Pluto
Pluto: Urusawa x Tezuka
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Pluto

Alternative Titles

English: Pluto: Urusawa x Tezuka
Japanese: PLUTO

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 8
Chapters: 65
Status: Finished
Published: Sep 9, 2003 to Apr 1, 2009
Genres: ActionAction, MysteryMystery, MechaMecha, Sci-FiSci-Fi, PsychologicalPsychological, SeinenSeinen
Authors: Urasawa, Naoki (Story & Art), Tezuka, Osamu (Story)
Serialization: Big Comic Original

Statistics

Score: 8.621 (scored by 2557225,572 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #662
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #135
Members: 65,016
Favorites: 3,551

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 10, 2009
Beatnik (All reviews)
Naoki Urasawa, now an established author of pot-boiling epic thrillers such as Monster and 20th Century Boys, delivers again with Pluto, a sci-fi mash-up of Osamu Tezuka's Tetsuwan Atom.

This excellent sci-fi revolves around AI robots and dispenses with the explanation of Asimov's Law of Robotics for Dummies and just gets right on with entertaining your brain with explorations of the theme of sentient life born from humanity's hands. You're either a sci-fi reader and will immediately swim in the narrative, or new to all this and thrash around unknown waters because Urasawa is not interested in holding your hand, he just wants to tell read more
Mar 18, 2014
imjustjk (All reviews)
A coupling of brilliant acumen can evoke undertones of approval, or of apprehension. But all can rest assured that in the case of Pluto, the pairing of manga suspense master Urasawa and legendary cartoonist Tezuka is an exceptional good stroke of fortune. From the creators of anime giants Monster and Astroboy, the multiple-award winning manga Pluto gives first impression as a high-tension thriller that befits the reputation of its creators.

Is this the real life?
Is this just fantasy?
Caught in a landslide,
No escape from reality.

Once in a couple of years, a great manga that differentiates itself from the rest of the horde, overcoming stereotypes of near-sighted read more
Dec 19, 2013
JizzyHitler (All reviews)
Pluto is a sci-fi manga by Naoki Urasawa, the creator of such beloved series as Monster and 20th Century Boys, like the 2 works before it Pluto is a dark psychologically driven mystery revolving around themes of hatred, revenge, and death. Pluto is a remake of the late Osamu Tezuka's manga Astro Boy, specifically the "Greatest robot on earth" arc. Despite for the most part following its source material Naoki Urasawea's interpretations takes risks and adds more depth to both the setting, the implications behind the story, and most notably its characters all whilst giving the overall picture a much darker than grittier feel to read more
Jul 26, 2010
JephCassidy (All reviews)
Pluto by Naoki Urasawa and Osamu Tezuka. The overall base of Pluto is taken from (according to Anime news network) a story arc of Astro Boy and uses some of its characters. Naoki's touch comes in with the main character detective Gesicht (almost a reincarnation of detective Lunge, from Monster, with more emotion), in the art and in the thriller suspense that comes in at the beginning followed by the intricate plot depth that continues throughout the manga.

Story: At the beginning the story starts off as a mystery/thriller with the series of robot murders and then slowly turns into read more
Jul 12, 2020
rectified_rascal (All reviews)
I haven't read Astro Boy or seen the series. So, none of the characters were new to me before I started the series.

The story gets off to a strong start. A murder mystery in a robot dominated world. Cool! But unexpectedly, it is also full of pathos, regret and deep sadness. Just in the first 2 volumes, there are several scenes which are incredibly emotional and gut-wrenchingly tragic. And then from the third volume, the story expands. There is a war, a dictator is overthrown, there is an anti-AI league, a horticulturalist goes missing, there is a mysterious teddy bear, apocalyptic earthquakes occur, a read more
Mar 16, 2015
StalkerPoetess (All reviews)
This is more theory crafting than reviewing and it may have some mild spoilers.
This is an amazing manga and you should read it no matter what, don't even hesitate.
So I've just finished re-reading Pluto by Naoki Urasawa which the first ever manga I've read, about 5 years ago. I was about 14 when I first read it so I didn't understand much of it, I was a huge astro boy fan as a child so I was quite mesmerized by Pluto, even though at the time I had no idea what manga and anime was, but it still was an amazing introduction to this read more
Apr 5, 2018
Ultima14 (All reviews)
Pluto is a mature retelling of Astro Boy by Osamu Tezuka, more specifically of the arc called The Greatest Robot on Earth.

It’s about an alternative future where robots that emulate humans are becoming a reality, with the world’s seven strongest robots being the “perfect models”. There’s a global conspiracy in the world and said strongest robots are being destroyed one by one.

The story might not seem original if you have read or watched classics like the Watchmen, Blade Runner, I, Robot or Pinocchio as it borrows elements from these stories, but as a whole is very intriguing and the themes are presented in a mature read more
Jul 26, 2014
ghostcardinal (All reviews)
When I first heard about Pluto, I wasnt eager to read it. "Its just a retelling of an arc in Astro Boy," I thought to myself, "cant be that good." Eventually I caved and read it. I was blown away. The story is suspenseful and addictive, as expected of Urasawa. The characters are deep and interesting, and the art style is very fitting. Naoki Urasawa is a two time winner of the Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prize. The first time was for his masterpiece, Monster. The second time was for Pluto, and now I see why. However, for all the brilliance in this masterpiece, there is read more
May 16, 2011
hallanmeras (All reviews)
General reviews overall a 10, but the art is a little too fluid for my liking. Still good art, but not perfect from my perspective. It in no way detracted from the story, but I can't give the art a perfect score.
This is a perfect melding of hard scifi, classic scifi, classic manga and new manga.
Like all great stories, the plot, characters and themes are universal. The setting and media are one that appeal to comic readers, but could easily be modified to reflect any era.
I always like stories that take us off the beaten track a little, and let's face it - the most read more
Dec 9, 2020
Jakuzure_Nonon (All reviews)
When it comes to manga, urasawa never disappoints. Whether it comes to storywriting, his art or even creating interesting three dimensional characters, he's one of the best. Pluto is no exception.

As someone who is only vaguely familiar with the astroboy series, this manga was still extremely enjoyable. I think the author manages to subtly explain the overall astroboy universe without being so "in your face" about it which I liked.

The art is beautiful, when it comes to drawing people, he's one of the best mangakas out there. He sometimes same-faces between series but rarely within the same manga which is impresive considering even the most read more
Sep 17, 2020
Hadeyan (All reviews)
Well, Its Urasawa after all. It's still classy, engaging and enduring, and beautifully illustrated. Yet the story and plot not fit in each other and certainly Urasawa's work not fitting into only 65 chapters. That's why the last 2-3 volume work is rushed heavily and this rushing kinda makes first 30-35 chapter value act pointless. Most of the character roster turns out to be metaphysical tools to use (many origins of many Deus ex ).

So there ain't room enough to care about the plot, the characters, or the history that shaped this very world of Pluto.

Proper prioritization of the plot is the most lacking read more
Dec 8, 2018
sakis263 (All reviews)
Can robots make mistakes even though they are not programmed too.
Thats one of many questions pluto goes in too.

This Story simply said: Pluto is about the mystery behind the deaths of the most highly intelligent robots and their creators.

Story: 10
The mystery in Pluto is great. As we get more revealed about the crimes, the more questions arise. its not like everything gets revealed and thats it. No the Mystery remains untiil the very end. How Urasawa present his story is very unique and everything is somehow woven together. there is nothing wasted in pluto. One of my favorite parts is the whole part with North read more
Apr 7, 2017
Dietrologia (All reviews)
Naoki Urasawa is frequently considered one of the greatest authors in modern manga. His plotting is incredibly tight and densely packed, his characters feel grounded and have complexities not afforded to most characters in manga and anime, and overall his stories since Monster have felt very adult in their themes and ideas without falling into the pitfalls common of seinen manga, who abuse the narrative freedom afforded to them by packing their stories with an excess of gore and sexual content to make their stories "edgy". For many anime and manga fans who want to show the best the medium has to offer, many will read more
Nov 26, 2020
Sukamii (All reviews)
"Even if the world ends, I won't let you go."

At first when I started reading this manga I assumed it was going to take a generic Blade Runner theme of "What does it mean to be Human? Are the robots any different than us?" and while it did incorporate some elements of those themes those are more so a side point to some bigger and more important themes; that being what is born from hatred, why do we hate, and from such unspeakable malice are we able to forgive?

I will be alluding to some spoilers involving characters later on in this review so I will read more
Jan 29, 2021
ilovebishie (All reviews)
Naoki Urasa is a genius. His story is always complicated that I had to read it twice to grasp everything.

The plot is undoubtedly amazing and not cliche. As a fan of Astroboy who is pretty familiar with Pluto arc, I found myself surprised at how amazing the author executed the story

I admit, I did cry everytime a robot died!!!

*spoiler alert*

When the main character died, I didn't cry. But when his wife cried, I did CRIED!

I can see that Naoki Urasawa really ia fan of Astroboy, especially with Pluto arc. He did some modifications here and there
Oct 1, 2020
Shellshock123 (All reviews)
Pluto Review. Originally disappointed after finishing Monster I expected this series to not live up to Naoki Ursawa's hype but amazingly...

I was right.

Pluto is a sci fi series set in about 200 years in the future give or take. Everyone is driving cool cars, lives in cool buildings and have holograms and robots at there service. The series kicks off with a murder. Someone murdered a robot and our main character needs to find out who is doing and exactly who is capable of pulling this off.

As you'd except from a series with robots they ask the questions like what is a robot what read more
Aug 8, 2019
Crushervice (All reviews)
Again, Urasawa has triumphed with a job full of mystery and much suspense. A short but decisive manga, although in my opinion it is too short, I am used to the mangaka giving us a slightly longer job. Despite not being the best I have read about him so far, he far exceeds many others and deserves a reading.

In addition, Pluto pays tribute to one of the most famous stories of one of Osamu Tezuka's most famous comics.

This manga deserves a reading. If you have never read any work by the author whom, luckily or unfortunately, I have so magnified, you should start with this read more
Jun 21, 2017
Tora141 (All reviews)
Remaking Tezuka is a tall order. Urasawa's execution was flawless.

Dr. Tezuka himself introduced "The Greatest Robot on Earth" as being one of the more popular chapters from the Tetsuwan Atom series. The robot Pluto was a more complex character. Tezuka went on to say how upset readers were when it was all said and done; they wanted more - and fortunately Urasawa gave us more and then some.

The characters in the original work, the seven strongest robots in the world, had very simple substance and short existences within the original 180 page story (aside from Atom of course). Urasawa takes the blinks of life they read more
Feb 3, 2021
MazinIndian (All reviews)
My god, where do i start, i mean its surely not monster by any length but boy oh boy this manga surprised me, i discovered it while i was reading about naoki urasawa and pluto striked me as i read and watched astro boy when i was a kid and i was like meh how pluto from that manga got his own manga, i just dropped it as a joke but i picked it back after a year casually and god i was surprised as i didn't knew it would be this good. You know it's hard for any manga to topple monster but only read more
Aug 6, 2020
wolfang135 (All reviews)
Quick story summary: There is a robot(?) that is killing the 7 strongest robots in the world, as well as select human robot experts. Gesicht, a renowned detective, is in charge of finding out who, or what, is causing all the murders.

Naoki Urasawa is often called one of the best storytellers to ever exist, throughout any medium. His most notable works include Monster, 20th Century Boys, and Pluto, which are all seen as some of the best stories ever to be created in manga if not in any medium, including cinema or literature.

But personally, having read all of the aftermentioned three series, I have to read more