Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Shiki

Shiki

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Corpse Demon
Japanese: 屍鬼

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 11
Chapters: 42
Status: Finished
Published: Dec 2007 to Jun 3, 2011
Genres: MysteryMystery, ShounenShounen, VampireVampire, SupernaturalSupernatural, ThrillerThriller
Authors: Fujisaki, Ryuu (Art), Ono, Fuyumi (Story)
Serialization: Jump SQ.

Statistics

Score: 8.061 (scored by 44884,488 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #8562
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #681
Members: 13,654
Favorites: 415

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 28, 2008
LilMiMichan (All reviews)
Preliminary
Shiki is a manga based off a novel. Drawn by Fujisaki Ryu, this manga is one not to miss. It takes place in a small, Japanese town of a population of 1300. We start off with Megumi, a 15-year old girl who hates the town. She is interested in only two things in the town: Yuki and the huge Mansion. A msyterious family moves into the mansion. Megumi pays a visit and goes missing. The police later find her very ill. A few days later, she dies a msyterious death. Suddenly, more deaths start occuring.


Story:
The story is very captivating and keeps read more
Jan 4, 2011
Orulyon (All reviews)
Preliminary
Shiki is based on a novel by the same name published in 1998 by Fuyumi Ono. Although most of the story is almost the same, there are some differences. The main difference is that one of the supporting characters on the novel, becomes a main one in the manga (Natsuno Yuuki).

STORY- Shiki starts as a horror/mystery slow pace story about sudden unexplainable deaths occurring in one small village, Sotoba. The deaths seem to have started since the Kirishiki family moved to the village. Our protagonists are Muroi Seishin the monk, Ozaki Toshio the doctor and Natsuno Yuuki a student and the little mysterious Kanemasa read more
Jan 26, 2015
G-Radiation (All reviews)
This review contains medium SPOILERS: I will give away the premise that is established after about two volumes. Basically, I am going to tell you what "Shiki" means. No less and no more.
However, I think that this being a mystery manga, you may enjoy going into it as blind as you will. If that's the case for you then do avoid reading this review (any sort of information on the manga for that matter); go ahead and give it a try!


Shiki is one of those works which demonstrate beautifully how a concept that seems old and uninteresting can be revived to make for a refreshing read more
Aug 14, 2013
tiffanyhng (All reviews)
The Host. The Invasion of the Body Snatchers. The Lord of the Flies. Take all these three novels/movies, twist it to make it darker and more complex, and there you have it. The manga, Shiki, is born.

Story: 8
The plot itself isn't very original. However, what makes Shiki unique is the flow of the story and its characters. The beginning starts out a little slow in order to add suspense and mystery to the story. However, mystery isn't one the strongest point of this manga. What is truly amazing is how the chapters are often told in various perspectives. The chapters aren't necessarily episodic, but read more
Jul 14, 2018
Flarzy (All reviews)
Shiki is a great manga because it keeps the story personal and closed (if that makes sense).

A series of deaths occur in a village, and it all started after a certain family inhabited an abandoned mansion, it turns out they are vampires. It's a bit slow in the beginning, as it focuses more on world building, but the mistery is ever present, and the struggle of the village is all more enjoyable because of the scale, we know who everyone is and what the village is like, details about the national road, the temples, houses, and we are more invested in the story because of read more
Mar 17, 2018
cerwisc (All reviews)
Man, this is my favorite manga of all time. It is by far not the best written, the most insightful, nor the best drawn. However, it is the only manga that has duped me before I dumped it, and it is also the manga of my favorite character and my most hated character!

Now I must confess, I don't really feel anything when I read. I can tear up a little at sad parts and laugh at funny parts, but it's not powerful emotion. Even in Berserk, at the betrayal's climax, I was like, "meh, this dude is so ungrateful."

But boy, oh boy, Shiki is read more
Oct 29, 2014
butako (All reviews)
The premise of the story is intriguing and rather refreshing. The story has a certain draw to it that kept me reading chapter after chapter. Unfortunately, the characters destroy any suspension of disbelief I had. It’s been a while since I’ve encountered such an entirely retarded cast of characters. I feel the story could have ended in 10 chapters if only the characters had a minimal IQ of 80. The characters are rather bland with limited development, but not completely uninteresting. For example, the bond between Natsuno and Tooru was fun to read about. It’s a tragedy that it wasn’t further explored though. So read more
Oct 26, 2018
Compromisations (All reviews)
This is a pretty great manga series!! I've never been so addicted to a story. I finished this one in two days! I really loved it, the amount of clues this manga leaves out in the open is honestly breathtaking. Even though it was hard to keep up with all the characters, you still get motivated to read more? But man. Prepare for the ending, is all i'm sayin.
I stumbled upon this Manga just after re-watching Higurashi (Kai), and while I can't draw that many similarities between the two, they've both got this overarching sinister feel, as well as constantly bending your expectations. The read more