Forum Settings
Forums
New
Pages (4) « 1 2 [3] 4 »
Apr 27, 2016 9:10 AM

Jun 2015
I guess I speak and write English pretty well, there is always room for improvement, of course, but I think my current prowess is fine.
Apr 27, 2016 9:28 AM
Apr 2015
I think I'm not good at English at all.. xD it's not my native tongue and I'm still learning. Usually I don't even think about grammar etc., I just write what sounds about right lol. But I think people still understand what I'm trying to say, so.. :D
Apr 27, 2016 9:39 AM

Dec 2013
me can speaking english a lot me think me is goood in it i can thought me learned like much year ofs its danke.
Apr 27, 2016 10:30 AM

Feb 2014
BatoKusanagi said:
RyanEsau said:

Not what I was taught, always been told it's bad English. I tend to avoid doing it, most people don't really seem to care though internet-wise as I said. Not sure about irl, people probably care even less... I don't think people really would pay attention to each sentence like that to catch such errors in most cases.

According to this website, the "rule" started in the 19th century to, supposedly, stop kids from overusing conjunctions. I regard it in the same way as the "rule" that you have to wait an hour after eating before swimming: unchallenged beliefs that, because they get repeated so often, people believe are actually true.

yosimba2000 said:

Plus, who really cares?

Not anyone who's written great books since the 10th century or guides of style.

I find the purpose of books is to express a story, and if it requires incorrect grammar, then that's what should be done.
Now I see the secret of the making of the best persons.
It is to grow in the open air and to eat and sleep with the earth.
-Walt Whitman