MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #68
Sanctuary (Manga)

Sanctuary

Alternative Titles

English: Sanctuary
Synonyms: Santuario, Sankuchuari
Japanese: サンクチュアリ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 12
Chapters: 105
Status: Finished
Published: 1990 to 1995
Authors: Ikegami, Ryoichi (Art), Buronson (Story)
Serialization: Big Comic Superior

Statistics

Score: 8.641 (scored by 2685 users)
Ranked: #682
Popularity: #409
Members: 7,493
Favorites: 401
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page.

My Info


Popular Tags

action drama psychological seinen
Jun 6, 2008
Beatnik
Written by Sho Fumimura (aka Buronson) and drawn by Ryoichi Ikegami, Sanctuary is an engrossing epic that validates manga as a medium, it defines it; transcends it. In short it deserves the title of masterpiece.

Hojo and Asami seek to change Japan, to rock it to its very core. They share a dark past, and both have vowed to stick to the path they chose together, to keep rising up the ranks of society in order to make the changes needed to create a new Japan. One lives the life of a yakuza; the other the life of politics. What this manga read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 3, 2013
Yakub
Sanctuary is a manga about two Japanese young men who grew up in tumultuous Cambodia, due to their parents being doctors. When they return to their home country they vow to forge a sanctuary, an ideal nation, in Japan. One of them becomes a yakuza boss and the other a politician. Together they will shake the world. Sound good? It did to me, but I was ultimately disappointed.

The two main characters are indistinguishable from each other in terms of personality. They are strong (and manly) charismatic geniuses who are perfect in every single way. One of them takes over a political party with a single read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 26, 2013
5camp
Sanctuary tells the story of two men who escaped the killing fields of Cambodia as children into Japan to try build a safe haven for themselves. Except wait, they’re not actual Cambodian children. They’re handsome young Japanese children trapped in Cambodia because their parents were doctors. Don’t want to be like those smelly Cambodians with their funny coloured skin and wonky teeth. Asami, the glasses-wearing handsome young fellow, gets into politics to try build them their ‘Sanctuary’, while Hojo, the spectacle-less but still incredibly handsome young fellow, joins the yakuza to help Asami from behind. But not actually from behind because that would be gay read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 17, 2013
ChroniclesofV
What can I say about Sanctuary that the 10 rating doesn't do for me?

This manga, is quite simply, a masterpiece. It's very rare that you will come across a piece of media that can be called that, but still to this day, Sanctuary holds that hefty crown still.

Written by Sho Fumimura, better known as Buronson, the creator of Fist of the North Star and other famous works, and illustrated by Ryoichi Ikegami. The two have collaberated many times since then with things like Heat and the still ongoing Lord. They do have a fondness for one word titles don't they?

I'll try not to spoil any read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 7, 2014
misericord
for all its flash art and sweeping narrative arcs, sanctuary is a ham-fisted manga companion to ayn rand. engrossing enough, but don't take its juvenile neoliberal theories seriously, please.

also, the depiction of women is absolutely shocking. i see a lot of guys here giving this series a 10 and calling it 'beautiful' and all that. really? there are maybe three solid female voices in the whole series, and they're all putty in the hands of the main characters from the moment they meet them, seemingly for no reason. for instance, in the very first volume, in practically their very first meeting, the deputy chief of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 10, 2013
zybactik
“There is one key to protecting the throne. And that is not to misjudge the ambition of the young.”
This is a political strategic mind-battle manga dappled with intrigue, violence and provoking messages to the reader. It doesn’t mean this series is something overwhelming and stilted, though. The scope is indeed epic: from one’s dignity and pride to ideological inconsistencies and the world peace, - however downright realistic.
Pros:
Just the right size and pace. No dragging on the plot development. Once the tempo is set in the beginning, it proceeds till the very end. Smooth storyline makes it really easy to read and comprehend.
Art is simply amazing.
The read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 10, 2010
roriconfan
This is like Hokuto no Ken, only that instead of implausible martial arts, it’s about implausible politics. Manly tears and idealistic machoness are still present though.

Story: 5

When I started reading Sanctuary I thought it would be a realistic story around politics, a much overlooked genre in anime and manga. And although I did get some, to the most part it was all so childish and ideal that it lost quickly all seriousness and became mostly lackluster. Lackluster is not bad but it’s not something I would expect in a story around politics. Anyways, besides the initial serious tone, it is nothing but a dark fairy read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 22, 2010
Maz-Maz
Sanctuary is a tale I believe strongly in, its message, its story, all of it was beautiful.

If anything this story is like a fine hardwood richly carved by hand.
It is like the perfume that's subtle scent attracts you to it like a fly to honey.
I don't even want to justify how great a story it is because the story would have much more justice if you read it.
As inspirational as light at the end of the tunnel, this story is a golden classic if there ever was one.

And anyone reading this review who doesn't want to read it, or isn't bothered to read it; it's read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices