Jibaku Shounen Hanako-kun
Toilet-Bound Hanako-kun
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Jibaku Shounen Hanako-kun

Alternative Titles

English: Toilet-Bound Hanako-kun
Japanese: 地縛少年 花子くん

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Dec 18, 2014 to ?
Genres: SchoolSchool, SupernaturalSupernatural
Authors: Aida, Iro (Story & Art)
Serialization: GFantasy

Statistics

Score: 8.651 (scored by 1073810,738 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #572
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #293
Members: 31,792
Favorites: 3,886

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Dec 31, 2018
OtakuGoneWild (All reviews)
WOAHWOAHWOAH!

Want a fun, compelling story to binge on? Want to enjoy eye pleasing art you can stare at all day? Want to see a good mix of character development and relatability? Want to enjoy every frame and panel in this manga? Well, if so, I recommend taking a peek at this manga because personally, all of this criteria has fulfilled me.

STORY: 10
To me, this story is original in my opinion. Although the idea of having a supernatural partner is an old concept, the way the author molds that cliche into her own special thing in a school setting with little adventures involving supernatural school read more
Dec 2, 2019
animejas (All reviews)
Toilet-Bound Hanako-kun is a manga that is beloved by a bunch of my friends in real life and online, so when I heard it was getting an anime in 2020, I let my curiosity get the better of me by reading it before seeing the adaptation itself.

Excuse me if the review is poorly written compared to my other ones, I just wrote this on the fly without preparing well like the others (since I wanted to avoid spoiling much detail to the story). These are just brief thoughts.

Story/Writing (2/10)

It is a very uninteresting story that felt shoddy in terms of consistency. There were a few read more
Oct 20, 2019
smoso (All reviews)
There are three reasons to read this manga.
1. The art style is unique. It has a cute, surreal, and sometimes creepy vibe to it.
2. It has some very cute and very good boys. Let me re-emphasize: EVERYONE IS EXTREMELY CUTE.
3. The story involves the fleeting, melancholic nature of relationships between ghosts and humans. Also, the ghosts are your classic "I was unhappy during life and am now trying to find fulfillment by remaining here after death" kind of thing. There's a pervading feeling of sadness behind all of the cute character designs and strange supernatural occurrences.

If this sounds like your thing, it probably is.
But I read more
Jan 2, 2020
Sodap0ps (All reviews)
Jibaku Shonen Hanako-kun is an enjoyable read, with fun characters, new twists on urban legends and tropes, and beautiful art.

Story - At the beginning of the manga, it might seem like the story will be somewhat episodic or nonlinear. Rest assured, though, a plot does come in to play. Yashiro Nene, a human girl, meets Hanako, a ghost, and the two wind up supernaturally linked to one another and must figure out the mysteries of the school the manga takes place in together. It's not a terribly unusual premise, but the writing makes it fun and interesting nonetheless. As the story progresses, there are read more
Dec 1, 2019
6fortius (All reviews)
Art: 9/10: It's cool and gothic, honestly the only reason why anyone will stay to read this

Story: 1/10: Can't rant more about this. It started off with a pretty cool premise. Different mysteries and our main character trapped in a toilet, yeah?

The only problem is that our second main character has everything worked out for her. It's pretty much all your typical manga issues: everything being concluded with a simple swing of the knife, a single talk to from our second main character resolves the whole isssue that has been bothering our villains for a Long time, or coaxing enemies into submission; events conveniently happening read more
Feb 20, 2020
YuriWeeb (All reviews)
I just recently binged this amazing series and enjoyed every second! Shounen is said to be for boys but really girls will get a kick out of this! It's very hilarious and deep!

STORY 9/10
It has a very solid story and its fun like I'm always looking forward to something and something is always going on! It's like there will be something serious to lore and then there will be a chapter dedicated to something funny like "Zombie Mokke"

ART 10/10
The art style was AmAzInG it's super unique and fun! The creator obviously put a lot of effort into drawing each boundary and character designs!

CHARACTER 9/10
The read more
Feb 5, 2020
ii-nky (All reviews)
Story: I personally love the story of JSHK. It's a lot different than what I've personally experienced, and it's enticing in its own way. So many things are hidden from the reader and it kind of wants you to read more? I can't explain how good it is sorry. Also, there's a lot of details in the manga that you catch after reading it 5 times. Honestly, it starts out a bit boring but it progressively gets more interesting and a lot darker.

Art: The anime is literally known for its art and it's not even that good (imo). The manga does a much better job read more
May 11, 2020
SimplyMizuki (All reviews)
Beautiful!, stunning!, Work of art!
Best one yet!!
This is what I consider music to my ears,
And,
What I think was something that I will never forget...
This is overall My favorite,
Due to drama and art.
When you think you've watched the anime but you think it pretty 👎,
You will notice how completely different this is compared to it.
this is Exactly the reason not to judge a book by its cover...
Ahhhhhhhhh......
Can't wait for a next chapter!!


The 1 word to describe this?
Stunning.
My opinion:
Read it.
How it hit me??
I am now a FanGirl.
Do I recommend this???
👍yes, I do.


I hope you found this helpful♥
Apr 28, 2020
SkootSkoot (All reviews)

-this will probably only make sense if youve read the manga fully-

aaaa, to be short i prefer the manga over the anime. Its so cute and absolutely gorgeous, im always excited when a new chapter comes out. I think the problem alot of people have with it is there isnt a strong plot, but honestly i really love that about it. Think about it this way, maybe not all manga and anime HAS to have a strong plot. Like, theres a plot buried under there, but theyre just kinda enjoying their lives. Its cute, feels really in tune to the generation. I think it has read more
Apr 26, 2020
Snail-chan (All reviews)
Although the story comes from a old urban legend, the way the author wrote it and made it their own is honestly amazing. The characters are fun, the way they introduce new characters makes you want to keep reading to find out about them. There hasn't been a manga I've read in a while that made me genuinely want to know more. Now don't get me started on the art. It's absolutely beautiful! The colors and the style blend together so well, I love it! I enjoyed every minute of reading it and I'm sad to say I finished the whole thing within a week, read more
Mar 27, 2020
dezonizens (All reviews)
I've never wrote a review before but oh boy is this a disaster
Jibaku Shounen Hanako-kun is a manga that looks really fun and has a quite unique style. I've been following this manga ever since it started yet it turned out to be a huge disappointment.

Story:
A story about urban legends in a school, interesting at first yet actually just a cliche plot. Most of the time the plot is just Nene getting rescued by her har-- friends. Super unrealistic and has tons of plot holes. This mangas only comedy source is Nene's legs. But pacing is the worst part here, it's been 64 chapters and read more
Jan 17, 2020
LinnHJo (All reviews)
I started to read this manga in 2018 or so, and I fell hard in enjoyment! The plot was hilarious, the character so cute and stupid (in a joyable way) and the story just takes it turns!

The story starts with Yashiro Nene, who is in love with the school president, of course she isn't really in love with this guy, even if that guy is handsome, amazing, kind and... I will not spoil but have some knowledge on one thing or another.
So Nene hears the rumor of the seven legends (some urban known thing in Japan) and she goes to Hanako-san, only that read more
May 19, 2020
fujoshi_julia (All reviews)
Hello! So, this is my first review, I hope it is ok(Engish isn't my mother tongue).

So, I started reading Jibaku Shounen Hanako-kun in 2019, and it's an outstanding manga.

The story may seem simple at the beginning, and truly is, but every chapter you read it's more deep and amazing.

The art style is reeeealy cute and the comedy is in a state that is not exaggerated, which makes the manga even more enjoyable.

The character development is great, it gives you the feeling that if there is a character you want to know more about, sometimes you will. You can understand the feelings of the characters without read more
Jun 29, 2020
Akairoo (All reviews)
SHORT REVIEW~~

Jibaku Shounen Hanako-kun manga is typical sweet romance?

STORY - Well... I must admit that at the beginning I thought it would be another typical sweet romance but the story became more and more interesting.

ART - I pay attention to art style and I think that is amazing!. The drawings are so polished and cute.

CHARACTER - Some characters annoyed me but there are also a lot of characters everyone can identify with ^^

ENJOYMENT - it was pleasant to experience moments of joy and sadness with the main characters. I am curious how the story will end.

OVERALL - That manga made me laugh and cry. Really read more
May 18, 2020
Blue_86 (All reviews)
Toilet Bound Hanako Kun is a very unique manga
Endlessly entertaining, the kind of thing that really puts a smile on my face. Or just makes me feel sad.
Sometimes it’s cute and funny, sometimes it’s dark and depressing.
Not like Made in Abyss, it’s not nearly as gruesome. It’s more subtle with the occasionally dark themes it presents. It’s not really “disturbing” in any way.
The art is amazing, creepy and cute all at the same time. It’s the kind of art that works for comedic cute moments and works for the occasional darker moments. It’s remarkably detailed and consistent, and something that you can appreciate even read more
Apr 16, 2020
_Bella_04 (All reviews)
I AM TELLING YALL, THIS IS THE BEST THING I HAVE EVER READ IN MY LIFE!

I am really obsessed with this story and artstyle and more. If you like the anime please reade the manga. In my case manga is a lot better than anime so i gave the manga 10/10.
I feel like i have never even in anime jumped in schock or screamed like i did while reading this manga. My life goal is to get all the volumes cuz it was just that good.
I showed the manga to my friend and three days later she came screaming at me that she loved read more
Apr 12, 2020
Walmart_Cookie (All reviews)
I love this manga. The story is great, and characters have depth and everyone looks cute. The art is amazing, and the anime animated the odd colorful style perfectly. By adapting it this way, the animation is minimalist, but it's a great show. In the beginning, it seemed like a normal shoujo girl x ghost, but then more characters were introduced and Hanako was given a lot more depth as a character. The whole aura of the story is great too. what seemed like a normal comedy romance shoujo actually had it's dark moments, with twisted characters, and later in the manga there are even read more
Apr 11, 2020
Blazeisachicken (All reviews)
I loved every little bit of Toilet-bound Hanako-kun, but I'll admit that it is not a manga for everyone. The story is about a girl named Nene who heard that there's a ghost who grants wishes in her school. She looked for him and meets him in a haunted bathroom. The ghost is named Hanako and, through a series of unfortunate events, Nene becomes tied to this ghost and has to help him keep the other ghosts in check. The story isn't really what matters here. It's an open plot that allows for great side stories. And, at first, that's what I was thinking. The read more
Aug 9, 2020
1800kur0mi (All reviews)
This manga is amazing!!! I recommend reading the manga before watching the anime that just came out!!

The art is so unique and beautiful, and the author does a great job at creating great loveable characters. It is really enjoyable since you get a lot of flashbacks with new characters and you get to know them really well. The main characters are also really cute and funny.

I also really enjoyed the authors way of introducing new characters, they really feel like your friends. Pay attention to some really cool characters and their backstories in the manga.

I definitely 1000% recommend to anyone who wants to read more
Sep 4, 2020
bipboop (All reviews)
I'm gonna skip every analyzation about this anime, and will plainly just give it a dazzling 10.

If you think this manga is just a fluffy romcom with no main story, then you are ABSOLUTELY WRONG about it.
This series is so much more than that, and its writing is absolutely beautiful.

First of all, I just want to clarify that you shouldn't believe the stats on MyAnimeList when it comes to this series. In Japan, this series literally had a solid fandom even before the anime aired. Some people called even called it a cult haha. As a youtube anime reviewer said, "i've seen this series being read more