MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #7339
Hot Gimmick (Manga)

Hot Gimmick

Alternative Titles

English: Hot Gimmick
Japanese: ホットギミック

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 12
Chapters: 54
Status: Finished
Published: Dec 2000 to Aug 2005
Authors: Aihara, Miki (Story & Art)
Serialization: Betsucomi

Statistics

Score: 7.071 (scored by 5697 users)
Ranked: #73392
Popularity: #380
Members: 9,911
Favorites: 381
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.

Reviews

dogbunny
Apr 5, 2009 1:30 PM
I don't usually write reviews, but I thought I would for this. The story is not particularly original centering on a blackmail master-slave relationship that turns into something more. Very cliche in the shojo manga industry. Unrealistically stereotypical characters abounded

The thing that really bothered me was the main character being molested on several occasions, and almost gang-raped by her boyfriend's clique (on his orders) and not contacting any authorities or anything (and staying friends with these people). It was very disturbing that the main character was such a dolt- not a very good self-image for young girls who read this. She also definately chose the read more
I found this review Helpful
tenshikagami
Mar 19, 2008 11:29 AM
I like the whole rich guy falls for not-so-rich girl story but in this case the rich guy has moments of total asshole-ness that makes no sense and the girl is just an absolute doormat who is a shame to all womankind so you empathize with neither. I don't suggest reading this manga if you don't like guys who are abusive and girls who are unassertive and nonsensically accommodating (after being 'betrayed' she just continues being friends with them without a clear resolution first).

I get why people would understand Hatsumi falling for Ryouki at some point because he was there for her etc, but to read more
I found this review Helpful
mio
Dec 29, 2007 8:51 PM
After picking up this manga, I thought the beginning was very interesting but as the story was unfolding, it took a long time to develop which was a little bit unnerving. Even though it was slow in progression, the plot twists did make me feel caught up in the story and was able to keep me reading until the very last chapter. If you like mystery, there's a little bit of that thrown in too. There's also very "adult" themes like sex in it but it does not take up more than 5% of the manga.

---------The GOOD---------
I liked this manga because it was very unique read more
I found this review Helpful
Kizzi
Dec 8, 2010 3:55 PM
Alright...First of all, who would you choose?
The asshole who made you his slave and is just generally a horrible person, the asshole who tried to rape you for revenge but, just for the record, it was a total misunderstanding and he's sorry, or the really nice and caring guy..... who just so happens to be your (NOT REALLY) brother.

Hatsumi made the wrong choice. She chose to stay in this situation.
(Btw, spoilers.)
Maybe it's a cultural difference... I mean, I get that women are generally not as respected as men, especially in Japan. But the main character of this manga is a total pushover. How did she read more
I found this review Helpful
georgianalou
Jun 10, 2010 10:06 PM
This will be my first review. I chose Hot Gimmick because it's the least enjoyable manga I've read so I feel like it needs my critique the most.

I think some people might find my scoring a little harsh, but I think my ratings fairly illustrate my feelings toward this manga. There's a simple reason why I stuck with it all the way instead of adding it to my dropped list and it's because I'm not a quitter.

Story: 4

There isn't single scrap of originality to the story. Really the only good thing it has going for it is the perverse way the reader can't read more
I found this review Helpful
Ungirl
Mar 11, 2010 8:49 AM
Normally, I don't write any reviews. But this manga just needs another review, and I do not mean that in a positive way.

Story: 3
Well, like you read above, this is a story about a girl that is forced to be a (sex)slave by a rich guy, because otherwise he exposes the secret of her sister being a slutty girl. That would mean a scorned repuation for this family, living in the same apartment block. Apparently the clean reputation of het family is more important to her than her own well-being and that is the exact thing that made me drop this manga. She is read more
I found this review Helpful
zombiesonacid
Jun 15, 2010 7:27 AM
Story:
the story was so cliche-y and it was defineitly disappointing
at first i thought it was quite interesting, but then when it reached the end i was like all "WTF"
SPOILER
but who cares anyway
so the girl chooses ryo-whatever and gets married blah blah blah
and the other guy becomes a monk
i mean, seriously WHATS UP WITH THAT?!?

Art:
it was fine i guess, its like your ordinary shoujo art

Character:
the main girl here is TOTALLY retarded
i mean like seriously
she still chose that ryo-whatever guy,
while he was like literally torturing her
c'mon i mean, who the hell wants to be with hat kiind of person

Enjoyment:
i gave it a 1 since this read more
I found this review Helpful
abominationn
Apr 2, 2012 9:40 PM
To be honest, I absolutely hate this manga.

It was stale--it was stupid--it didn't make sense at all

If you're a shallow person who likes reading about stupid girl who gets molested, then read this.

[spoiler alert]
I absolutely despise this manga. What the heck was the mangaka thinking? Oh my gosh, face palm every single time. The main character was supposed to be, 'admirable' since she goes around forgiving THE PEOPLE WHO ALMOST GANG RAPED HER. What the heck? that makes no sense at all! It's so frustrating. The main character all through out sounded the same to me. It seemed so unrealistic---gah. I just freaking hate this read more
I found this review Helpful
optimisticchick
Dec 3, 2010 9:13 PM
This manga was dreadful. I hated watching the poor main character getting sexually abused by all these guys. but, she never left the one who was the biggest jerk to her. He would order her around and call her stupid and try to have sex with her even if she was unwilling. this sends a terrible message to young girls. I felt gross reading this. Its like i was watching her get sexually abused and I couldn't do anything about it. I dont understand her logic in the end. who would chose out of three guys, the one who treats you like dirt?! I wanted read more
I found this review Helpful
Animeted_love7
Jun 5, 2014 1:19 AM
Some Spoilers Ensue:

Hmmm...I dunno how I feel about this series. It's like a mixture of fan fiction, and Gossip Girl. Both of which I enjoy so from that point of view, it was good. I was entertained and strangely addicted even though all of the characters were terrible people (minus maybe Shinogu but I was weirded out by the sister/brother thing). It worked in Clueless, but in this series, the whole dynamic between the brother and sister bordered on creepy. The author also left a lot to the imagination. I was slightly annoyed we didn't get any Asuza aftermath...did he go after Ryoki and get read more
I found this review Helpful