Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

No Bra

No Bra

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Nobura
Japanese: のーぶら

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 5
Chapters: 32
Status: Finished
Published: Jan 5, 2002 to Jun 5, 2004
Authors: Kawatsu, Kenjirou (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 6.711 (scored by 4810 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #130322
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1154
Members: 8,525
Favorites: 145

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 22, 2008
Vin-nii (All reviews)
Preliminary
No Bra: Please note this manga is somewhat Yaoi (Guy on guy). Just to warn u guys first :)

Story: No Bra follow the story of Tokyo high schooler Masato. In the begining, Masato was noticed that a childhood friend is going to live at his house. Like any harem, that childhood friend is a cute girl. However...

Nomura Yuuki is a male cross-dresser (and possibly gay)
I guess everyone can see where this is going ;)

The Story of No Bra is original. While it may be odd for some, it is an alright comedy and an intersting but eerie eechi vibe.

Art: Your normal shounen harem kinda read more
Sep 4, 2011
sweetbliss (All reviews)
Please take into consideration that this series was not my style and this review is simply to explain why. Many others seem to enjoy it; unfortunately, I did not.

So it's about a boy who winds up having a cute girl for a roommate...except the girl is really a boy. What I expected to find was a romance coupled with a bit of difficulty and lots complex emotions. What I got was a very basic plot with shallow and flat characters.

Contrary to what the synopsis says, Yuki is not a crossdressing boy who enjoys wearing womens' clothing. He is a biological male who self-identifies as read more
Jul 22, 2008
H1tokiri (All reviews)
Preliminary
This manga is pretty good all-around. Great story-line, amazing art, creative characters, and the plot twists will have you at the edge of your seat. Yuki's secret turns Masato's world around. He doesn't know whats right and what's wrong. He has to make an extremely important decision, whether he loves someone for who they are, or for what they are.
Oct 20, 2008
starboy7 (All reviews)
No Bra has a marevolus story that puts the characters into very interesting situations It has the ever lovable Childhood friend relationship that just sets this manga up for great stories. the Characters are very well developed and the art is good. However the story can be a bit weak at times and depend on awkward situations a bit too much. In the end I highly recommend this manga
Jul 1, 2017
Yandere_Yuuya (All reviews)
This manga was garbage on all counts. Unrealistic and unlikeable characters aside, even the art was amateurish. Mainly due to the title, I didn't go in with high expectations, but even then it managed to fall far short. The reason I picked this up is that I was looking for series' with a prominent transgender storyline. The way Yuki's character was handled makes it abundantly clear that the mangaka's knowledge on the subject is shallow at best; her identity and feelings regarding her gender are never addressed. Her being transgender seems purely to serve the purpose of causing drama and making her... sexually exotic, I read more
Mar 6, 2010
Dunkjoe (All reviews)
[Finally read all: Now updated.]
Chapters seen:31/31
[Genre ratings]
Yaoi:2?
Man... one of the 2 guys "in love" has 90% resemblance to a female?
Ecchi:6
Mainly "panties"... what else can I say?
Harem:7
Well, mostly it is about 2 girls who fall in love with a guy who has little attributes, flirtatious, horrible etc. mainly because of reasons the guy did not deserve (aka misunderstandings the guy did not clear but instead let them continue)

For a first, this is the first review I've doen that I will separate into 2 parts, 1-18 and 19-27. Reason being, these 2 portions seem to be totally different.

[1-18]
Story:8
Amazing storyline, I was so surprised at the twists to read more
Mar 22, 2019
cousycousy (All reviews)
This manga is a storm of offensive cliches and an awful protagonist that is vastly worse than the creator thinks he is.

Even for 2002, the treatment of the trans woman character is complete garbage. The story takes the extremely offensive "...but it is gay to want to romance her," a protagonist who should be the villain, one dimensional characters, and various other standard crossdressing/trans manga written by cis people cliches and blends them into a disgusting slurry.

Even by the standards of a lot of similar manga, the manga quickly wears out the scenes where the protagonist ogles women like a sex offender.

These types of stories read more
Jun 19, 2009
MrHarrubu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Nobra focus on a lonely guy who wasnt gud with girls.one morning he found what u would say a girl sleeping besides him.The funny part is that she's an otoko!

Also i want 2 respond dis,in my opinion dis is not yaoi.Some people call ya gay cos you like genderbender,which is not true.I hope in the future they make alot like no bra not always female who crossdresses as a guy.Well no bra remains on top for me.Hope you would agree with me~desu^^
Nov 13, 2013
CallistaLuvAnime (All reviews)
I came across this Manga when looking for series with Transgendered characters, and was not sure about what to expect. As I started reading I soon found myself easily drawn into the story, as its well written and the characters are very natural in both illustration and portrail.

Its a wonderful story of love and life thats a must read no matter your gender, but if you're Trans I recommend it more as you will find Yuki is alot like you, just a normal person trying to find love and her place in a world that accepts Yuki as Yuki.
Jan 1, 2014
MorsPulchra (All reviews)
Story 7/10 - The story was good, but if you are looking for a "Tale of Two Cities" or "Brothers Karamazov" then you have picked the wrong genre. It's a about a guy, Masato, whose not at all very charismatic and kind of socially clumsy and a trans-gender(not transexual, huge difference) guy, Yuki, who falls in love with him when they were kids. The story can be flat at times and rely on not very 'intelligent' subject matter, but it was part of what made it so funny.

Art 7/10 - Not going to lie, don't know much about the art side of anime, it read more
Dec 21, 2012
SupremeZero (All reviews)
God dammit. -bangs head on wall every time the ---- scene is shown between the mc and the freeloader-
NOPE NOPE NOPE NOPE NOPE...
(few days later, i woke up in a hospital after banging my head so much, also there were many holes in the wall in my room while reading this)
At least it has a plot (kinda)
Jan 20, 2018
SamIHellaAm (All reviews)
Yet another Manga I have no clue how I found randomly but I remember reading the scans of way back when I was in high school as they were being translated for the first time and since my last cram session made me want to revisit something to see what I thought in retrospect I figured I'd go back and give this a re-read and well here I am a few hours later and all i can say is eh.

The plot simply put is a dude living alone has a cute girl move into his apartment who claims to be a long lost childhood friend read more
Oct 18, 2015
Romance-Junkie (All reviews)
Well,
First of all, before I start my never ending rant about this one weird piece of work, I must warn you. Review starts in the next paragraph.
This manga has some (a lot?) of Yaoi content.
This manga has lots of Ecchi moments (some of them are going overboard imo).
I dislike the MC (Main character) so i'll be chewing on him throughout the review (just to warn you that my opinions are mixed just because I developed a pretty solid hate-hate feelings towards this specific MC and I'm not sure if it is justified. Oh well just see for yourself).
I will try my best to avoid read more
Sep 12, 2009
murcielago (All reviews)
This Manga particularly interesting with the yaoi and with masato finding his true sexuality. The plot seems very intriguing yet very weak and relies on the ecchi yaoi moments.

I don't recommend this manga to guys don't know their true sexuality, i am a guy a read this cause i love the ackward moments masato is placed in.