Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Shimanami Tasogare

Shimanami Tasogare

Alternative Titles

Japanese: しまなみ誰そ彼

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 4
Chapters: 23
Status: Finished
Published: Mar 6, 2015 to May 23, 2018
Authors: Kamatani, Yuhki (Story & Art)
Serialization: HiBaNa

Statistics

Score: 8.641 (scored by 4861 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #812
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #530
Members: 15,488
Favorites: 1,077

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 23, 2018
cosmicpasta (All reviews)
So, I started this manga today (5/23/18) because I saw it updated and thought “Why not I’ve been meaning to read this for a while,” not realizing that it was the final chapter updating. Now I’m writing this review in tears because I read the manga in one sitting.

A brief summary of what I enjoyed because I’m going to get long and personal after: Shimanami Tasogare is beautifully written with art that is gorgeous. The story is emotional, drawing you in, making you question how Tasuku will come to terms with his sexuality, showing personal issues LGBTQ people face, and leaves you in wonder read more
Jul 24, 2017
Kofuku-dono (All reviews)
Preliminary
Across the internet, I see a lot of LGBTQ+ anime fans desperately crying out for well-written representation. I'm here to point the big blinking neon sign to this beautiful gem of a manga.

To start, Shimanami Tasogare is a very real, raw telling of what it's like to be queer in Japan. It's authored by Yuhki Kamatani, a *nonbinary* mangaka-- which is incredible in of itself-- who is well-known for some of their previous work, particularly Nabari no Ou (which even itself had just a tad of nice representation). This beautiful piece is by and for the LGBTQ+ community, but I also highly recommend those outside read more
Sep 8, 2016
Gazettu (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is something unique. It's really hard to find something like this, precisely because there are hardly any mangas which deal with homosexuality in a realistic way. To be honest, this is the only one I found.
Because, as you know, being gay is not as simple as it is on yuri/yaoi mangas.
This is about how it feels being gay in the society, about how hard is the process of self-acceptance, about how hard is open with your parents and your friends, especially when your sexuality is not "normal". Also includes issues like bullying and homophobia.
The art is good, the characters are read more
May 30, 2019
Veronin (All reviews)
For most of the western world today, tolerance towards homosexuality is almost unquestionable, with gay marriage being written into law with nary a controversy. But for Japan, a country that has traditionally isolated itself from the rest of the globe, attitudes towards homosexuality are noticeably different. Though a 2017 NHK poll indicates that a majority of Japanese people are supportive of gay marriage, two years later even civil partnerships remain non-existent, and people remain heavily closeted in fear of standing out in a fiercely homogeneous culture.

It is important to keep this in mind while reading Shimanami no Tasogare. Those familiar with anime, manga, or read more
Jan 5, 2017
ramenraptor (All reviews)
Preliminary
A very honest, dramatic and engaging portrayal of LGBTQ characters from the perspective of a young boy coming to terms with his attraction to other men, meeting and starting engage with his small town's LGBT community and all the joy and pain this brings.

As an Asian lesbian and someone who is very involved in the LGBTQ community I've never related as much to characters in any other anime/manga or even Western media as much as these characters.

If you want a small but real glimpse into what life is like for LGBTQ people and who they are or you're an LGBTQ person looking to see read more
May 26, 2018
somaisbatman (All reviews)
I’ve said in past reviews that the general societal conservatism of Japan makes it a fool’s errand to seek out good LGBT representation in media. Well, this manga proved me wonderfully wrong.

Shimanami Tasogare is a slice of life drama, but interestingly enough, the first chapter is framed almost as a mystery with some supernatural elements. These elements quickly fade once our protagonist, a gay high schooler who’s deathly afraid of being outed, discovers a tucked-away community of LGBT people. They come in all walks of life, from an middle schooler questioning their gender identity to an elderly gay couple. This should be a generally read more
Jan 6, 2017
Takano28 (All reviews)
Preliminary


This manga is not just unique because it stars a homosexual character, but a provides a glimpse into exactly how this affects his life. While the popularity of Yuri and Yaoi mislead outsiders on Japan’s treatment of LGBT members, in reality Japan is a very conservative place to live. It reflects how our characters can feel betrayed by our friends and our families, how they don’t feel comfortable with expressing or even being themselves. How they can hurt others due to their lack of understanding. So many manga focuses on the theme of “being yourself”, however this manga points out that for many people they read more
Mar 20, 2018
abystoma2 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I do realize this is going to be more of a rant, but bear with me.

From time to time, I check top 100 manga to see what's new. And Shimanami Tasogare kind of appeared out of nowhere. The cover art looked nice, so I gave it a try without even reading the synopsis.

Boy was I dissapointed. But no, not because it turned out to be unexpected shounen ai (though not reflected in MAL genres), but because it failed to be interesting, even despite the quite high mean score. The story can be summed up by "gay protagonist meets other non-straight people and sometimes also read more
Jan 17, 2018
kimwonshik (All reviews)
Preliminary
Maybe I am a little biased here but this story holds a special place in my heart.

This is a story about high school student Tasuku Kaname and the people around him as a part of the LGBTQ+ community. As a bisexual Asian woman that is living in the more liberal part of the world, my head and heart hurts thinking about how to live in such an oppressive world like Japan. As a part of the LGBTQ+ community, I think almost everyone can feel themselves as Kaname himself when he sees the rejection from the world for being who he is. It hurts me when read more
Jun 28, 2017
skypiercer (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've been reading so many reality escaping manga that I can barely remember how it feels like to read a manga with meaning and purpose. It's been too long since I last read a manga that is more than just a manga. A manga that isn't just about the characters and the story but about the idea and symbolism behind the story and characters.

Personally speaking, I wouldn't say that this manga is realistic. Although it is more realistic than other manga, it still has the usual unrealistic story progression of a manga. I really wish they had base the story on real people instead of read more
Jun 13, 2017
ixaa (All reviews)
Preliminary
God, how do I describe Shimanami Tasogare? Should I call it a masterpiece? Or should I wait until there's more chapters to say that? Well, for now, I'll summarize it in a few words: extraordinarily amazing, and a MUST READ for LGBTQ+ people.

Truthfully, I do not even know where to begin with describing this manga, much less explaining on why it's so fascinating and revolutionary. I guess I will start with talking about the basis of the plot: Shimanami Tasogare is a slice-of-life/drama manga about a group of LGBT people who find themselves all hanging out in a lounge. The story revolves around a read more
Jun 11, 2017
hexaes (All reviews)
Preliminary
STORY: With only 13 chapters, it's hard to tell exactly how this story is going to turn out or really go in depth with the 'storyline'; there is an overarching narrative with little chunks of development in between - not bad by any means, but I do wish some more things... happened. However, it is still very good. A very accurate and nuanced portrayal of LGBT issues in Japanese society.

ART: A very pretty series; outstanding use of visual motif and symbolism - slotting in the artistic metaphors extremely naturally definitely adds to the appeal of the manga.

CHARACTER: Impeccable characters. There's a spread of different read more
Sep 8, 2017
sakuraxchi (All reviews)
Preliminary
This manga is so dear to me since it's realistic and the main character is too similar to me. The isuues that had been dealt, emotional phase of the characters and the social life has been portrayed so well. Each character has their own issues and each of them has been told just right, no exaggerating nor sugarcoating. Also about the art, it really is amazing and the metaphores that mangaka use are beautiful. It's not even close to your typical shounen-ai/shoujo-ai manga even though it has LGBT theme. I tried my best no to be biased but honestly you should give it a try. read more
Apr 17, 2018
combt (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hands down the best LGBT manga I've ever read. If you're a part of the LGBT community, chances are that you'll find yourself in here.

Written by the nonbinary (or Gender X, as it's known in Japan) mangaka, Yuuki Kamatani, it features a wider range of gender expression in its characters than I have seen anywhere else, all the way from the tame, pussyfooting nonconformity found in many of the shoujo greats to the straightforwardly trans narrative of Hourou Musuko. There are gays of every kind, for every age, trans and cis, masculine and feminine and neither and both, and an asexual, too. They all read more
Jun 7, 2019
lemozine (All reviews)
If you are looking for a story with realistic characters, and some good representation, read this manga. It is exactly that.
--
This if my first review. I just really need to put all the things this manga made me feel into words.
---
I love stories that give a nuanced and accurate representation of individuals in these communities, and Shimanami Tasogare definitely fits the bill. One of the things that really stood out to me was how each character had their own individual story and struggles revolving around read more