Ranked #7537

Hot Gimmick (Manga)

Hot Gimmick

Alternative Titles

English: Hot Gimmick
Japanese: ホットギミック


Type: Manga
Volumes: 12
Chapters: 54
Status: Finished
Published: Dec 2000 to Aug 2005
Authors: Aihara, Miki (Story & Art)
Serialization: Betsucomi


Score: 7.061 (scored by 5773 users)
Ranked: #75372
Popularity: #391
Members: 10,052
Favorites: 385
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Apr 5, 2009
I don't usually write reviews, but I thought I would for this. The story is not particularly original centering on a blackmail master-slave relationship that turns into something more. Very cliche in the shojo manga industry. Unrealistically stereotypical characters abounded

The thing that really bothered me was the main character being molested on several occasions, and almost gang-raped by her boyfriend's clique (on his orders) and not contacting any authorities or anything (and staying friends with these people). It was very disturbing that the main character was such a dolt- not a very good self-image for young girls who read this. She also definately chose the read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 19, 2008
I like the whole rich guy falls for not-so-rich girl story but in this case the rich guy has moments of total asshole-ness that makes no sense and the girl is just an absolute doormat who is a shame to all womankind so you empathize with neither. I don't suggest reading this manga if you don't like guys who are abusive and girls who are unassertive and nonsensically accommodating (after being 'betrayed' she just continues being friends with them without a clear resolution first).

I get why people would understand Hatsumi falling for Ryouki at some point because he was there for her etc, but to read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 15, 2015
I'll be honest here: I didn't finish the manga. I just read what the library had and didn't bother to finish it online. Not really worth it since it's one of the WORST manga I've ever read.). But, sadly, I read most of it. I just really want to voice my opinion about this series.
(Warning: There is some language and some spoilers.)

Story: 1/10
It's stupid, to say the least. I read it because it was there, but...ugh. I had low expectations, but the reality was worse. So, if you read the description, "Hot Gimmick" is about a girl who's 'forced' to become a rich guy's read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 5, 2014
Some Spoilers Ensue:

Hmmm...I dunno how I feel about this series. It's like a mixture of fan fiction, and Gossip Girl. Both of which I enjoy so from that point of view, it was good. I was entertained and strangely addicted even though all of the characters were terrible people (minus maybe Shinogu but I was weirded out by the sister/brother thing). It worked in Clueless, but in this series, the whole dynamic between the brother and sister bordered on creepy. The author also left a lot to the imagination. I was slightly annoyed we didn't get any Asuza aftermath...did he go after Ryoki and get read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 29, 2007
After picking up this manga, I thought the beginning was very interesting but as the story was unfolding, it took a long time to develop which was a little bit unnerving. Even though it was slow in progression, the plot twists did make me feel caught up in the story and was able to keep me reading until the very last chapter. If you like mystery, there's a little bit of that thrown in too. There's also very "adult" themes like sex in it but it does not take up more than 5% of the manga.

---------The GOOD---------
I liked this manga because it was very unique read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 8, 2010
Alright...First of all, who would you choose?
The asshole who made you his slave and is just generally a horrible person, the asshole who tried to rape you for revenge but, just for the record, it was a total misunderstanding and he's sorry, or the really nice and caring guy..... who just so happens to be your (NOT REALLY) brother.

Hatsumi made the wrong choice. She chose to stay in this situation.
(Btw, spoilers.)
Maybe it's a cultural difference... I mean, I get that women are generally not as respected as men, especially in Japan. But the main character of this manga is a total pushover. How did she read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 10, 2010
This will be my first review. I chose Hot Gimmick because it's the least enjoyable manga I've read so I feel like it needs my critique the most.

I think some people might find my scoring a little harsh, but I think my ratings fairly illustrate my feelings toward this manga. There's a simple reason why I stuck with it all the way instead of adding it to my dropped list and it's because I'm not a quitter.

Story: 4

There isn't single scrap of originality to the story. Really the only good thing it has going for it is the perverse way the reader can't read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 2, 2012
To be honest, I absolutely hate this manga.

It was stale--it was stupid--it didn't make sense at all

If you're a shallow person who likes reading about stupid girl who gets molested, then read this.

[spoiler alert]
I absolutely despise this manga. What the heck was the mangaka thinking? Oh my gosh, face palm every single time. The main character was supposed to be, 'admirable' since she goes around forgiving THE PEOPLE WHO ALMOST GANG RAPED HER. What the heck? that makes no sense at all! It's so frustrating. The main character all through out sounded the same to me. It seemed so unrealistic---gah. I just freaking hate this read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 11, 2010
Normally, I don't write any reviews. But this manga just needs another review, and I do not mean that in a positive way.

Story: 3
Well, like you read above, this is a story about a girl that is forced to be a (sex)slave by a rich guy, because otherwise he exposes the secret of her sister being a slutty girl. That would mean a scorned repuation for this family, living in the same apartment block. Apparently the clean reputation of het family is more important to her than her own well-being and that is the exact thing that made me drop this manga. She is read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 15, 2010
the story was so cliche-y and it was defineitly disappointing
at first i thought it was quite interesting, but then when it reached the end i was like all "WTF"
but who cares anyway
so the girl chooses ryo-whatever and gets married blah blah blah
and the other guy becomes a monk
i mean, seriously WHATS UP WITH THAT?!?

it was fine i guess, its like your ordinary shoujo art

the main girl here is TOTALLY retarded
i mean like seriously
she still chose that ryo-whatever guy,
while he was like literally torturing her
c'mon i mean, who the hell wants to be with hat kiind of person

i gave it a 1 since this read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 25, 2012
I've never written a review before. I can't say I've read all the manga or seen all the anime, but I've read my fair share of manga. However, I've never written a review before. Well, Hot Gimmick made me feel an emotion extreme enough to write a review. And I've never done that before.

It's horrible. I hate it. There are no "bad guys" but all the characters are horrible people. *SPOILER* The main character is in an abusive relationship. I've seen couples, I've been a part of a couple, and I loath girls who date guys read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 3, 2010
This manga was dreadful. I hated watching the poor main character getting sexually abused by all these guys. but, she never left the one who was the biggest jerk to her. He would order her around and call her stupid and try to have sex with her even if she was unwilling. this sends a terrible message to young girls. I felt gross reading this. Its like i was watching her get sexually abused and I couldn't do anything about it. I dont understand her logic in the end. who would chose out of three guys, the one who treats you like dirt?! I wanted read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 19, 2011
Hot Gimmick somewhat sets the premise of Cinderella: Poor, but attractive young female meets rich and handsome young male. It does however quickly turn into a blackmail master-slave story and with desperate attempts to explain the main character's feelings towards an abusive love interest.

It's a rather disturbing story to say the least to basically show a girl getting pressured into falling in love with an abusive partner who treats her as a slave, but somehow it's "OK" because he /loves/ her. The main character's passive way of dealing with the sexual assaults on various accounts - including attempted gang rape - was aggravating more than read more
I found this review Helpful
May 11, 2010
Hot Gimmick was a pretty drama filled love-triangle type story about a girl, her family and childhood friends. There was a lot of confusion and indecisiveness from the main character Hatsumi. She had a passive type personality that allowed for others to influence her too much, and she never really grew as a character. Only a few characters actually matured throughout the series, which I thought was weak. The animation was nice though, so that was a plus for the storyline. It was a fair read, but overall I was disappointed with the outcome and the main character in general.
I found this review Helpful
Feb 28, 2011
I don't normally write reviews however this one ticked me off quite a bit. A lot of the story is pretty good like the scandal between the families that happened 8 years ago and the brother not being blood related that's all well and good HOWEVER the fact that the main character was such a push over, got hit and thought nothing of it, takes orders from the A-hole like it's common sense....(it makes me realize how american I am) as well as the fact that the characters for most of the story are horrid.

thats all that needs to be said.
I found this review Helpful
Feb 13, 2012
Mkay so let me put it like this.

I own the omnibus, and boy am I glad I bought them all used!!!

Hot Gimmick focuses on the story of Hatsumi Narita and her family. They live in an apartment complex owned by the nameless company her father works for. Apparently, they have lived there since Hatsumi's childhood.

Well Hatsumi ends up hooking up with Ryoki, and it just unveils the mass of drama that is so unrealistic and ridiculous it makes you want to punch something in the face. I mean, the things that happen are just so out there and wild. . . the name of read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 6, 2008
The very first time I picked up this manga, I could not put it down. I read literally twenty-two chapters in one sitting. It was amazing; there was never a moment when I thought, "How long will this take?" I never looked to see how many pages there were left, which is unusual for me. I am sorely disappointed there isn't more. There seems like there should be more than 54 chapters; it ended without warning. The character development wasn't what I wanted either, because much stayed the same.

Overall score: 8. Recommended: yes.
I found this review Helpful
Aug 14, 2010
Hot Gimmick is a manga written Miki Aihara. It is a Shojo Manga and has a focus on a meek teenager named Hatsumi Narita. She lives in Japan's Company Housing complex and the story revolves around the difficulties and life styles of such a complex. The crux of story lies in the relationship with the guys in her life. Her Borther, a long time child hood bully and finally a old friend who has come back to the complex.

Art: The art is good but doesn't have a whole lot of variety. All the characters are good looking. The tones and shading is very light and read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 3, 2010
At first glance Hot Gimmick goes a little too far from the average abusive boy-stupid girl relationship stereotype. That’s because the main characters are often too edgy at being themselves.
Nevertheless, that is what you would find only at first glance. Actually the characters are quite well created and their behavior is well motivated (most of the time). So I was a bit surprise to see so many negative reviews.
First, the not very bright, unassertive and often annoyingly accommodating Hatsumi seems to be the worst roll model but if you look closer you’ll find that she is actually devoted to her friends and family read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 25, 2009
At the time while I was reading this manga, I thought the story was pretty average in the beginning. It was just like any other story where a love triangle forms, and a couple forms while one guy is left out. And of course, this guy is the despicable one that the main heroine has no intention of falling in love with. But then twists occur and mysteries begin to develop. By the end of the story, it's a surprising ending, but when you think about it, the story couldn't have ended any other way.
Overall, I would read this manga, but I found the read more
I found this review Helpful