Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica: The Different Story

Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica: The Different Story

Alternative Titles

English: Puella Magi Madoka★Magica: The different story
Japanese: 魔法少女まどか☆マギカ ~The different story~

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 3
Chapters: 12
Status: Finished
Published: Jun 12, 2012 to Nov 12, 2012
Authors: Magica Quartet (Story), Hanokage (Art)
Serialization: None

Statistics

Score: 8.211 (scored by 5315 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5082
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #838
Members: 10,723
Favorites: 562

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 9, 2013
NowItsAngeTime (All reviews)
Before you consider reading "Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica: The Different Story". It is highly recommended that you either watch the original anime series or read the manga adaptation (both called Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica) due to the Different Story not only referencing events from the original but it was pretty much written under the premise that the reader has seen the original.

That said I will keep spoilers to a minimum for both the original and Different Story so both people who are familiar with the original series and those who aren't can still read this review.

Now onto the actual review:
-------------------

Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica: The Different Story is actually read more
Nov 20, 2012
ihateeveryone (All reviews)
[Update: 2/24/13]

[b]One of the main issues that a lot of people had with Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica was the lack of screentime and development with quite a few of the characters. While other pieces of the franchise like the Drama CD and PSP Game go much more in depth with the story and characters, they are pretty much useless to those who don't know the Japanese language, which is why this manga adaption was such a useful idea.[/b]

Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica: The Different Story is adapted from one of the Drama CD's of the Madoka Magica franchise. It's set in the past right after Kyouko contracts read more
Nov 12, 2013
Bear1211 (All reviews)
When I started getting into the world of Anime and Manga Madoka Magica was one of the earlier things that I watched. I really enjoyed it, fell in love in fact. However this isn't a review about that story. This is a different story, another tale, from another time.

Story: 8

The "Different Story" locks in on the struggles of two different characters from the original show. Centered around Mami and Kyouko, this tale delves into a previously unseen life that happens per-original series. Going deeply into the roots of who these "new" characters were, as well as complementing the original work wonderfully. A "Different Story" read more
Mar 16, 2018
MahoShojoMaisoon (All reviews)
MAAAAAMIIII SAAAAANNNNN!!!!!! :'(

I can't believe this manga is one of the excellent mangas ever made! Mami Tomoe, the character whom people overshadow her character with head jokes in episode 3 is developed the best here. When I first heard of this manga, I was confused as to why people cherish it so much since Mami hardly interested me that time. But once I've started to read this manga, I've found myself infused with her character just as much as Sayaka in the anime. Though the anime is way ahead of Precure and Tokyo Mew Mew (even though I like these animes too), I for some read more
Jun 25, 2018
nothlit666 (All reviews)
Wonderfully drawn and well written, The Different Story is definitely a different story from much of the Madoka Magica manga universe. Quite frankly, it's a different story that I believe truly deserves 9/10 review.
I suppose my biggest issues with the manga universe of Madoka Magica mainly revolve around how mediocre and almost unlike the original anime it is. The signature dark atmosphere and nihilistic themes of Gen Urobuchi's screenwriting for the show doesn't really seem to be found in the manga, and much of the characters in the manga universe lack that special edge that made the original five girls stand out.
Luckily, this wasn't read more