Happy Sugar Life
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Happy Sugar Life

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: White Sugar Garden, Black Salt Cage
Japanese: ハッピーシュガーライフ
English: Happy Sugar Life
More titles

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 10
Chapters: 53
Status: Finished
Published: May 22, 2015 to Jun 22, 2019
Genres: Drama Drama, Horror Horror
Theme: Psychological Psychological
Demographic: Shounen Shounen
Serialization: Gangan Joker
Authors: Kagisora, Tomiyaki (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 7.241 (scored by 61056,105 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #46842
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #755
Members: 18,043
Favorites: 462

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 23, 2019
Ainosora (All reviews)
Well it's finally over, Happy Sugar Life was quite a ride. A story of a love the world would never accept, and doing anything to protect that love.

The story was very well done, particularly the unique writing style for character's feelings and actions which leads to the absolute best part of the manga in my personal opinion (though it would still be nothing without the story). I'll get to that next.

The art is nothing short of spectacular, memorable, aesthetic, the greatest manga art I personally have ever seen. The character's emotions and feelings are put on display so perfectly that you can feel a read more
Oct 15, 2020
NotCat (All reviews)
‘I love you. I hate you. I like you. I hate you. I love you. I think you are stupid. I think you are a loser. I think you are wonderful. I want to be with you. I do not want to be with you. I would never date you. I hate you. I love you…..I think the madness started the moment we met and you shook my hand.’

Each and every one of you should have their own interpretation of love, because of the feelings we associate with it. That is why the interpretation may be different. Although, we all are convinced that only our read more
Mar 1, 2018
Mally27 (All reviews)
Preliminary
The reason I began reading into the Ane-loli manga line was because I had read Yuzomori-san and craved for more stories involving an older girl and a much younger one, as psychological manga is my favorite. Throughout reading Happy Sugar Life, I have encountered all of these things: murder, manipulation, cruelty, sociopaths, pedophilia???, obsession, abduction, domestic abuse, nudity, beautiful art, and almost a sort of sympathy for our main character Satou.

The reason I love this manga so much is because it is incredibly unique to it's kind. The story development and characters are not lazy in the slightest. You will find yourself rooting for read more
Aug 15, 2020
keitaichi (All reviews)
If you read the manga, it is a weird experience. I finished reading 10 volumes in just two days. What does that mean? The story is engaging but it is super LIGHTWEIGHT reading for something that is "heavy": kidnapping, psychopathy, pedophilia, murder.

The drawing is like a shoujo manga drawing, lots of inner dialogues, lots of big panels, and all those make reading super fast. Each volumes are not dense with information, mostly just about how the characters are feeling and talking to themselves in their head, trying to make readers understand about what's going on with the characters.

The female MC is a badass, she read more
Nov 23, 2017
SovietWeeb (All reviews)
Preliminary
The fuck did i just read ? I literally just came from a Yuri manga that's all nice sweet and innocent and i see in the suggested feed Happy Sugar Life. I read the description and thought that it sounded nice and adorable. Then within the first chapter i'm just repeat " What the fuck ?" Over and over.

While it isn't really bad, It's not great either. I feel that this suffers from the fact that the MC isn't likable as soon as you find out she kidnapped a missing child ( Family is searching for ) Then she also goes and straight up murders read more
Apr 6, 2018
SanaeK10 (All reviews)
Preliminary
[A/N: This review is for an ongoing series and will cover up to Chapter 37 of the manga.]

Happy Sugar Life is a cute and sweet yuri manga series revolving around the relationship of Satou and Shio.

Happy Sugar Life is also a psychological thriller, also revolving around the relationship of Satou and Shio. It does one aspect much better than the other, which we’ll go into detail later. Join me as we look through this manga which attempts to combine two disparate genres together.

Happy Sugar Life mainly focuses on the cute yuri between the two main characters Satou and Shio. Satou’s character is really interesting read more
Nov 21, 2018
Kagegura (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's just as bad as the anime it comes with. This time I was actually ok with it because my hatred for people who praised the series has finally passed. I read the manga, and my opinion had not really changed.

Story: It had many plot holes, and was a general crash fire. So this yandere girl, Satou finds/kidnaps a young girl, Shio. If you dive deeper into the story, you find out that Satou is completely deranged, killing people and harming them just to have her "lover" to herself. Shio is under 10 I presume, so so far it seemed like yuri trash. To explain read more
Aug 27, 2021
LittleWuke (All reviews)
It is certainly one of the "WTF did I just read" moments when I finally finished this manga. I don't even know where to begin with.
Ok as it's manga we are usually tolerant when characters' psychology and behavior go wild, but they must do so in a believable way to be relatable, and that's where I think the artists failed. Main characters conveniently become stereotypical yandere, stalker or straight-out lolicon for reasons don't make sense at all. Characters talk and act in their most ridiculous way to add more and more drama, when everyone is doing so the work just goes all over the place. read more
Mar 25, 2019
CloudeKr (All reviews)
Preliminary
Happy Sugar Life is very unique. It's a story that romanticises the development of the relationship between 2 broken girls. Normally, coming of age stories talk about how characters grow out of their own flaws of youth. Well this one's a bit tricky because the flaws are that one girl is a murderous psychopath and the other has had a terrible childhood. If you can accept this outrageous context, you'll find HSL very rich in story and character depth and quite similar in tone to other coming of age tales. Chapter by chapter, the heroines learn something more about themselves, or come to the conclusion read more