Forum Settings
Forums
New
Pages (2) « 1 [2]
Aug 31, 2014 10:40 AM

Mar 2012
Subpyro said:

Thank you for that list. In my opinion, if not Google Authenticator, Authy could be a nice authenticator as well.

Well, as long as the provider supports TOTP, any of the listed clients would work and could be selected based on the preferences of the user.

The problem remains of how to work with third-party clients that use MAL, such as Taiga, Atarashii!, etc. (Disclaimer, I'm a developer on Atarashii!). Using OAuth would be a possible solution.

This is all predicated on Crave actually bothering to improve the site, which experience says is highly unlikely.
Developer, sysadmin, and anime addict.
Have an Android smartphone? Try Atarashii!
Aug 31, 2014 10:45 AM

Mar 2013
motokochan said:
Well, as long as the provider supports TOTP, any of the listed clients would work and could be selected based on the preferences of the user.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm pretty sure the majority if not all the providers support that specific algorithm nowadays.

motokochan said:
The problem remains of how to work with third-party clients that use MAL, such as Taiga, Atarashii!, etc. (Disclaimer, I'm a developer on Atarashii!). Using OAuth would be a possible solution.

You would have to excuse me, but my field of knowledge probably doesn't cover the understanding of what happens when a 3rd party system tries to access the website and hits the authenticator. Truth be told, I never thought of that possibility up until now. I'll dig into it and try getting some info. So yeah, as of right now, I cannot contribute nor share anything on that matter, I'll just take your word for it.

motokochan said:
This is all predicated on Crave actually bothering to improve the site, which experience says is highly unlikely.