Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Fushigi Yuugi: Eikouden


Alternative Titles

English: Mysterious Play: Eikoden
Synonyms: Fushigi Yuugi OVA 3
Japanese: ふしぎ遊戯 -永光伝

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 4
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 21, 2001 to Jun 25, 2002
Producers: None found, add some
Studios: Studio Pierrot
Source: Manga
Duration: 30 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.951 (scored by 7,295 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #39052
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3591
Members: 13,825
Favorites: 65

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 27, 2008
TrenchKamen (All reviews)
It is every fanfiction writer's dream to have his or her story made into anime. We all dream about how our stories would look on celluloid. It's normal. It's healthy. And in defense of fanfiction, I have read some stuff good enough to actually make the cut. Hell, I've read some stuff better than the original canon. It's few-and-far between, but it's still there.

This is not an example of the latter.

"Eikoden" was originally somebody's fanfiction that became an officially-published novel, and then somebody else decided that making this catasterfuck into an OVA would be a good idea. I'll openly admit that the original "Fushigi Yuugi" read more
Dec 8, 2008
Todesengel (All reviews)
If you want to see what a OVA looks like, look for the following:

1) An unlikeable heroine
2) An unoriginal story
3) Was originally a fanfiction

Trust me, there are good fanfictions out there that would be good enough to be a pretty decent spin off of some kind. However, FY Eikoden is a terrible fanfiction.

Mayo Sakaki is very unlikeable. Now girls would be able to relate to her more if she wasn't so god damned psycho while having this crush on Tamahome. Yui was more believable, but Mayo is downright psycho. Threatening to commit suicide because some boy doesn't like you? Geeze, and I thought Yui read more
Oct 14, 2010
piratemirage (All reviews)
Having read Fushigi Yuugi recently, a friend of mine suggested watching this for laughs and I have to say that it was incredibly dreadful.

The character of Mayo was horrendous. She felt like a complete Mary Sue, only inserted because they wanted to make more money off the franchise. She was whiny and not appealing at all with how much hatred she had. The other characters weren't incredibly bad, seeing as Miaka was not very active in this.

The story was lacking. They made up back story to characters and completely broke canon. It did not make any sense. They should have just left it off read more
Oct 14, 2010
ladyshiny (All reviews)
I have been a fan of Fushigi Yuugi for a decade now (mostly fandoming Genbu Kaiden) and although I've seen this load of crap before, a recent reviewing inspired me to write a review. The reason I sat through this horror again in my life is because I had made piratemirage watch this OVA for the enjoyment and LULZ. Anyway, onward to the review.

Story 1/10
Terrible. The emphasis of the whole "return" is focused on a new character, Mayo, who is pretty much the summation of every entitled, sob story, hateful, whiny, clingy, vengeful and annoying fangirl who has ever watched the series and lusted after read more
Dec 26, 2009
case649 (All reviews)
Fushigi Yuugi Eikoden seems to catch a lot of flak because of its origins as fanfiction.

I don't know much about that really, and to be honest I don't care. More power to the fan who managed to get her story noticed, published and animated.

What I do know is that most people who review Eikoden seem to focus their criticisms on what a pathetic character Mayo Sakaki is. In this viewer's estimation, that's not actually a fair judgment to make. And here's why: They don't give her enough screen time to get fleshed out and actually give us a chance to decide if she has any read more
Dec 19, 2010
zxhanah (All reviews)
It was a masterpiece again, as expected of Yuu Watase.

Many didn't like this OVA but for me it was great.
At first, I really didn't like it because of Mayo, and I hated her because of her attitude but I realized that in reality, there are really people who are blinded by too much love, especially unrequited ones. The problem is that Mayo over exaggerated it. She went beyond the limit, well I understand since this is fiction. But I love Miaka and Taka's strong relationship and the love they had for each other.

I also appreciate the love of Miaka and Taka for their friends in read more
Dec 3, 2010
YukiPwns00 (All reviews)
Fushigi Yuugi is the last OVA of the Fushigi Yuugi series. It is 4 episodes long.
For the first 2 to 2 1/2 episodes, things are pretty boring, but it picks up later and you kind of want to see how it wraps up.
The main character, Myo, is not very likeable. She's a whiny, selfish girl. You could say she is the main character, but I'd also say the usuals are also focused on a lot.
As you may or my not know, Fushigi Yuugi Eikoden was two books in a fan-written light novel series. The fact that it read more
Feb 27, 2017
Cristal13 (All reviews)
How can I explain.. The main character, that little girl was empty!
The story it wasn't that bad but the girl should had be much better..
And because of that the rest was a little bad compared to previous seasons and prequels.

But I still like this OVA because I could see the characters one more time and Miaka pregnant, etc. And that was good!

I was really sad have to say goodbye to this story/anime, because it seams like that we will not have another sequel.

But, in general, the anime complete with all seasons or OVA's was really great!!!

EVERYONE MUST SEE!
Jul 28, 2011
DreamCore (All reviews)
Let me first start off by saying that I first encountered the "Fushigi Yuugi" series when I was very young. It started with getting a few manga here and there and then stumbling upon the anime a few years later. Because of this, I sort of hold the series as one of my 'classics'. It was one of the first manga/anime I'd seen and took interest in. You never realize how lame the things you liked when you were younger are until you've grown up a bit. No, the story wasn't very good. No, I didn't like Miaka at all because she was a read more
Dec 7, 2009
Justp94 (All reviews)
Why such a High rating you ask? Well I have enjoyed the whole series of "Fushigi Yuugi" and this OVA is no exception to my enjoyment. While there are parts to the OVA I don't understand or things that are unlikeable or don't make sense, This OVA is the ending to a great series and in the end Miaka's and Tamahome's baby is born. I think that is a good ending even though i think that a series like this could go on forever i am glad to see it end on a bright side for the characters of the story!
Hopefully I didn't spoil anything read more
Feb 18, 2013
animeeluver (All reviews)
I thought this was going to be good,but boy was i wrong i expected it to be good cause i loves the tv series and the first two ova series. but this was awful,which makes sense because its based on a fanfiction im not a fanfic hater because i read some pretty good ones,but its rare to find one that would be good enough to be a anime but i read some that in my opinion deserve a anime way more than this. seriously the only reason why i even watched it all was because i love the the tv series and other ovas. and read more