Ranked #254

D.Gray-man (Manga)


Alternative Titles

English: D.Gray-man
Synonyms: D.Grey-man, D. Grayman, D. Gray-man
Japanese: D.Gray-man


Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: May 31, 2004 to ?
Authors: Hoshino, Katsura (Story & Art)
Serialization: Jump SQ.Crown


Score: 8.351 (scored by 36253 users)
Ranked: #2542
Popularity: #11
Members: 68,182
Favorites: 8,326
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Apr 30, 2008
I first got into D. Grayman out of curiosity because a lot of my friends were reading it and gushing about it. I expected it to be just another basic shonen title with little to captivate me, but I quickly found out that I was wrong. The first volume hooked me like none other, and I found myself with an obsession warranting catching up to the Japanese release on scans. Anyone that knows me (which isn't many of you) knows that I hate reading scans for many reasons, but it was a necessity for D. Grayman because I couldn't wait for the volumes to come read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 8, 2008
Another misundersanding here, but why is this manga not reviewed?! Second review for manga! Here it goes!

Story: There are stories where we can skim over a few chapters and still understand what's going on; there are stories where we can skim over a few volumes and still get what is happening. D.Gray-Man doesn't fall into either category. If you miss even two- three pannels at first, if that subject rises up a again, you will be lost. Everything is thickly intervoven; you won't find mentions of something just random, and you won't find side-plots ending up with a dead end (in turn with you wasting read more
I found this review Helpful
May 3, 2009
There is something strangely compelling about D.Gray-man. Perhaps it is the cast of characters that grows, not one obviously faster than the others, but together, or perhaps it is the emotional rollercoaster the mangaka has managed to take the readers on.

But whatever the case, D.Gray-man has this mysterious air about it, this feel of something apocalyptic and yet real, as though the characters are losing while it is clear that they are winning. [But are they winning? Winning? Or losing?]

There is something about D.Gray-man that makes you think, that makes you wonder, and that makes you shocked and surprised at the littlest of things.

The main read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 20, 2015
I believe that I first started the anime and it took me some time to really get hooked on this series.
After the anime ended, I simply had to continue the manga - it is too good not to.

Story 10/10
Maybe some people would say that the story/plot isn't enough to get full points, but nonetheless, the individual stories and past of each character shown up to date are (in my opinion) really amazing, exciting, sad and have some kind of uniqueness to them. (You'll be surprised, because there's always more to come.)
You'll even find yourself enjoying the past of the antagonist(s), their being and the whole read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 3, 2011
D. Gray-man was a series that I got into because my friends often talked about it. However, the first few chapters did not disappoint me, so I kept reading.

While the feeling of "this is your destiny, find these items" has been used time and again, D. Gray-man does bring some interesting spins. However, this does not ignore the difficulty of such a broad thesis, so to speak. I think that Hoshino realized rather belatedly that it's difficult to keep the reader interested in a manga that will go on for quite a while. There are 109 or so Innocence; the Order read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 30, 2009
there is something about this series that i find very captivating. before i started reading/watching this series i remember one of my online friends mention it every now and then and she seemed to really like it. even so there was still something that kept me from trying it and i fully regret that now because there is not much about this series that i can't appreciate.
ok let's get down to business now. let's start with a story. when i first heard the basic story of humans vs. demons what i thought was "this doesn't seem like a very original story and i read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 13, 2014
Good idea. Distinctive drawing style. Not a good beginning. Toward the middle and the end it got better. I had dropped it 3 times before I actually came to the part where I could enjoy. The power of the earl is somewhat fluctuating in an inconsistent way.
I found this review Helpful
Dec 31, 2011
~ My Feeling For This Manga
When I First Reading The Manga D.Gray man From Vol 1, I Was Like Hmm... The Cover Looks Really Nice
- At First It Seems Like Kinda Boring In The Few Chapters But I Keep Reading Cause I Was Like Pfft. I Know This is Really Nifty Manga Ima Keep Reading
- In Secs The Action Made The Think It Was Like Bleach, After One Hour I Was Like Wow.... Im Already Finished With The 3 Books I Have In Rl
So I Keep Reading And Reading On Internet Cause I Only Had The 3 Vols In RL
Until Then I Was already On read more
I found this review Helpful
May 11, 2011
Despite the fact that this story begins as a typical good vs. evil plot, the story thickens, twists, elaborates, and eventually becomes a huge web of gray. One of the previous reviews states that the main villain is inherently and undeniably 100% evil. If the reader simply invests into the series, there will doubts. D.Gray Man has proved itself to be unique and compelling. The story line may begin as standard, but evolves onto a whole new caliber.

The art is very appealing to those that enjoy detail. The style consists of handsomely created main characters that are set in juxtaposition with the Gothic 'Akuma' read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 2, 2013
I can't remember if this is one of the cases where the Anime ended prematurely causing me to start reading the manga. But regardless D. Gray Man has lost me over the past few years. Many of the chapters seem to jump in time and location making the already confusing story line even more difficult to follow. Who is bad and who is good becomes frustratingly unclear as the story moves from a simple black and white to one huge conspiracy theory.
I found this review Helpful
Nov 6, 2010
This is my first review, so I apologize if it's not very clear or has any other problems. Now onto the review:

Story 7:
The manga started off great and the story was very pulling and imaginative. The wealth of characters and the different types of weapons/enemies in the manga made it very enjoyable. Although it followed a somewhat streamline shounen storyline as the main character achieves more and more power-ups as time goes on, the philosophical and religious perspective of the story added more depth than what most other similar mangas have. I loved the story a lot until the more recent read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 29, 2012
I read the D. Grayman because I want to know more about it since I finished watching the anime. I got thrilled by the fights and I learn a many things not discussed in our history class. Here's how I find it:

The story is cool in terms of creativity and its story line. I salute its originality. What I really like in the story is the mystery and suspense with an unexpected twinge then comedy. It's also the reason that I'm addicted to reading it. It keeps you guessing what will happen. The setting is perfect for it giving the right atmosphere in every situation. read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 1, 2010
D.Gray-man has the most common elements of shounen manga. The main character has a rare and special ability, he had a hard childhood but is still a kind person. There is a clear line between good and bad, a large group of supporting character and a lot of action.

And even though this manga has all of this, it's different from the most popular shounen mangas, and much better than them.
First of all... It's hard to believe, but yes, this story has a plot. Not just separate sagas and fights, but also a clear pattern of cause and effect. Defeating one enemy after the other until read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 27, 2009
D.Gray-man is totally one of my top 10 manga since it has all the things i wanted. It has humor, adventure, horror (a little) and romance(?!) lol

The characters are hard to forget. The story plot moves fast. Other than that, they are Hot! lol
especially Kanda, Rabi and Allen. All in all, its awesome!

Too bad its on hiatus though. Rumor has it that the mangaka was sued for plagiarism so i searched it up. I was frustrated because they made such a fuss over something that is SLIGHTLY familiar. If ever you could see the article then you will feel the same way too. I read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 17, 2011
Okay to summarize D. Gray man out is.....THE BEST FREAKIN' MANGA EVER!!!!!

I love D.Gray man such an awesome Manga. The first manga that I bought almost every single book. And I don’t regret spending money on it. I enjoyed every single book. It is an enjoyable manga.

I rated everything as a 10 for outstanding.

I love all the characters. I love Allen, Kanda, Lavi and Lenalee etc
I always giggle every time I see them all. Only Katsura could make such good looking awesome character (usually you don’t see such good looking Manga characters in shonen jump) and they have read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 21, 2008
Ever since i started to Read D.gray-man the story line has kept me spellbound. After every issue i keep wanting more. the characters of the story are enchanting and the world that they live in is top notch when it comes to inventiveness. Katsura Hoshino has made a story that has captured many peoples imaginations including mine. The characters of D.Gray-man are equally as enchanting as the storyline. At some parts the characters would have me laughing out loud then the battle scenes would draw me back into the seriousness of the storyline. overall i fully enjoyed this Manga alot and the Anime is just read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 21, 2011
The D.Gray Man anime is enjoyable, if not kind of strange and quirky. The story is a little on the formulaic side, but the characters are somewhat interesting, and the art is quite unique. If you liked Soul Eater or Pandora Hearts, this anime has some similar stylistic elements going on.

The manga is also entertaining, although sometimes the author just seems to totally forget what story she's trying to tell. Things get quite dramatic and dark as the story goes on.

The anime does not actually have an ending, as the manga had not completed by the time it finished up, read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 25, 2013
D.Gray-man to me was the first anime that introduced me to the anime world. The first episode hooked me right away and before I knew it, I had watched the whole series twice and started reading the manga (the reading process was still confusing to me at the time). I found the story line to carry some deep meanings for me, and will always hold a special place in my list of favorites.

The artwork I found to be astonishing and this requirement carries through other animes I watch or mangas I read. The artwork needs to be good, or else I find read more
I found this review Helpful