MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #9059
Hot Gimmick (Manga)

Hot Gimmick

Alternative Titles

English: Hot Gimmick
Japanese: ホットギミック

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 12
Chapters: 54
Status: Finished
Published: Dec 2000 to Aug 2005
Authors: Aihara, Miki (Story & Art)
Serialization: Betsucomi

Statistics

Score: 7.101 (scored by 5314 users)
Ranked: #90592
Popularity: #318
Members: 9,146
Favorites: 353
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page.

My Info


Popular Tags

drama romance shoujo
Mar 19, 2008
tenshikagami
I like the whole rich guy falls for not-so-rich girl story but in this case the rich guy has moments of total asshole-ness that makes no sense and the girl is just an absolute doormat who is a shame to all womankind so you empathize with neither. I don't suggest reading this manga if you don't like guys who are abusive and girls who are unassertive and nonsensically accommodating (after being 'betrayed' she just continues being friends with them without a clear resolution first).

I get why people would understand Hatsumi falling for Ryouki at some point because he was there for her etc, but to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 5, 2009
dogbunny
I don't usually write reviews, but I thought I would for this. The story is not particularly original centering on a blackmail master-slave relationship that turns into something more. Very cliche in the shojo manga industry. Unrealistically stereotypical characters abounded

The thing that really bothered me was the main character being molested on several occasions, and almost gang-raped by her boyfriend's clique (on his orders) and not contacting any authorities or anything (and staying friends with these people). It was very disturbing that the main character was such a dolt- not a very good self-image for young girls who read this. She also definately chose the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 19, 2011
Shivvy
Hot Gimmick somewhat sets the premise of Cinderella: Poor, but attractive young female meets rich and handsome young male. It does however quickly turn into a blackmail master-slave story and with desperate attempts to explain the main character's feelings towards an abusive love interest.

It's a rather disturbing story to say the least to basically show a girl getting pressured into falling in love with an abusive partner who treats her as a slave, but somehow it's "OK" because he /loves/ her. The main character's passive way of dealing with the sexual assaults on various accounts - including attempted gang rape - was aggravating more than read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 10, 2010
georgianalou
This will be my first review. I chose Hot Gimmick because it's the least enjoyable manga I've read so I feel like it needs my critique the most.

I think some people might find my scoring a little harsh, but I think my ratings fairly illustrate my feelings toward this manga. There's a simple reason why I stuck with it all the way instead of adding it to my dropped list and it's because I'm not a quitter.

Story: 4

There isn't single scrap of originality to the story. Really the only good thing it has going for it is the perverse way the reader can't read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 8, 2010
Kizzi
Alright...First of all, who would you choose?
The asshole who made you his slave and is just generally a horrible person, the asshole who tried to rape you for revenge but, just for the record, it was a total misunderstanding and he's sorry, or the really nice and caring guy..... who just so happens to be your (NOT REALLY) brother.

Hatsumi made the wrong choice. She chose to stay in this situation.
(Btw, spoilers.)
Maybe it's a cultural difference... I mean, I get that women are generally not as respected as men, especially in Japan. But the main character of this manga is a total pushover. How did she read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 15, 2010
zombiesonacid
Story:
the story was so cliche-y and it was defineitly disappointing
at first i thought it was quite interesting, but then when it reached the end i was like all "WTF"
SPOILER
but who cares anyway
so the girl chooses ryo-whatever and gets married blah blah blah
and the other guy becomes a monk
i mean, seriously WHATS UP WITH THAT?!?

Art:
it was fine i guess, its like your ordinary shoujo art

Character:
the main girl here is TOTALLY retarded
i mean like seriously
she still chose that ryo-whatever guy,
while he was like literally torturing her
c'mon i mean, who the hell wants to be with hat kiind of person

Enjoyment:
i gave it a 1 since this read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 29, 2007
mio
After picking up this manga, I thought the beginning was very interesting but as the story was unfolding, it took a long time to develop which was a little bit unnerving. Even though it was slow in progression, the plot twists did make me feel caught up in the story and was able to keep me reading until the very last chapter. If you like mystery, there's a little bit of that thrown in too. There's also very "adult" themes like sex in it but it does not take up more than 5% of the manga.

---------The GOOD---------
I liked this manga because it was very unique read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 11, 2010
Ungirl
Normally, I don't write any reviews. But this manga just needs another review, and I do not mean that in a positive way.

Story: 3
Well, like you read above, this is a story about a girl that is forced to be a (sex)slave by a rich guy, because otherwise he exposes the secret of her sister being a slutty girl. That would mean a scorned repuation for this family, living in the same apartment block. Apparently the clean reputation of het family is more important to her than her own well-being and that is the exact thing that made me drop this manga. She is read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 2, 2012
abominationn
To be honest, I absolutely hate this manga.

It was stale--it was stupid--it didn't make sense at all

If you're a shallow person who likes reading about stupid girl who gets molested, then read this.

[spoiler alert]
I absolutely despise this manga. What the heck was the mangaka thinking? Oh my gosh, face palm every single time. The main character was supposed to be, 'admirable' since she goes around forgiving THE PEOPLE WHO ALMOST GANG RAPED HER. What the heck? that makes no sense at all! It's so frustrating. The main character all through out sounded the same to me. It seemed so unrealistic---gah. I just freaking hate this read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 11, 2010
Torii-chan
Hot Gimmick was a pretty drama filled love-triangle type story about a girl, her family and childhood friends. There was a lot of confusion and indecisiveness from the main character Hatsumi. She had a passive type personality that allowed for others to influence her too much, and she never really grew as a character. Only a few characters actually matured throughout the series, which I thought was weak. The animation was nice though, so that was a plus for the storyline. It was a fair read, but overall I was disappointed with the outcome and the main character in general.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices