Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Shijou Saikyou no Deshi Kenichi

Shijou Saikyou no Deshi Kenichi

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: History's Strongest Disciple Kenichi, Kenichi: The Mightiest Disciple
Japanese: 史上最強の弟子ケンイチ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 61
Chapters: 584
Status: Finished
Published: Aug 9, 2002 to Sep 17, 2014
Authors: Matsuena, Syun (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Sunday

Statistics

Score: 8.191 (scored by 28982 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5652
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #115
Members: 51,875
Favorites: 3,261

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 4, 2009
dg2500 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is your typical anime story line.

Wimpy boy gets beat up.
Wimpy boy gets saved by a strong person.
Wimpy boy trains to get stronger!

It sounds boring and normal but the crazy thing is that it's not.
I watched the anime and then I continued on to the manga (because I had no choice).

If you are a guy you will love the artwork in this manga. This has to be one of the funnest things you can ever read. Inspirational and action packed, this anime will get you pumped.

And oh jeez oh my, the artwork is wonderful...
Nov 24, 2008
amaity (All reviews)
Preliminary
There is a kind of holistic quality to this on-going manga that makes it worth the read. I was surprised to see that no one had reviewed it yet. I'll keep this short and to the point without delving much into the story.

Perhaps this is your usual martial arts manga, but it is also so much more. The story is about a talentless, downtrodden boy who works towards developing his martial arts skills through sheer hard work and will - much like Naruto. Along his journey his enemies become his friends and together they wage war against a greater evil - read more
Apr 17, 2011
Nickyz (All reviews)
Preliminary
Another martial art manga? Maybe so, but History's Strongest Disciple Kenichi has something special that makes you want to know more and more.
(...You will regret after reading the last chapiter simply because you'll have to wait another week for the next one)

"Fighting for the people I love", another cliché but trust me, this manga won't dissapoint you one bit.

Comedy, action, romance, drama - This manga has everything you need.

(No major spoils)
It begins like in most martial art manga where the protagonist is extremely weak but unlike most protagonists, Kenichi has 0 talent for martial art and will have to work much more than anyone.
He's a read more
Jun 13, 2016
AyyyItsNaru (All reviews)
Kenichi is your average protagonist.
Gets beat up
Gets a master
Gets OP as fk
Beats up everyone
Good shit.
But it's a 500+ chapter manga and I get that alot of people might not have the time to experience it fully but I'd say it's worth the read. It's like Naruto,you have to grow with it. Everyone remembers Naruto,right? It's not THAT good of a series but because we grew with him,he's like our childhood hero like Goku. Kenichi is somewhat the same as us. Plain old ordinary human. None of that chakra BS. Kenichi has to go through trials after trials that'll test his love for Miu and read more
Dec 19, 2016
ariffmontel (All reviews)
(minor spoiler alert)

this is a story about a boy who is constantly bullied, he learned martial arts from 5 masters after meeting miu, who is also his love interest. This is manga basically tells his story from being a zero to a hero in a 1 year period. this manga starts of well, but after a while, it becomes very dull and in my personal opinion, very childish, it had a lot of potential but my expectations crumbled halfway reading the manga, though i was hoping it to get better because read more
Jan 11, 2013
lostinthevoid (All reviews)
Preliminary
Short'n sweet folks. This is a hentai masquerading as a action manga. I didnt even think someone could write a piece of work with more fan service than Hiro Mashima. Which is an accomplishment in its own. And is the only accomplish of the series. 500+ chapters in and he has yet to surpass the woman he swears to protect. Someone whom has watches over him get his ass stomped by multiple people... people she is capable of beating, but lets him because he has something to prove.

Granted some of the Master's fights are hoss. Nothing else is memorable.
Sep 16, 2014
zombiexhead (All reviews)
This manga is example of that writing a review before reading complete manga is a bad idea. To me, this manga is great, but i have one problem with it , at the beginning it's very good and interesting but near the end it's just mediocre and boring.

This is a martial arts manga with a little bit of romance and comedy. The story is about Kenichi Shirahama - a teenage kid who learns martial arts and being inspired by Miu Furinji to become stronger and be able to protect her. The story plot is great but later from good martial arts manga it read more
Mar 6, 2012
reikix (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well, the story is kind of simple but still attractive, the protagonist of this series starts being a weak guy who's being bullied in school, to the point that he may even die there. He knows a girl there whose granpa is the leader of a dojo in which the gratest masters on history gather and later on they take the protagonist as a disciple.

This is not the usual manga where the hero is fighting and then for some memories of his past he goes berserk and destroy the enemy in a few seconds. In fact, something he learns is to never go berserk. He's read more
Jul 14, 2019
rulebladeraysawa (All reviews)
[ CONTAINS SPOILERS ]

I thought I would really like this title, if only because, despite the cliché shounen recipe, I felt really engaged with what was going on in the daily lives of the main cast. Despite everything coming together as expected, their strong personalities clashing, their struggles and buttheading, all felt really cool to tag along with. This is what really shines in the series: not a complicated plot with interesting twists, but the relationship they develop throughout the beatings and conflicts, as friends.

I do not think you'll feel like you've wasted your time after or while reading this. There's most definitely enough to read more
Jan 31, 2009
critic (All reviews)
Preliminary
A very entertaining manga with a good combination of character development, villains, as well as the background story of each of the characters.

The various styles of martial art were very well thought out or portrayed. The art is very much enjoyable, much better than its anime counter part(which failed miserably in expressing the same humor). Each villain has his/her own story, whether it's hardship or a sad past, made the manga all the more entertaining to read. The mentors of Kenichi however does not carry the aura and the necessary presence that masters should have. They are always relaxed and acting childish, which brings down read more
Jun 5, 2016
Allygaythor (All reviews)
Okay. If you like the typical loser gets beat up but learns martial arts to protect his love ones kind of manga this is the perfect manga for you. The art is really good and the characters they introduced - Kenichi Sensei's was really good each which has their own backstory being fleshed out a few chapters during the manga, one thing that really never get going ironically was the main character Kenichi story, I mean he grows stronger and more confidence and his abilities in martial arts did improve but he was never really developed as a character.

Overall , I really enjoyed the read more
Jan 21, 2018
HunTyson (All reviews)
Shijou Saikyou no Deshi Kenichi could have been easily a 9/10 for me, but sadly I had to give only 7/10.
We follow the story of Kenichi, who is a weakling at first but want to become stronger in order to be able to protect the people around him. Therefore there is a lot of training in his life. His masters make the training hell for him, but enjoyable for the readers. Kenichi eventually finds himself in dire situations, where he need to fight stronger and stronger opponents. So basically Kenichi's story is a generic shounen manga with a little humour in it. But what read more
Apr 27, 2011
regh2 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This manga has a very basic story, the protagonist merely wants the strength to protect everyone important to him. Now, the way that he is going towards making this a reality is the best part of this manga. Kenichi meets Miu, a martial artist. She introduces him to her dojo, where he meets her masters. All of the masters have a very different personality, making it full of lulz. If you read this manga, and you didn't laugh, you must be dead or have no soul. The art style is pretty awesome and I fully enjoyed reading this. Slight nudity, so if you can't take read more
May 29, 2013
serge512 (All reviews)
Preliminary
they only thing i can say about this manga is that i read 500 chapters in less than a week cause it is so good that i couldn't stop reading it. so yes just grab it a read it! you won't regret it at all! the art is so cool and mature. and the chracters all of them are great and have a cool roll in the manga.
Sep 7, 2014
Hakuryukou (All reviews)
Preliminary
Mightiest Disciple Kenichi is just one of those great mangas that once you start reading you can't stop. It basically consists of the main character, a loser, shirahama Kenichi (nicknamed=weak legs) wanting to become strong because he meets a girl he likes and wants to protect her aswell as wanting to enforce his own ideals (which are very manly ideals for someone as wimpy as him).

What stands out most is Kenichi's growth under the tutelage of insanely powerful masters that sadistically torture him nearly killing him every day to make him strong; his strongest talent is being able to get beaten up really well.

The humour read more
Oct 4, 2018
Yurido (All reviews)
Review in english( i make in portuguese and i just got the text and threw in the translator).
I fell in love with the manga but the reason I'm doing this review is that I need to describe somehow what I felt when I finished the manga, warning will have spoilers, for me the manga was mt good had two great scenes but I'll start by saying the things that do not I liked the manga first a small detail that I thought was a bit of a failure kenichi defeat kanou shou (I said it would have spoilers) and he was technically the strongest of read more
Feb 6, 2018
PharuanUndearth (All reviews)
This is an "old" manga, 15 this year, I believe the story has held up extremely well. Again this is like Breaker(a pre-Breaker by 5 years) a young boy who gets picked on, and whom gets stronger to defeat all(most) of his enemies, a very normal shonen style manga. Now spoilers.

~SPOILERS~

Other then that his crazy ass training, which made me giggle like a little girl. His meeting people who could've easily taken him out but for some reason chose to let him be, made me frustrated more than almost anything else, except for that turn around end fight(s), which by the way felt retarded and read more
Apr 23, 2018
DesolatePsyche (All reviews)
First things first. My "reviews" system is explained on a blog entry. Which can be found through my profile.
------

✦Story
Well, the usual battle shounen with ecchi jam and "wimpy" main guy. We get his growth, he will meet lot of new people as well his love interest. A lot of absolutely cool battles and superb fanservice. And all of that has also quite a satisfying humor.

I mean I seriously cannot complain much about this Manga. I felt story was absolutely blissful and straightforward with reasonable development and plot points. Our MC did grow up under hands of his overpowered masters with quirky traits. But for someone read more