Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tales of Symphonia The Animation: Sylvarant-hen


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Tales of Symphonia The Animation: Sylvarant Chapter
Japanese: テイルズオブシンフォニア THE ANIMATION シルヴァラント編

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 4
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jun 8, 2007 to Dec 21, 2007
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: ufotable
Source: Game
Duration: 32 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.301 (scored by 16,301 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #22782
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1383
Members: 33,549
Favorites: 146

Reviews

Monkey_D_Luffy
Apr 7, 2008
Story:
Well, this OVA of course comes from the video game Tales of Symphonia. So, the story is the same, however theres quite a few parts left out. However, I don't think it is quite right to say that just because of that the story isn't that good. This is the animation, not the game. Sure, it's based on it, but it's not gonna be an exact copy of it.
It starts really being a kind of 'save the planet' storyline, as a girl who is the Chosen One and her friends set out for a journey to a tower where she'll become an angel and rescue read more
I found this review Helpful
SirHellfire
Jul 1, 2015
The problem that occurs when trying to make a show/movies/anime about a game is that you are inevitably going to have cut a fair amount of content, this problem is amplified when you try to adapt an RPG, because you are cutting a 50+ hour game down to 2-10 viewing, and skipping this content normally REALLY hurts the show in question. Now it's time to see how hard Tales of Symphonia hurt itself, at least for the first part.

The Short Version:
(+)The music is delightful.
(-)The entire thing feels rushed.
(-)The characters aren't really fleshed out.
(-)You can tell they just want to get past the beginning of the read more
I found this review Helpful
young98
Mar 7, 2008
Story: This OVA is based off the game by the same name "Tales of Symphonia" basically there is a girl that is the "chosen" and she is to go on a mission to save her world from dying of a mana shortage. She is joined by her friends and they go on the journey for her to become an angel, which she needs to become to save the world. Now, I won't say this OVA won't be enjoyable if you haven't played the game, but you will notice that there are big gaps in time which they are supposed to be filled in in the read more
I found this review Helpful
-Nico-Robin-
Jun 1, 2011
Tales of Symphonia, the original being a video game, is probably the best rpg games out there for both Gamecube and PS2. From its epic plot to its memorable characters--one of the best villains of all times, Yggdrasill!--all the way to its awesome soundtrack, it is a masterpiece.

The OVA does an excellent job in capturing the most important aspects of the videogame, although, leaving out some major side plots that are very significant to the overall theme. Even with it's fast paced, and sometimes obviousness that is not present in the original game, the OVA allows fans to relive that heart-rendering experience with the read more
I found this review Helpful
ktulu007
Jul 23, 2014
Tales of Symphonia was a Namco RPG released for the Gamecube in August of 2003, or July/ November 2004 if you don't live in Japan. It wasn't the first Tales game to receive an anime adaptation with both Phantasia, which some of you may recall from one of my previous reviews, and Eternia getting adapted before it, but it was the first to have the anime adaptation handled by Ufotable, the same studio responsible for Kara no Kyoukai, Gakuen Utopia Manabi Straight, & Fate/Zero. Yeah, it's a bit strange, but most anime adaptations of the Tales franchise have been handled by different studios. So, read more
I found this review Helpful
quercifolia
Apr 28, 2014
Hi, I'm not very good at writing reviews, but I hope this can help someone decide whether they wish to watch this anime or not. Thanks for reading.

Story ~ 7/10

The story is based off the Gamecube/PS2/PS3 game "Tales of Symphonia". The story is split into three OVA series. (Tethealla-hen, Sekai Tougou-hen)
In the first part, the characters are introduced and the journey begins. In the first part, is is the standard "Hero on a journey to save the world".

There are quite a few technical terms used that can leave newcomers to the series feeling confused.

Additionally, much of the backstory and other scenes are left out, leading read more
I found this review Helpful
trishoverman47
Jul 23, 2011
This is what caused me to start loving anime in the first place. I was excited when the video game I liked so much was becoming an anime. It may not be in the top 100 animes, but it sure wins my heart!

Everything in the anime is just like the video game! Same characters, same plot, it does have some differences in the scenes that play out. The characters look the same as they did in the game. The music and sound are great for the anime. However it sucks how the entire story is split into three different animes and is shorten to only read more
I found this review Helpful
Hidennka
May 22, 2013
I came across Tales of Symphonia almost by mistake after noting Lloyd (the main character)'s Seiyū was none other than Katsuyuki Konishi. It should also be noted that I haven't played the Tales of Symphonia game this OVA series is based on, but given the fact that I played 'Tales of Vesperia' and loved it I decided on a whim to give it a go. Oh boy, am I glad I did! Epic sword fights, a heart-wrenching story and beautifully designed characters in a fantasy setting? Yes please!

Tales of Symphonia (as a series of 3 OVA chapters) is very much a story of 'heart', read more
I found this review Helpful
NightmareRWolf
Jun 16, 2011
i just got done watching tales of symphonia and i must say, wow. i know, 4 episodes for a whole rpg game can't do it justice right? well honestly, i watched a lets play of the game up to the part where this anime stops before continuing so i was able to understand everything that was going on. for someone who played the game and watched this, yes there are parts that were left out and changed but in all truth, i really enjoyed it none the less. it was rather amazing to see what they did manage to do in the 4 episodes that read more
I found this review Helpful
aishiteruu
Feb 8, 2011
(4)Story:
Well, it's a really good plot, BUT for only 4episodes it's horrible.
It's not like you get to much info on a small about of time, it's just that you want to see more. And not just rush through it all.
But, then again.. the other aspects of the series made me want more.

(10)Art:
What I really love about Tos is the scenery, you always know "where" you are.
You always know the surroundings, and they are GREAT. Alot of beautiful colors and some of the best drawn landscapes I've seen.

(8)Sound:
The opening on ToS tells you all you need to know about the sound.
It's really not a read more
I found this review Helpful