Onidere
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Onidere

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Noa-himesama no Tsugai-sagashi, Dragon Back, Mismatch!
Japanese: オニデレ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 11
Chapters: 143
Status: Finished
Published: Apr 2, 2008 to Feb 16, 2011
Genres: ComedyComedy, RomanceRomance, SchoolSchool, ShounenShounen
Authors: Crystal na Yousuke (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Sunday

Statistics

Score: 7.261 (scored by 39043,904 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #45932
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1363
Members: 9,179
Favorites: 94

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 2, 2010
Chai_ (All reviews)
Preliminary
_____THE PLOT_____
Ive read other romance, comedy, school type mangas and they end up being clichéd. They use the SAME old formula, having the sports day, christmas party, bake-sale, festival and field trip mini-arcs. Well, onidere is a bit different. It doesn't focus on those solely. Also, onidere has no classroom scenes. So its different. It basically centred on scenes outside the classroom e.g on the rooftop.

Most of the manga consists of mini-arcs which show:
How Saya and Tadashi deal with a certain situation
How 2 other specific characters interact with each other
The weird adventures of Saya, Tadashi and gang

The romance isn't the major part of the read more
Nov 19, 2009
Scrypt (All reviews)
Preliminary
After 16 chapters, I have to admit this would have to be the first manga I've had to put on my sh*t/dropped list

I've read a fair bit of manga in my life and whether it be for the plot of the story, or the artwork, I normally tend to keep reading to the very end regardless of genre but I just could not sit through and read this one.

It started out with the right elements to being a good read with the whole 'dorky guy dates yandere girl' setting....but after 5 chapters into it the humor become repetitive and after chapter 10 you realize there read more
Jan 14, 2014
Kapodaco (All reviews)
When reading about romance, readers expect to see romance; that much is obvious. When reading about comedy, readers expect to see comedy; that much is obvious. When these two genres combine into a single story, people expect it to be endearing, especially when the romance is between two younger people of society. With as much pressure as one is to withstand with this type of combination, it's a wonder why any writer would want to combat a monster such as this. Onidere is one of these monsters. Onidere is a manga that tries its best at combining a typical plotline with blueprint characters involved in read more
Jan 21, 2012
alidan (All reviews)
guy who is soft, girl who is delinquent, they date, its a secret, hijinks ensue... that sums the whole thing up.

story wise, don't look for anything substantial.
the art fits the story better than anything else they could have done
the characters, are interesting... they have some amount of depth and evolution considering this manga is presented in a step above 4 panel gag manga.

but my enjoyment of this manga hinges on the fast that i love go nowhere gag manga stories, so long as they aren't things like bobobo bobo bobobobo

if you can handle a story where there is no real story on a chapter to read more
Feb 29, 2012
Blackstar_aria (All reviews)
I am not one to rain on someone’s parade but….. this manga was God-awful. Yes I did finish it after dropping it a few times, but what an awful waste of time.
I will take it that you are familiar with the story, so what you see in the first few 5 chapters essentially repeats itself through the end. Not only did the characters show no growth, but they were completely one sided. I was trying to figure if maybe I don’t fall in the target audience but there were too many sexual innuendos and too many girl on girl references /suggestive activity for read more
Jan 3, 2010
basara (All reviews)
Preliminary
When I first read the chapter 00 oneshot, I thought it was really funny and that it had potential. That was 3 days ago. After that, I began reading the manga and without realizing it, I already caught up to chapter 86, today.

This by far is one of the best mangas I've read in a long time as the story just feels more fresh compared to similar in these genres. I mean, secret lovers, a delinquent with a mellow side, a more than unexpected student council (normal but weird in their own way) and the non-violent hero of the story. This manga has read more
Feb 27, 2010
cdexswzaq (All reviews)
Preliminary
Gather 'round, for I will tell you a story about a manga so horrible that it made kittens spontaneously combust out of horror.

I will spare you the reasons and give you the verdict right now, this absolute shit. I have never stumbled across anything quite like this. Reading this makes my stomach turn and my ancestors roll over in their graves.

The story is that the most timid guy imaginable has a secret relationship with the leader of the female gang of delinquents, and she therefore has to keep up her image which leads to supposedly comical situations. That's it in a nutshell.

The author is very read more
Sep 4, 2018
hexashadow13 (All reviews)
This manga has a decent plot and some solid characters, but it seems to get bogged down by a number of issues. The first is that there are a bunch of sub plots that don’t seem to advance things in any meaningful way. I suppose that the intention was that the comedy would be enough to support these, however the comedy starts getting somewhat repetitive as it goes on, so it isn’t enough. In addition, while I think the story of the main couple was quite good, with good character development and great relationship development, and the various things surrounding this relationship such as Saki read more