Niichan
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Niichan

Alternative Titles

Japanese: にいちゃん

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 1
Chapters: 6
Status: Finished
Published: Feb 22, 2014 to Feb 22, 2017
Genres: YaoiYaoi
Authors: Harada (Story & Art)
Serialization: Canna

Statistics

Score: 7.121 (scored by 21892,189 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: N/A2
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3365
Members: 3,767
Favorites: 83

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 11, 2016
QueenMurr (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you've never read Harada please do not start with this one.

Art: 10
Harada's art is great, it's simple but also really cute, just search her name on google and you'll see if her art fits your tastes, but personally I really like the style.

Story: 10
If you've never read Harada please just start with yatamomo or color recipe or even yoru to asa no uta, please just do not start with this. And also if you are very sensitive to pedophilia or rape then please don't.

Character:
It's a one shot so not much development, but I like how the MC took a different turn

Enjoyment: 9
Don't ask.
Mar 16, 2017
zetsushiki (All reviews)
As a huge BL fan, I have to admit that many BL mangas either fetishize gay men or portray an abusive/unhealthy relationship between men and make things like pedophilia seem cute when in reality, it isn't. However we should keep in mind that even though many authors create these things, these are all just fiction and a fantasy for their readers in the end.

This is one of the most original stories I've read in a BL manga. I would give this a 10 for sure, because it explores the true reality of pedophilia and shows how it affects each of the characters in read more
Jan 17, 2019
hotlinetohell (All reviews)
There are some mangas with debatable stories and dubious topics...and then there's Niichan. I'm writing this review as a sort of a vent for myself and a warning to people planning to read this abomination of a story.

So last night, I was reading some yaoi manga, as usual and I thought of giving this a try since Harada is a pretty good mangaka, the art looks stunning and ...then I saw the summary. "..a young boy in grade school who often goes to this Niichan's place" made me go "Hah! Surely, they wouldn't draw a sex scene with a grade schooler! That's freaking disgusting! read more
Jan 29, 2020
SammsF (All reviews)
If you're looking for a cute bl story, this clearly isn't for you. It is a heavy and shocking story, which usually makes you disgusted by some characters and moments, because it is a work that deals explicitly with pedophilia, trauma and the possible consequences of this. In addition, it also shows how people around and the family react to these cases or even homosexuality. As I said before, it is a great work, but I must say that you need to have a little stomach to read until the end, even if you feel a lot of disgust, and if you reached the end read more
Aug 9, 2019
RegalRascal (All reviews)
It's a very vile manga about child predators and grooming. It's a fairly good portayal of it, so it gets a good score.

It IS disgusting though. Don't expect a cute romance with a minor or ''uwu softness'' like you fujo weebs say. It is a tale of abus. And the abused not growing out of his love for his abuser.

Not sure if the author glamorizes it, but she kinda seem to. ''It's not disgusting, it's a different type of love'' or something like that is written in and said by another character. So I'm not sure,, but it's very likely.

Regardless, it is gross, disgusting and read more
Jan 5, 2021
mishotche (All reviews)
This manga isn't for someone who can't take extreme themes.
I give "Niichan" a 10 not because "I like yaoi". It would be so wrong and disgusting and I myself think that what's happening in the manga is not all right. The story gave me chills and I felt fear but I was still hooked. It definitely shows what happens often in real life but is hidden in the shadows.

I'm a big fan of Harada's work because of how extreme the stories are, making you sick, making you feel like you shouldn't be reading it but because of how unique and interesting it is, you keep read more
Sep 27, 2020
maruune (All reviews)
This really does bring light to the situation of pedophilia, even though I do think that the detailed scenes were very problematic. I won't lie, this helped me realize that I was groomed online in the past.

There's not much I'm going to get into, but I do think that this is a manga that I shouldn't have read. The art was amazing, the story was so hurtfully truthful, the character's emotions were great as well. I just really don't like that this was a hentai manga to be honest. I hate stuff that goes into detail about children...

To think that some people got off to read more
Feb 6, 2019
squealylime (All reviews)
you're looking for a cute BL to read, Nii-chan is NOT for you. Nii-chan is a hard read, a brain food kind of manga, not a cute romance. The author, Harada, gives you a character from one of, if not the worst demographic of people you can imagine, pedophiles, and essentially explains why he is the way he is and how he is still a human being. Harada shows us all the emotions this character goes through, mostly guilt, loneliness and disgust at himself. The themes in Nii-chan are, to name the ones I caught on to:
*How everyone is human and does things for read more