Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

One Piece

One Piece

Alternative Titles

English: One Piece
Japanese: ONE PIECE

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Jul 22, 1997 to ?
Authors: Oda, Eiichiro (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Jump (Weekly)

Statistics

Score: 9.081 (scored by 160522 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #42
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3
Members: 266,904
Favorites: 64,543

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
May 26, 2016
sushiisawesome (All reviews)
One Piece is widely considered to be among the most popular and highly rated anime/manga series of all time, and it takes no genius to figure out why. The premise is simple enough to follow, the character motivations are simple yet intertwined with one another and the setting is absolutely epic, with new locations always popping up and new adventures to be seen, both by the viewer/reader and characters alike. Couple that with a cast of eccentric characters and you get a recipe that's pretty damn easy to like...for most people.

Not me though. Oh no no no, I wouldn't be here if that were all read more
Mar 31, 2019
Ciel-Bell (All reviews)
One Piece is the most charming, heartwarming, heartbreaking, unique, well-thought out fiction I have ever read. It was life-changing for me to be honest. It manages to be hilarious while teaching amazing lessons, heartbreaking while still instilling feelings of hope, have a unique art style while still being visually stunning, etc.
It's often been said that the characters don't develop at all, and while I understand that claim, I don't agree. Characters like Robin manage to do a 180 throughout the course of the series while still retaining the core traits that made you like them in the first place.

Every moment of One Piece for me read more
Feb 17, 2019
Kaizoku-Otaku (All reviews)
One Piece is without a doubt something that is worthy to be called "King of Shounen," and for many great reasons. It is tough to miss since its popularity is mind blowing and growing at a rapid rate and it's everywhere. It has almost overtaken "Batman" comics, and it is not so far off anymore actually. Now, It has already set its sight on "Superman" comics, and I would say it has a perfect shot at the 1st spot too if it keeps selling like bread and butter as it has done for so many years already.

However, the popularity is justified, and it shows in read more
Apr 26, 2016
Felzor (All reviews)
Spoilers: I reveal the name of the crew members.
One Piece is the story of a boy named Monkey D. Luffy and on his journey to become the "Pirate King" and find the One Piece, which is the treasure left behind by Gol D. Rogers.

Let me start out by saying I used to really like OP and was a big time fan, and as of the recent updates my passion for it has really declined over the years.

Pros:
1) The setting - The world of OP is vast and filled with pretty much anything and everything possible. Fishmen, Mermaids, Giants, animal people, etc. Anyone read more
Jun 4, 2015
ironace (All reviews)
One of the most popular manga out there, one piece is definitely a piece of wonder. Sure, it has a few faults, but are they enough to to bash it? I'm not so sure I'll explain why.

STORY=8
Its story is quite simple, a boy named Monkey D Luffy wants to become the pirate king, and he goes on a journey seeking adventure and new crew members. It's not definitely bad, but people are now criticizing its 'repeated' story arcs. They reach a new island, see its culture etc. and then find out that this island is not as peaceful as it seems to be as the read more
Mar 25, 2011
Riffs (All reviews)
One Piece is a legendary manga. Known for its absolutely crazy fans and forums, people often chalk One Piece up to be all hype and no substance. I know people who didn't want to try it because the artwork didn't appeal to them or they didn't want to go through the 300+ chapters that it would take to catch up. Most of the people who were initially hesitant to read One Piece fell in love with it right at the second major arc.

Of the 'Big Three,' One Piece was the last I started with and I wish that I had started it earlier. Ridiculously read more
Jan 27, 2011
johnnysrabu (All reviews)
One piece has gathered a lot of hype in the last few years, and i have heard many sceptical views of its rising popularity. But regardless of your view, the sheer number of manga being sold suggest that there is something which differentiates this series from others. Personally, I have thoroughly enjoyed reading this series, regardless of my general dislike of shounen manga.

Story: at the start of the series, the storyline is quite basic and a little cliche. There is the main character who gathers friends and sets off on an adventure, fighting a series of bad guys along the way. While the story is read more
Jan 25, 2011
The513Cyclone (All reviews)
One Piece is the most successful manga in the history of Japan for a reason. It has been going strong for over a decade now and seems to be only hitting its peak. As shonen manga goes, One Piece far and beyond surpasses the likes of similar titles such as Bleach and Nauto in my personal opinion, and it mostly has to do with the characters.

One Piece has some of the best characters in a manga. Each of them gets a heartfelt and tragic story arc in which we get to see their past and the tragedy that of them had to go through. read more
Jun 9, 2015
Alejandro13 (All reviews)
One piece may start off slow and boring at first,but at chapters 75-85 it starts to get better and slowly but surely it turns into a really amazing manga. The good things are about one piece are:1 It has a lot of good characters 2 It has a lot of interesting mysteries so it would make you think of a lot of theories and 3 It has really good world building and some really epic battles.I reccomend you read until chapter 95 and then decide if youre going to get into it or not.
Mar 13, 2014
N201_ASYLUM (All reviews)
I think we’re all familiar with what a fantastic adventure epic that One Piece is. Oda has created a world that is so brilliantly imaginative and exciting that I can almost confidently say that no other mangaka will come close to matching or surpassing what he has done. One Piece will make you laugh, cry, smile along with all the characters; it will make you feel like living in their world. I won’t review the plot or the battles and such, since that has already been comprehensively well-done by other reviewers, but I just wanted to share one aspect of One Piece that will always read more
Nov 27, 2018
Namulith (All reviews)
9.05 is no longer enough after Reverie and Wano have started and proven to be some of the best arcs in the series. Expect the rating to continue to rise.

It's incredible that a manga *this long* has a rating like this. In the Top 5 manga of all time list, with nearly 1000 chapters now. A monumental human effort that inspires as much as it evokes a vast array of emotions.

One day Hirokoshi, the author of Boku no Hero Academia, might have a chance at surpassing Oda like he said he wanted to in his interview, but that day may never come unless BnHA recovers read more
Feb 21, 2011
AnimeloverYori (All reviews)
One Piece is a beautiful, beautiful manga; however, many people overlook it because it stands in the "Big Three" manga, which are highly criticized.
I admit, I did NOT like One Piece at first, and it bored me to tears at points. That was about 4 years ago, when I still did not have a full grasp on the struggles life had to offer me. I resumed OP around 2 months ago, and I saw it in a very different light.
What I saw once as a silly pirate story became a ongoing, complex story about finding one's passion, friendship (or in this case, "Nakama"), adventure, and read more
Feb 5, 2014
taigataiga (All reviews)
Ok so I gave 10s to all: story, art, character, enjoyment, and overall.

I gave this manga a 10 even though it deserves, like, 1000.

One Piece is a battle mainstream manga. It is full of action and fights, and at first glance might seem stupid and random, but oh gods believe me, this is so very likely to be the BEST battle shounen manga you guys will have ever read. Widely classified as the top three most popular battle series alongside Naruto and Bleach, I've got to admit that One Piece is just.... way above those two. One Piece stands on top, the pinnacle of perfection, read more
Apr 19, 2015
sadpandamisaki (All reviews)
How do I love thee? Let me count the ways

This series is where it all began for me. The "Romance Dawn" if you will. I remember starting the fifth grade back in 2007, I hit it off real quickly with this one boy in my class. We had loads of things in common and were constantly sharing new interests. One thing we didn't share was his love anime and manga. This wasn't because I didn't like it, rather I just hadn't experienced it yet. One day he shoved One Piece volumes 1-3 in my backpack and told that I would love it. And love it read more
Apr 24, 2011
DarkD1 (All reviews)
Leader of the big three in Japan. Categorized as consistently getting better with every story arc that passes. Praised for its unique art style which is called both grotesque and absurdly appropriate.

Know this, its a fantastic manga. 80-90% of the people who don't read it are people who were influenced badly by the art or the horrible 4kids dub which destroyed its image or just had trouble getting past the slow beginning. But people who truly don't like the series aren't that common.

Don't judge this one quickly whatever you do. Read 100 or even 200 chapters read more
Jun 2, 2019
Tone_ (All reviews)
I don't necessarily despise One Piece for being a bad manga. I loathe it for being utterly mediocre. The series has a potential in each new arc to be something more, but the author often prefers to choose his tired and mundane formula.

I genuinely don't feel any kind of emotion reading this series. When I first started, I was a bit more younger I admit but there was a thing or two here and there that induced certain emotions, whether they were happiness, sadness, anger, or pride. But right now, reading the series almost feels like a chore; something I feel obliged to do after read more
Dec 9, 2016
butthurtbrigade (All reviews)
I think I gave it a fair run, I got deep in the Skypiea arc but I just stopped caring so had to drop it. It's a shame because it did have moments where it intrigued me like the whole seven pirate gods and world government but the Straw Hats get distracted and go off on these side adventures and they sometimes last hundreds of pages.

The majority of the arcs have the same structure where Luffy goes to a new town or island, beats up the local villain and moves on. A couple of arcs did this differently and were the better ones but it read more
May 2, 2018
RainFTW (All reviews)
CONTAINS ONE FAMOUS SPOILER AROUND CHAPTERS 550-600

First of all, I tip my hat to the genius Eiichiro Oda and his clever assistants for creating this on-going masterpiece. I can't believe we're 903 chapters in and still going strong without a drop in quality. That point is exactly why I think One Piece is the greatest long-running series of all time. Let me explain why:

A lot of people judge One Piece ostensibly and think of it as no more than a generic battle Shōnen, but they're wrong. I used to be the same. I judged it based on its childish art and thought it was read more
Aug 16, 2015
HiddenMegu (All reviews)
Now the best selling manga of all time, One Piece is the tale of a man named Luffy who is gonna become king of the pirates. In face of this long-running manga, that summary does many injustices; in essence, One Piece is a story of the Strawhat Pirates setting out to follow their dreams. This overview is going to be a bit long, but hang tight with me and I'll give you as much of an comprehensive overview as I can on this monster of a series.

My criticisms of the manga are as follows: as the manga goes on, the skinnier women get less and read more
Mar 20, 2019
JCTheKing (All reviews)
One Piece is not a very good manga, and I highly suggest not reading it if you haven't started already. I also think Eichiro Oda is a mediocre writer. It's nothing but a waste of time and energy.

The story is very generic. The story is about a group of pirates that want to get treasure, and the main character wants to become "Pirate King". The story isn't interesting in the slightest, but that's not the only bad part. The plot in One Piece is formulaic, and can get boring really fast. Every single arc is essentially the same thing repeated over and over again read more