Ranked #1983
Tears to Tiara

Tears to Tiara

Alternative Titles

English: Tears to Tiara
Japanese: ティアーズ・トゥ・ティアラ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2009 to Sep 28, 2009
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.361 (scored by 17868 users)
Ranked: #19832
Popularity: #916
Members: 42,932
Favorites: 132
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.

Reviews

Archaeon
Sep 30, 2009 1:21 PM
"There is no easy way from the earth to the stars,
Fire is fed by the wind and extinguished by the wind,
Grant us peace."

Okay, now I will admit one thing here. I have been itching (that's right, itching), to review this series from around episode 6. There's very few shows that have that effect on me, and almost every one is a special case. This one is no different, not because the show is actually good, or because it's well animated, or even because it has a good soundtrack. I've been wanting to review this show because of the things that inspired it's creation, and by read more
I found this review Helpful
ThatAnimeSnob
Oct 7, 2011 4:06 PM
This anime had a lot of hype before it aired. The reason is, it was based on a videogame by the same people who made Utawaremono, another anime adapted by a videogame. That anime had a big fanbase and thus people immediately jumped to the conclusion that Tears to Tiara will be great too. Don’t look at me though; I never liked that silly show. Neither did I like this one. Neither did most others.

First of all, the production values are good in overall. The artwork is very detailed in backgrounds and clothing, although the character figures all feel generic. The animation, although sloppy at read more
I found this review Helpful
OriginGenesis
Apr 27, 2010 12:30 AM
Story:7/10
THEME. The themes of this story was indeed not something to be awed for bewildering unexpectedness; The themes are not very new and are often discussed in many literature. Some of these literature are dated as far as back as the Egyptian and Babylonian times. Not telling what the themes are~~
CHARACTER'S MOTIVATION. Frankly, the motivation of the characters in Tears to Tiara was a cliche. I'll give you a hint, "mamoru" is a big key here and for otakus, this key word "mamoru" is very redundant because it's used in many of the animations currently distributed today to provide characters a motivation.
CONFLICT. I like read more
I found this review Helpful
DrewNess
Sep 25, 2011 5:28 PM
I saw good reviews and thought this series was exactly what I was looking for. An RPG style sword and magic adventure. While it has action and a good plat/storyline.... the characters are boring and repetitive. The episodes are always broken up by long and needlessly drawn out conversations. Practically a visual novel.

The art style is pretty good, the outfits and landscapes looked great. Fight scenes were nice and bloody. However the background music was very repetitive throughout the series, the same three or four tunes that were straight out of a 1995 RPG game. Almost as annoying as the dialogue. The word 'Mamoru' read more
I found this review Helpful
Dorcas_Aurelia
Nov 25, 2012 3:22 PM
Tears to Tiara is not so much a spiritual successor to Utawarerumono as it is a remake with a change of setting. Both shows were directed by Tomoki Kobayashi, with the production studio being Oriental Light and Magic. Both are adaptations of a tactical RPG/visual novel game from AQUAPLUS, and while the grand sweeping fantasy story is a departure from most visual novels turned anime, the original creators clearly only had the one diversion from the standard. The lack of originality here is frustrating for anyone who has already seen Utawarerumono. Nearly the entire ensemble of characters immediately draw comparison to counterparts in the other read more
I found this review Helpful
FloraWindcutter
Nov 7, 2011 7:27 AM
The anime looked good from the beginning and it is pretty mediocre, nothing badass, nothing unique, nothing beautiful, so i think its just the average anime, not really worth watching if you want a badass series to watch its 'meh'

story: 4
this anime... is... somewhat lame in plot development, everything seems too random, i mean, after a certain event they just turn around and say oh this is next... its like, dude??? wtf??? there weren't any good plot buildup at all... and this.... just ruined the anime for me

art: 7
the only thing that's likable about this anime is the artwork, i love the dragon read more
I found this review Helpful
cherrypixie27
Nov 1, 2009 12:29 PM
This seriously needs more reviews!!!
Awesomely awesome show, had me hooked from episode 1. It is a tad gory so beware, but other than that i loved it. One thing that bothered me though was that the characters, while amazingly drawn, etc, aren't extremely fleshed out, so they don't have a ton of personality. Rhianon comes off as a bit flat and helpless, and while she is married to Arawn (not a spoiler, it's in ep 1), not much is said about their union.
Seriously though, great show, i love the mythological and arthurian ideas thrown in, as well as the background music and themes. Enjoy!
I found this review Helpful
pinksy
Apr 1, 2012 2:57 AM
This is the worst anime I have seen to date. The voice acting is horrible. The annoyingly bad celtic accents are unbearable. The story is never developed, the pacing is inconsistent,and the characters are never developed.

The anime starts out with an interesting story arc, but by the end of the second episode that is completely blown. This one episode should have been four. Within one episode a girl is to be sacrificed and the demon king returns to life to destroy the world. Then a twist comes...The Demon King turns out to be on the good side. He then read more
I found this review Helpful
KamiNoHikari
Oct 28, 2012 1:47 PM
When I first started to watch Tears to Tiara it was really hard to keep watching because I thought it was a real slow-burner yet it turned out to be one of the best shows I've ever watched.

The main characters are all well-conceived and have a strong presence throughout the whole anime. You automatically come to love them.

Some old legends are mixed up in the plot (including the Arthurian Legend e.g.) and give the whole series a kinda familiar touch. The drawing style is very beautiful and so are the opening and ending. The choice of voice actors fits the anime really well, too.

You could read more
I found this review Helpful
SirRabbit
Jul 2, 8:40 AM
Who doesn't enjoy an anime set in a fantasy world with good story, swords and magic, humans, elves, angels, orcs, dragons, and giants?

I thought i would enjoy as much when i watch this anime. However, i personally feel that 26 episodes for this anime is far too stretched out for it. I feel the characters gave too much pointless speeches that made me want to fast forward and just watch the ending. But, i know if i do so, i might miss a few important parts of it.

Somehow, i managed to finish all 26 episodes and in the end i couldn't bring myself read more
I found this review Helpful
Setsuna200
Sep 15, 2010 11:33 AM
This was a ver excellent conversion from a game to an anime not many can make this trasition well Tears to Tiara is one of the few to make it. The Original Japanese Audio and English Dub are excellent. The Series feels like it is out of lord of the Rings. Baseson has made another big sucess. I have never played this game but this series is incredible their is drama and action which keeps me interested in this series. If you like Lord of the Rings then I can guarente you will love this series
I found this review Helpful
joannamay778
Feb 22, 2013 7:32 PM
If you are a fan of dubs like me you are out of luck with this one. The story characters and such were okay but the voice acting made me want to shoot myself in the foot. The girls have bad britishy irishy ascents and the head knight or whatever sounds Indian. It gives me a headache.
I found this review Helpful