MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #1902
Tales of Symphonia The Animation: Sylvarant-hen

Tales of Symphonia The Animation: Sylvarant-hen

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Tales of Symphonia The Animation: Sylvarant Chapter
Japanese: テイルズオブシンフォニア THE ANIMATION シルヴァラント編

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 4
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jun 8, 2007 to Dec 21, 2007
Duration: 32 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.351 (scored by 13144 users)
Ranked: #19022
Popularity: #961
Members: 25,432
Favorites: 134
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

action adventure drama fantasy
Apr 7, 2008
Monkey_D_Luffy
Story:
Well, this OVA of course comes from the video game Tales of Symphonia. So, the story is the same, however theres quite a few parts left out. However, I don't think it is quite right to say that just because of that the story isn't that good. This is the animation, not the game. Sure, it's based on it, but it's not gonna be an exact copy of it.
It starts really being a kind of 'save the planet' storyline, as a girl who is the Chosen One and her friends set out for a journey to a tower where she'll become an angel and rescue read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 7, 2008
young98
Story: This OVA is based off the game by the same name "Tales of Symphonia" basically there is a girl that is the "chosen" and she is to go on a mission to save her world from dying of a mana shortage. She is joined by her friends and they go on the journey for her to become an angel, which she needs to become to save the world. Now, I won't say this OVA won't be enjoyable if you haven't played the game, but you will notice that there are big gaps in time which they are supposed to be filled in in the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 1, 2011
-Nico-Robin-
Tales of Symphonia, the original being a video game, is probably the best rpg games out there for both Gamecube and PS2. From its epic plot to its memorable characters--one of the best villains of all times, Yggdrasill!--all the way to its awesome soundtrack, it is a masterpiece.

The OVA does an excellent job in capturing the most important aspects of the videogame, although, leaving out some major side plots that are very significant to the overall theme. Even with it's fast paced, and sometimes obviousness that is not present in the original game, the OVA allows fans to relive that heart-rendering experience with the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 23, 2011
trishoverman47
This is what caused me to start loving anime in the first place. I was excited when the video game I liked so much was becoming an anime. It may not be in the top 100 animes, but it sure wins my heart!

Everything in the anime is just like the video game! Same characters, same plot, it does have some differences in the scenes that play out. The characters look the same as they did in the game. The music and sound are great for the anime. However it sucks how the entire story is split into three different animes and is shorten to only read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 16, 2011
NightmareRWolf
i just got done watching tales of symphonia and i must say, wow. i know, 4 episodes for a whole rpg game can't do it justice right? well honestly, i watched a lets play of the game up to the part where this anime stops before continuing so i was able to understand everything that was going on. for someone who played the game and watched this, yes there are parts that were left out and changed but in all truth, i really enjoyed it none the less. it was rather amazing to see what they did manage to do in the 4 episodes that read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 22, 2013
Hidennka
I came across Tales of Symphonia almost by mistake after noting Lloyd (the main character)'s Seiyū was none other than Katsuyuki Konishi. It should also be noted that I haven't played the Tales of Symphonia game this OVA series is based on, but given the fact that I played 'Tales of Vesperia' and loved it I decided on a whim to give it a go. Oh boy, am I glad I did! Epic sword fights, a heart-wrenching story and beautifully designed characters in a fantasy setting? Yes please!

Tales of Symphonia (as a series of 3 OVA chapters) is very much a story of 'heart', read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 8, 2011
aishiteruu
(4)Story:
Well, it's a really good plot, BUT for only 4episodes it's horrible.
It's not like you get to much info on a small about of time, it's just that you want to see more. And not just rush through it all.
But, then again.. the other aspects of the series made me want more.

(10)Art:
What I really love about Tos is the scenery, you always know "where" you are.
You always know the surroundings, and they are GREAT. Alot of beautiful colors and some of the best drawn landscapes I've seen.

(8)Sound:
The opening on ToS tells you all you need to know about the sound.
It's really not a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices