Forum Settings
Forums

Advanced MPC-HC Setup Guide - with madVR (v1.2) (Read note on first post)

New
Pages (28) « First ... « 2 3 [4] 5 6 » ... Last »
Jan 3, 2013 6:30 AM

Jan 2011
yawgmoth said:
Do you happen know what's the difference between 6428 and 6419 ( mpc lite x86 )?

Check the Github changelog of MPC-HC. They list all the changes accordingly with the day they were made. It's usually just minor updates, so don't bother checking them unless you see something wrong/different about the version you downloaded.
Jan 6, 2013 3:10 AM

Jul 2012
This may be a bit of a stupid question, and I've sort of pieced together an answer myself, but I wanted some extra confirmation.

It it possible to use Floating Point Processing and 10-bit output together, or is it only one or the other? Again, it sounds stupid, and I'd like to go into more detail but I'm not good at wording tech stuff even though my brain can process it pretty well. And which one would be the best in terms of quality? 10-bit would give better colours, I know that, and that's something I'd like to check out, but would the 32-bit processing give an overall better-looking result, even when dithered to 8-bit? I know that's how MadVR works.
I am aware that you need a 10-bit monitor and compatible card for 10-bit output.

I wish I could have worded things better. Sorry.

I can't wipe my butt with the shreds of a wedding dress!!

Jan 6, 2013 5:35 AM

Jan 2011
KazolOrajia said:
It it possible to use Floating Point Processing and 10-bit output together, or is it only one or the other? Again, it sounds stupid, and I'd like to go into more detail but I'm not good at wording tech stuff even though my brain can process it pretty well. And which one would be the best in terms of quality? 10-bit would give better colours, I know that, and that's something I'd like to check out, but would the 32-bit processing give an overall better-looking result, even when dithered to 8-bit? I know that's how MadVR works.