Akumetsu
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Akumetsu

Alternative Titles

Japanese: アクメツ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 18
Chapters: 162
Status: Finished
Published: Oct , 2002 to Apr 6, 2006
Genres: ActionAction, DramaDrama, ShounenShounen, PolicePolice, PsychologicalPsychological, ThrillerThriller
Authors: Tabata, Yoshiaki (Story), Yugo, Yuuki (Art)
Serialization: Shounen Champion

Statistics

Score: 8.211 (scored by 1613216,132 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #3612
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #241
Members: 39,988
Favorites: 1,579

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 12, 2009
Quizerno (All reviews)
To me. Akumetsu is everything Death Note should have been (in terms of Death Note's story). I hope I haven't angered anyone by saying that. I consider Akumetsu's story-telling to be wonderful.

The entire philosophy of "What is good? What is evil?" is something that alot of series integrate into their plot.

And so Akumetsu might seem to follow that, it takes a contemporary approach. Featuring science-fiction as opposed to magic.

Story: The details keeps you intrigued. They can be essentially divided into three parts that are all developed as the story progresses.
1. Akumetsu actions and political background of Japan
2. The people trying to understand Akumetsu and/or stop read more
Apr 20, 2011
hJ (All reviews)
One way to make sure crime doesn't pay would be to let the government run it.” (Ronald Reagan)

It is easier to commit murder than to justify it. (Aemilius Papinianus)


PLOT: -

Akumetsu takes us in post 9/11 Japan, where extreme corruption and hearsay lead the country to a massive economic downfall, increasing the public deficit to an enormous seven hundred trillion Yen. Politicians and businessmen simply enrich themselves amid growing unrest.

What would if you do if you the power to eradicate evil? Do you think crime can simply be destroyed by getting rid of all the criminals? In which read more
Sep 3, 2008
kora (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story[7/10] I was quite surprised by Akumetsu. The story is pretty standard. A masked man hopes to improve the lives of his countrymen by killing those that he claims are evil. Sort of a Death Note meets V for Vendetta, right? However, once you start reading you realize that this comic has the style and blood gushing violence to pull it off.

Art[9/10]The art very well done, and no matter what weird outfit Akumetsu decides to show up in it's gonna look bad-ass.

Character[10/10] Shou/Akumetsu's nonchalant and intentionally humorous approach to killing people makes him an enjoyable character who you soon realize is quite devoted read more
Oct 29, 2014
butako (All reviews)
I started off really liking this manga and as it progressed, it became a little stagnant. It can become a little boring towards the middle as some of the mini-stories can be repetitive. But, I always feel the ending can either make or break something and in this case, it DEFINITELY made the manga.. Those who have not stuck to the end don't deserve to rate the manga. The final chapters leading up to the end were so dramatic and tense. Although the end was rather abrupt, I felt it was satisfactory as a conclusion that left little loose strings and was impactful. That being read more
Nov 13, 2014
Asfaria (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

Akumetsu is a story of one man. And a horde of his look-alikes who collectively become known as Akumetsu. They are a terrorist group who kill off evil politicians and people ruining the country of Japan and causing it to accumulate around 7 trillion in national debt. After an Akumetsu kills his target, he dies as well.

The story is pretty simple and is mainly divided into arcs centering around Akumetsu focusing on a certain target and killing that target (pretty much always an old, corrupt, male politician) in a flashy way so that more and more people come to know of them read more
Mar 19, 2015
czxcjx (All reviews)
So what happens when you tell the Japanese equivalent of George Orwell to write a superhero story?

I don't think its so hidden anymore that Japan is not a particularly happy place or a particularly fun country to be in relative to other countries, at least if you've been up with some contemporary sources. Inio Asano depicted the stifling loneliness, dirt and all encompassing mundanity of a progressive hierarchical Japanese society. The Gekiga movement struck out against the post-war depression and the annihilation of any moral center other than reckless hedonism. Of all the manga out there Sanctuary is probably the most likely precursor to Akumetsu, read more
Dec 1, 2012
mm5703 (All reviews)
This is a very heart warming series. I started reading it and I never stopped until I finished the story in two days even if it cost me my mental ability of concentration. As I finished it I have not shed a single tear but my heart cries out loud for Akumetsu!


This series is not recommended for people that are unaware of the world and who do not understand deep meanings behind stories. This story is the best sci-fi story I've read so far...


Now this series talk about a fictional character that broke the human routine and went after the corrupted power holders read more
Mar 29, 2014
Po_and_Dong (All reviews)
Right off the bat I will say this manga is extremely similar to two others of note, number 1 Death Note and number 2 Sanctuary. Akumetsu is at its core, a vigilante story starring the protagonist Shou, and his somewhat superhuman exploits. Shou wants to change Japan for the better, and does this with a series of assassinations against politicians and the like who he deems within reasonable thought that they are corrupt, but outside the normal law. Sounds in theory similar to Death Note in the assassination aspect, and Sanctuary in the reform part, but in my opinion Akumetsu is better than both. To read more
Feb 6, 2011
Neferius (All reviews)
A rather heavy-handed yet startlingly accurate depiction of Japan's current political climate made for wonderful backstory to this Manga, as it's surprisingly likable antihero Shou "Akumetsu" resolves to take-on the system and eliminate corruption, one crooked politician at a time.

Any comparisons between this and DeathNote are completely irrelevant as this masterpiece is in a league of it's own.
May 23, 2014
Sayuko01 (All reviews)
Hidden gems : search for the lost treasures #1: Akumetsu

In the "normal world", people do not know about mangas.

I'm not saying that manga lovers aren't normal : like someone who doesn't know about football find immersing in the world of sport difficult, the world of manga is not a dimension that is accessible for anyone. Luckily, our capitalist world created mainstream manga : someone who want to start manga will probably begin by reading Naruto, One Piece, Bleach... Or Death Note.

On that note, enter Akumetsu. Akumetsu is a series written by Yoshiaki Tabata and illustrated by Yuki Yugo. You may know the name read more
Nov 12, 2020
rooster_ (All reviews)
Akumetsu is an irreverent and ultra-violent indictment of Japanese bureaucracy, government corruption, and the recession-era economy. The story follows a teenage "anti-hero" who publicly executes corrupt government officials in an attempt to change society through terrorism. As the public wonders whether his methods could ever be justified, the manga takes some deep dives into the various policies and trends that delivered Japanese society into its debt-crippled, hopeless present. It follows a long line of pulp stories where unscrupulous vigilantes take social change into their own hands, and races towards a thrilling conclusion. Whether you agree or not with the author's assessment of why things are read more
Feb 8, 2017
Biogundam (All reviews)
Warning this review may contain spoilers.

First impressions, the concept for a series about a terrorist doing shit for reasons seemed interesting enough and I wanted to see what they do with it.


Story, 6/10

In Japan where the economy is at an all time low and political corruption has reached it's peek.
"One" man will risk life and limb in order to save Japan and destroy the root of this evil by any means necessary.
His name is akumetsu and this is his epic story.


So the story of Akumetsu is pretty much about a terrorist organization made of clones of some crime lord,
who decide read more
Feb 11, 2015
ar1s3 (All reviews)
STORY (9/10)

The story revolves around a boy named Hazama Shou who has somehow gained the abilities of a superhuman. He calls himself Akumetsu and wears a black mask to identify himself. He swiftly acts against Japan's corrupt politicians to clean up the evil within Japan's political structure. The manga makes you question what is truly good and what is truly evil. If you had the power of change, how would you go on in using it? The basis of this manga is Japan's political system. While they do explain most of the system and their respective powers, Non-Japanese readers may be overwhelmed or simply interested read more
Oct 8, 2017
Cataldes (All reviews)
Pretty cringey and bad manga series, starts off with a bunch of politicians acting like perverts from a hentai manga and goes from there. The moral and politician lecturing does it no credit and the series drags throughout the middle. It is NOT as good as Death Note, not nearly as exciting in execution and much more preachy in it's message while Death Note remains more subtle in moral implications. Although to be fair Akumetsu does not have a drop in quality as noticeable as Death Note... but that is because the series is bad the whole way through whereas Death Note has moments of read more
Aug 22, 2020
plasticruler (All reviews)
Story:

Plot is reminiscent of Death Note. MC has a set of morals that he sees the world with. Using a power unique to him, he is able to kill those who he thinks are causing his country to become the way it is. The MC essentially runs a terrorist organization that has superpowers allowing him to kill people at the top of corrupt organizations. The story digs into what are some issues that the modern world is facing and also the mystery in how the MC obtains his power and what it costs.

Some messages conveyed are class issues between the average citizen and elite, government read more
Nov 27, 2019
SafeRemove (All reviews)
I look for manga with a scene where bad guys that live the life or do an act that will make us the reader feel angry at them get crushed and obliterated until they meet a fate worse than death by the mc. What I know is death note, Tokyo Ghoul, Akame ga Kill and One punch man maybe? But when I look for that I can't seem to find one. Akumetsu is not too, but it's close so I give it a try. I get this manga when searching with keywords "vigilante manga".

I don't want to write a well structured review, I just want read more
Jul 19, 2019
Gambara1 (All reviews)
This review might not help you decide if this manga is for you but you can read my review anyways if you want

- This manga gets compared to death note a lot because of how it talks about what is good and what is evil. I'd say don't go in thinking like that mainly because you'll be looking for something like Dead Note. Is this some philosophical master piece? No, but is this manga as hot as the fire being made from your gas stove top? Yes.
-The first 1/3 of the story is really exciting and fast paced with great action, but then it slows read more
May 25, 2010
Historical (All reviews)
[Story 9/10] At first glance the story seems pretty basic. A character that proclaims himself to be the "savior" because he wipes out what he sees as evil. As the story progresses though you see that the main character actually knows that what he's doing would be considered "evil" and that there are other ways to change the government besides what he's doing, but he wants to change the government himself and his methods are the only way he knows how to do it. That course of action is what takes place through the majority of the manga. Along the way the dynamic parts of read more
Aug 5, 2013
R2ilt (All reviews)
This manga has a nice tone to it and will (propably to me it did) hit a special spot for anyone who has watched V for Vendetta and took it more of an political movie rather than a action movie. But even if you did take VfV like that its still a good read.
Nov 15, 2011
Hououin-Kyoma (All reviews)
Story: [10/10]
Since I would give Death note (my previous favoriet manga) an 9, I would be akumetsu'd if I wouldn't vote a 10 xD It really looks a lot like Death Note in some ways. It's just a bit more mature since it is going deep into the gouvernment of japan and sometimes it's hard to follow, but you would catch it up sooner or later within the manga. Especially the end is surprising. Even with a mayor plot twist far before the ending (2 volumes), It's still not know what would actually happen in the last few chapters. Akumetsu kept surprising me.

Art: [8/10]
Very read more