Forum Settings
Forums
New
Jun 28, 2016 8:10 PM

Jun 2016
Hello, everyone. Quick question.
Okay, so, just a few months ago, I've started becoming a "full-time" PC gamer, meaning I play PC way more often than my consoles now.
However, my PC, while it has excellent performance on browsers (I use Chrome) and the like, it's nothing special when it comes to gaming. (HL2, CSS and GTA SA work very smoothly with slight lag obviously in the more crowded/detailed areas; FO3 and NV work smoothly indoors while it gets pretty laggy in their respective wastelands; FO4 often just crashes. Most of the time when I get it to start, it can get to the loading screen for New Game. Farthest I got was character creation)
I've never built a PC before, but I'm tech savvy, so I'm sure I'd be able to.
TL;DR Current PC's okay but not great for [modern] gaming; what's cheaper and/or more reliable, building or buying a PC?
"Kaz, I'm already a sea man. Arrrgh."
Jun 28, 2016 8:15 PM

Jul 2015
Building is obviously significantly cheaper, but requires effort.

If you're not bothered/lack the knowledge, and really don't mind spending 100-200 more, buy out.

But if your budget is tight, build.

OP, please wait for AMD's RX 480 if you're building and on a somewhat limited budget.
Living is a velleity, because ice cream is life.

Jun 28, 2016 8:30 PM

Jun 2016
SympathyDolphin said:
Building is obviously significantly cheaper, but requires effort.

If you're not bothered/lack the knowledge, and really don't mind spending 100-200 more, buy out.

But if your budget is tight, build.

OP, please wait for AMD's RX 480 if you're building and on a somewhat limited budget.

Yeah, I knew building would be cheaper. I mean, duh, right? No offense intended, just saying that it should be obvious to just about anyone.