MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #1034
RideBack

RideBack

Alternative Titles

English: Ride Back
Japanese: ライドバック

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 12, 2009 to Mar 30, 2009
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.441 (scored by 13304 users)
Ranked: #10342
Popularity: #1077
Members: 25,498
Favorites: 94
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Jun 7, 2010
burntlettuce
What do you do when you fall down? Do you get back up and continue what you are doing? Or do you simply wait for someone to come along and pick you up?

In a futuristic Japan where vehicle's know as Ridebacks are all the rage Ogata Rin must try to pick herself up from ruining her career as one of Japan's finest dancers.

Rin herself may be one of the best things to come out of Rideback, as she is a terrific main lead. Throughout the entire series she tries to come in gripes with herself, and why she does the things she does. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 13, 2009
Ladholyman
Rideback tells the story of Ogata Rin, a ballet prodigy who, due to an injury, was forced to stop practicing ballet. Rideback also tells an alternate future story about a world government, the GGP, against the terrorist group BMA. These two seemingly unrelated plotlines come together and quite possibly make Rideback one of the best show to come out of the Winter 2008 anime season.

The first thing that caught my eye when I saw Rideback was the quality of the animation. The CG work in this show is amazing. From the very first episode to the very last episode, the Ridebacks were given extremely fluid read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 9, 2009
dystopias
This is the first review I ever wrote. And there is just one reason for it. I am pissed off. Completely.

In the first episode, I was heads over heels in it. I breathed, smelled and laughed with RideBack. That delirious-like state continued for a few more episodes, even intensified. I was sure right then that this is the best anime I have watched in a long time now. And then came the cold shower.

I should probably mention that I finished watching the last episode 5 minutes ago. So I might not be the most rational being at the moment. The promise and the letdown are read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 5, 2011
ggultra2764
This series could have worked better if it was entirely focused on how Ridebacks influenced Rin's character instead of the focus on corruption from a military-driven government and terrorist activity. For the most part, Rideback does do a decent job in exploring the development of Rin's character as she finds herself taking an interest in the vehicle as a replacement for her lost interest in ballet. As she becomes entangled in the military-terrorist conflict and realizes the original use of Ridebacks, Rin becomes disillusioned in the show's second half as she comes to grips over what would make her happy in spite of the hardships read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 15, 2009
zeeroid
Story.....................5
Art........................10
Sound....................9
Character...............7
Enjoyment..............8

Overall...................8

Overall, an entertaining series, with fabulous visuals, great music, and both subtle and not-so-subtle messages, the latter being a bit overbearing at times. The major flaw, as most will attribute, is the story. Frankly, the only reason not to watch this is if you value an intriguing plot very highly, and will be heavily turned off if it doesn't meet those standards. If you believe it's something you can get past, then this is absolutely a must-see.

While MADHOUSE did a great job, as usual, the pacing they used had some issues. It was rather slow towards the middle of the series, and there was very read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 12, 2012
irish5ive
I am very skeptical when it comes to "new" anime. I will be the first to admit that I believe animes glory days were found in the late 90's and early 2000's. But once in a while I'll break from my skeptisism and venture outside my comfort zone. Rideback was my break from the usual.

Immediatly with the opening credits I was hooked. A somewhat techo-pop song rips through my body, shattering all other introductions, and with its stunning visuals and perfectly blended 3D graphics, grabs my attention like it hasn't been grabbed in a while. The main lead, Rin, tears read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 28, 2010
Dragnoer
The single biggest disappointment I have ever had in an anime. The first episode was a perfect 10 in every way and gave me high hopes of the rest of the series.
But is was not to be. As the series progressed plot holes and character inconsistencies accumulated and compounded. By the 8th episode I knew all was lost, but I watched the slow motion train-wreck through to the bitter end.


The first episode and several of the ballet/battle sequences are must watch, but stupidity of the overall show may cause your brain to explode(and not in the good way)

This series would be worth read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 6, 2009
mistah-manila
This series offered a very innovative plot idea with a hint of a classic anime. Instead of having your plain old robot and person with an eerie past, Ride Back used a dancer and a motorcycle, then blended them into what you would call genius! I loved all the action packed into here with the twist up of a political feel. Plenty of fighting scenes for those who enjoy action and a very lovely animation design. A driving point for this anime could also be the fact that it stood out amongst all the other robot anime out there, and the fact that this short read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 2, 2014
phazer11
Meant to write this review earlier. Good show. It's major problem was it's pacing. I suspect it didn't do as well viewership wise during the season and so got rushed. I really enjoyed the development and stories behind the first 4 episodes or so. The races were nice and you got to learn more about the characters. The problem I feel is the plot got a bit contrived (maybe it was before hand and I just didn't realize it) and instead of more character development with asides to the battles in the background with gradual immersion into the fighting; you go from an interesting nicely read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 27, 2012
Glacier_Silver
I liked most things about this anime. I love that never give up attitude. I loved the characters for the most part or at least the main ones; BUT with the story the main characters aren't really that important to the arc there aiming for. Maybe they where like we got this story lets some how shove it into 12 episodes. Well that was a big fail. Even with the very almost mech feel here, which if you knew me you would know that's why I watched this. The story made me go RAWRRRRRR yep, you pissed me! Wheres the justice, where is it. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 29, 2011
Akusa
While I did finish this series in a 24-hour period, it seemed forceful on my part to watch some episodes. Was I completely captivated? No. Do I rank this on my top list of anime? No. Could I have? M...sure maybe.

It is important to know that this series begins in a very typical fashion and follows the synopsis closely, but ONLY UP TO THE FIRST FOUR EPISODES. For some I can imagine that they would like to see the main heroine discovering her riding style and showing her prowess and creative ballet-based moves. If you are looking read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 4, 2009
Kyo_Kyuuby
Story 6/10
The background story is very vaguely presented and very little more is explained throughout the series. There were also 2 main things that bugged me: in the story, it seems that the world is ruled by an organisation known as the GGP.Not once in the entire series id somebody stop and bother to state what GGP actually stands for. Also, most of the time, the story seems to forget that it's set several decades in the future.

Art 8/10
Nothing special about the characters, sometimes the drawing looks somewhat bland, but all the RideBack scenes are pretty nice to look at.

Sound 9/10
The sound read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 13, 2013
roriconfan
Ride Back had all the qualifications for becoming a great show. Amazing production values (Madhouse is the king of tv anime shows), lively characters, well directed racing choreographies, political intrigues, and a pilot episode that promised a dozen different side stories. And it made a complete mess with them because of lack of proper duration and naive storytelling.

The story begins with the heroine Rin being considered a mediocre ballet dancer compared to her mother. In an almost stroke of luck, she finds a racing club in her university and drops ballet in order to delve into racing by using a new form of motorcycling read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 24, 2014
Bucket2A
TL;DR REVIEW: A really fun and original show with a focus on character. CGI and quirky character design may be a turn-off to some, but its worth a try for those who desire a grounded and unconventional story.

Hey! Just a few quick things before I begin. Surely you know by now that its difficult to reliably put numbers to anime, so take my ratings with a grain of salt. They should give you a general idea though. Also, I have no experience with the source material, so I can't judge this as an adaptation. Lets dive right in.
STORY 8/10: The first and most important thing read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 13, 2011
Ghostalker
Watching an anime loaded with mecha stuff is a daunting task for me back then when the series was aired. At that time I'm no mecha fan yet but since this is done by Madhouse (one of the anime studios I really respected), I gave it a try anyway.

The story started with a young girl whose life takes a drastic turn when her dream of becoming a ballet dancer came to a complete halt when she was very young after an incident that prevents her from performing anymore. During those time, the world is experiencing a series of changes brought about by an organization in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 21, 2009
webkid94
**Episode 6**

A Tagline for Rideback would be: "A talented ballet dancer turned Ridebacker.
-----------------------
Story:
For Rin Ogata, her life has always been focused on ballet. After her mother's death, Rin decided to advance more into national competitions. From there she tells the story of the GGP, a new government formed by a takeover. One rainy day, she encounters a strange machine, Fuego. Now the second act begins......

From the previews, Rideback was the most promising of Winter 09. A mix of political conflict and internal conflict and of course, mechs. But these aren't Gundam-esque mechs, these are original, these are Ridebacks. It can be a normal Motorcycle or read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 29, 2014
Solid_Cow
Rideback has perhaps the greatest drop in overall quality that I've ever seen. It starts out on the highest highs with a masterfully crafted first episode, then it slides down on the next two, still a great show with a great premise but not quite living up to the opening. Then the fourth episode drops, and the whole series falls off a cliff. From then on we get to watch our promising mech-racing show drown under all the needless drama and shoehorned war stories that nobody wanted to see. Rideback draws you in with the promise of an engaging, introspective sports series full of potentially read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 18, 2009
reincarnationz
i thought it was just another mecha filled anime, but this is actually a pretty good one. the art is pretty good, the colouring is bold and vivid - they also have a pretty good soundtrack so far already.

*slight spoiler for first ep*
during the scene where she rides the rideback for the first time, i could feel the adrenaline that she felt and that's when i really liked this anime.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 11, 2009
13ismitch
To break the ice it might be pointed out that this is a mecha anime and for many this may be an instant turnoff and for others it might lead them to stroke their nearby gundam model in nostalgic pleasure.

Anyway... the main concept or uniqueness to this anime is its particular "mech" which is given the name "rideback", which is a motorcycle with arms that supposedly aid in the balance of the vehicle and give it an advantage in maneuverability and speed over a traditional motorcycle (that has less air resistance). This vehicle is somehow central to a dichotomy of two competing plots in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 25, 2009
Sways
Ride back is one of those animes I got hooked on right from the start, it had a certain feel to it that appealed to me, it was according to me one of those nice "a-whole-sunday-watching" series.

It's about a girl Rin, who gets injured while doing the thing that her whole world revolves around, dancing.
And how she finds joy in life again thanks to a testdrive on a machine/motorcycle that's caller a "ride back", and how this machine changes her life, good and bad.

The story isn't so complex and because the serie is quite short it doesn't go into deep, but that's also one read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices