Kanata no Astra
Astra Lost in Space
Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kanata no Astra

Alternative Titles

English: Astra Lost in Space
Japanese: 彼方のアストラ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 5
Chapters: 49
Status: Finished
Published: May 9, 2016 to Dec 30, 2017
Genres: ActionAction, Sci-FiSci-Fi, ShounenShounen, SpaceSpace
Authors: Shinohara, Kenta (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Jump+

Statistics

Score: 8.161 (scored by 28512,851 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #4442
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1443
Members: 7,301
Favorites: 224

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 1, 2019
PokestarFan (All reviews)
The story was great. Except, be warned. Around Volume 4, there are so many plot twists that you start to get kind of confused. But otherwise a really good manga.

Books 1-3 are pretty mild, they learn what happened, think about why they got "lost" in space, etc. But in Volume 4, they really start to discover stuff. Especially around the end of Volume 4 and the beginning of Volume 5, there is so much learned in such a short time that you might be confused. I would also recommend trying to read Volumes 4-5 right after each other to help with the confusion.
Mar 24, 2019
DenkiDestroy99X (All reviews)
Note: (Spoiler-Free-Review)
This Manga is not what it seems like. Its so much more!

Overall 10/10.
What i loved the most was the Type of Story Telling, which is very reminiscent of Manga Titles like Yakusoku no Neverland or Shingeki no Kyojin. What i mean by that is that the Story is told from the Perspective of Characters that have very limited knowledge about the Truth of the World, which hides Secrets that one would never have expected.

What seemed like a Space Slice of Life that raised a couple of seemingly unimportant Questions at the start, and continues to portray this image until halfway through the Manga with read more
Feb 15, 2018
gorongo (All reviews)
Looking for the journey of space which is exciting and pump up your adrenaline?
Then, Kanata no Astra is your answer.

Kanata no Astra has a unique way to show the enjoyment for those who read it without heavy atmosphere. They lost in space and must survive in it.
The author is really well-known with his long-running gag and touching series, Sket Dance. And I’m one of those people who is excited because he is comeback with new series. It ends in 5 volumes only, but it really is worth your time.
At first, I’m afraid to try, because I don’t really like space themes read more
Dec 30, 2017
BluePikmin11 (All reviews)
I came across this series right after consuming one of SJ’s recent series The Promised Neverland. A friend I know on Twitter recommended two titles to me, Kimetsu no Yaiba and Astra Lost in Space. The latter was the one he loved the most and he told me it was a more obscure SJ title that has yet to see deserved praise. Given my sense of empathy, I wanted to look into Astra Lost in Space first to see if I would love it as my friend.

I was highly impressed with the art and character design, immediately thinking about why this has become notable read more
Oct 18, 2017
DanoTheFano (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay wow, I don't know why no one has reviewed this manga yet, but I'll give it my best. Do realize that I am only on chapter 43 (which is the most recent chapter as of October 18th, 2017) so I might have to update my rating as more chapters are released. I'll try not to spoil anything, so my review will be pretty generic and non-specific just to avoid those small spoilers, but I'm only human so there will be tinise tiny spoilers ahead. I'll keep it small, but I won't be going over individual character traits or plot details, but other than that read more
Oct 25, 2017
Gimme_Apen (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you're looking for a space exploration manga with likable characters and awesome plot, This is the manga for you

Story = 10
I like how the story unfolds, it isn't slow nor was it too fast-paced but just about the right amount. It hardly have any filler since each chapter builds up the story, stacks nicely, and how it kept me wanting for more.

Art = 9
""The art compliments the story"

It's a tip top quality as you can get. From the ships detail, to the scenery of different Biome, and the food they eat. Great quality.

Character = 9
If the plot is the cream, then the characters read more
Feb 7, 2019
TheFutureIsAni1 (All reviews)
Astra Lost In Space is the first manga I pick to read from the new Shonen Jump app, I didn't truly know what to expect but it quickly become one my all time favorite manga stories.

Astra Lost in Space is perfect space adventure!! Lots of fun twists and turns!! I love how it actually felt like a space story, and centers on different planets and exportation and that survival is key, it was fast moving story with lots of cliffhanger moments, a really nice thriller too.

The characters really fit together, and it wasn't just other space read more
Jul 6, 2018
Flarzy (All reviews)
This space thriller about the survival of a group of students is sure to make you keep reading until the end!

The premise alone captures your atention, a sci-fi adventure with a bunch of highschool teenagers, where they have to manage survival by themselves. But as the story goes, a bunch of questions pop up, and by the end a huge development is unveiled, and it does a tremendous job setting up and capturing your desire to keep reading! The only problem with it, is that the pacing was so fast, lacking some more interactions between the crew.

The diverse cast had a great developement, the interactions read more
May 10, 2019
Exill (All reviews)
What a journey!

At first few chapters it is pretty much like a generic stranded drama story likeas cage of eden, let's lagoon, etc.

However after some build up, it turns out to be more than that.
The story is great. It is not by any mean something so original, but it is not so original plot is so well done. Not dragged out, but still managed to flesh out the character quite well by resolving their issues.
The story also discuss something that is controversial in this modern science, which made this manga is so good.
The message of those controversial topic is also conveyed really well by the read more
Sep 21, 2019
Firechick12012 (All reviews)
Science fiction is a genre that I've never really found myself gravitating to. Not for any reason or anything, but when I first started getting into anime and manga, no sci-fi stuff really appealed to me. I did watch Gundam 00 when it first came out, but it was filled with incomprehensible technobabble and a bunch of overconvoluted scenarios that made zero sense to me. But then again, I've always been picky about what I read or watch in general. One day, while I was scouring Anime News Network, I came across a review of the first three volumes of a manga called Astra: Lost read more