wasn't very good, so I thought the drawings would be worse inside the manga. But actually, the art was very well done. Anyways, I thought that Kimi wa Girlfriend was very humorous and cute. One thing I didn't like was how the problems were solved very easily. But overall, it was a great manga.
Dec 6, 2008
stellarx1587 (All reviews)
I loooved the story! Although its not original... it had its own special flare that kept it interesting. Kirie and Hatsune are what really set this manga apart from other similar mangas. The relationship between the two main characters was very amusing! As a girl, I would personally love to have a friend like Kirie! The artwork was beautiful. I loved the character designs. All in all... it was a quick, fun, cute, and lighthearted read and is highly recommended!
Sep 16, 2009
ashnite22 (All reviews)
This is a really short and fun manga to read. I loved special A so I decided to read some of the mangaka'a other works and this was pretty enjoyable.

I really thought the character development was very well done and it advanced the story and had a good pace.

Its not ur ordinary shoujo characters (weepy,girly,dense,angsty,aloof,hard).
It was pretty funny and had alot of sweet moments.

The art was pretty good. kirie is such a bishie lol!

other than that, I wish it was more than four chapters. I also wanted to learn a little more about kirie and the other two people that joined the club. It read more
Jun 26, 2011
Llightshines3211 (All reviews)
A very good manga indeed! Every page leads you on, making you want to read more and more! The art is extremely nice and the characters are very amusing. You'll find yourself laughing or squealing every chapter. It's not super addicting but you really just don't want to put it down. Throughout the manga, you are exposed to different sides of the characters and are able to feel what the characters feel while seeing it as an outsider. I'm sad it ended so quickly but then again, it wouldn't have been so good if it kept going on. Very amusing to read! Highly recommend read more
Jun 14, 2011
lareyy (All reviews)
Kimi wa girl friend.

For a one shot manga, this isn't really bad, but I can't say it's good either. [Read the synopsis]
The character's character didn't even change a bit from start to end - this is where consistency is a bad idea - there should have been more some kind of a twist, but there's none.

Plus, the girl is annoying. I mean, if you want to be friends with other people, who doesn't know the rule - be nice to them.

And the guy? What? He's not gay, obviously, so why exaggerate? Don't act one if you aren't.

I recommend this for people who are bored reading read more
Jun 18, 2013
evil_eye (All reviews)
story 6/10
The idea is not really origional and the plot is sort of predictable. There are some funny moments but overall it's just you average romance between tsundere and honest persons.

art 7/10
The art is nothing special, I just really like the style.

characters 5/10
Well just the basic idea, one character has a problem (in this case she is never honest) and has a dream (to get girl-friends) then she meets a special person and then I won't spoil the rest.
The two main characters are complete opposite (cliche) and both have their own problems. In most manga's like this the characters over come those problems and become read more
Jul 26, 2016
Pakutto (All reviews)
I started reading this manga, and thought it was cute at first. It was very short so I finished it in one night, and so all of it is fresh in my mind.
It was cute - but it only gets a 6/10 from me. (If I could use decimals, it'd be closer to 6.5 or so, though)

Here's my opinion (spoiler-free!)

The story is decent, the art is fairly shoujo, and it is cute. However, the main thing about the manga is the main character. I don't dislike her - I actually find her cute! The only issue is that her problem with badmouthing people is to read more
May 28, 2017
aiji_hotaru (All reviews)
Yes, this is my very first review here in MAL, and I should say I'm surprised myself that this is for a manga which I did not sign up for here in the first place. I mean, I'm an anime fan so I thought it would be natural to cast my first review for it, not for any manga of some sort.

Anyway, this manga was so great that I had the urge to give "justice" to it. I just bought a copy of it today (technically today is a different date but I haven't slept yet so..) from a store that sells second-hand mangas, read more
Jul 30, 2010
NightsofDawn (All reviews)
You're My Girlfriend was actually very good! I am pleased to say I never one dropped it! (Although that may be because it's so short =))

Story 10/10: The storyline is pretty good. I liked the ending; it was adorable.

Art 8/10: I think I'd give the art an eight. This was because, though they fit, I didn't really like some of the facial expressions, and that really set me off.

Characters 10/10: The character development was as good as to be expected of a super short manga. I like the main male character, Kirie, who had the most humorous habit I'd ever read about. I also read more