Forum Settings
Forums
New
Feb 24, 2017 8:32 PM
Jul 2018
Hello.

So I've been commissioned by some people to make music for their games. Can't say I'm used to do this kind of work; I'm pretty new in all of this.
Anyway, one of my client asked me to write a battle theme for his project. His game is rather 16-bit-ish and stuff, so I'm trying to emulate a particular kind of sound and writing that you usually find in old-school JRPGs.

Here is my first try: [WIP] Fighting the Shadows
One of my battle theme in the past has been a bit criticized for being "too soft and cute" and consequently, I don't really want to repeat the same mistake.
So I'd like to know: would you want to play a game with this track as a battle theme? Is there something that bugs you (in terms of composition, sound)? Furthermore, how does it sound in your speaker/headphones?

I still hope you like it, see you!
Feb 24, 2017 8:45 PM

Mar 2008
I like it.

Does this theme have a particular context in mind? Like, what's the game's setting - is the piece for a certain mood/theme/locale/event/character, etc.? Knowing that, we might be able to give more helpful opinions.

My impression of the piece is that it's quite pleasant - almost dreamlike and comforting - moving through the motions. After a single play, it felt quite pleasantly familiar, but it doesn't have an especially memorable melody/motif. Which is fine for a battle theme, of course. It perhaps had an airy magical sort of feeling - I could see it being stereotyped for a female/gentle type character, but perhaps that's the 'soft and cute' you're trying to avoid?

I like the use of repetitions and alternations - it flows well and wouldn't be intrusive/overpowering in as a bgm.
Feb 24, 2017 9:02 PM
Apr 2013
This is not a battle theme. Not even by a longshot. If anything, this kind of music fits better as a pre-battle theme or one of the bgms used in dungeon exploration. I think dungeon fits more but I digress.