Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon
Sailor Moon
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon

Alternative Titles

English: Sailor Moon
Synonyms: Pretty Soldier Sailor Moon, Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon
Japanese: 美少女戦士セーラームーン

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 18
Chapters: 61
Status: Finished
Published: Dec 28, 1991 to Feb 3, 1997
Genres: Drama Drama, Fantasy Fantasy, Romance Romance
Demographic: Shoujo Shoujo
Serialization: Nakayoshi
Authors: Takeuchi, Naoko (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 8.201 (scored by 2043720,437 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #3782
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #264
Members: 44,025
Favorites: 3,908

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 28, 2008
bitsypookums24 (All reviews)
This is where the whole phenomenon started, and it won't disappoint. More direct than the anime (okay 90% of the anime is filler/ bad guy of the week) and more serious, the story line is still the same, with some new characters and transformations thrown in. Some of the main characters (specifically Mars) are very different from their anime counterparts (I actually liked Usagi more than I wanted to strangle her!). A little less childish than the anime (but not that that's a bad thing), for any Moonie, it's a treat.
Jan 29, 2008
coop52 (All reviews)
Story: The Sailor Moon series (dubbed) is what got me into anime and manga. Fans of the anime or of shoujo in general would love this series. The story spans over 17 of the 18 volumes in 5 arcs (one of the volumes is filler). The manga story often deviates from its anime counterpart, often taking a darker turn. However, the manga still has plenty of comedy, especially in the Exam Battle Chapters. Fans of romance would enjoy the story as well. I gave the story a 10 because I found it epic, classic shoujo.

Art: The artwork is great. I really love the trademark read more
Mar 19, 2013
Nibel (All reviews)
Just like many people,I have a special bond with Sailor Moon considering it was the very first anime I was exposed to at the tender age of 3.I might not have many clear memories of that time but it did make an impact on me.Of course after than time it has been broadcasted on TV here again and again,though not always making it to the last episode.I've always loved this,I'd wake up at 6 in the morning just to watch it every time.
So for my love about Sailor Moon I feel it is my duty to write a review for the anime or the manga.I read more
Oct 24, 2009
Galactic_Kitten (All reviews)
As with many others, Sailor Moon was the first anime I watched. At first, there was the horrible, horrible dubbed version. The real version is MUCH better, but nothing compared to the manga.

Unlike the anime, the manga arcs all flow into each other amazingly well. For example, Sailor Moon and the others get their power ups at the end of each arc, through much better means than in the anime. The manga is darker, but not without humour, and tells a much deeper and better story. Most notably is SuperS. The anime turned this into a cheesy, fluffy story, where in the manga it read more
Apr 24, 2020
Jinjun (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you're like me and absolutely loved 90's Sailor Moon anime, please, stay away from this manga. Everything interesting in the anime simply doesn't exist here.
Sailor Moon is the typical magical girl story you've seen before: a girl gets power and fights evil to save the world, but that's basically it. Every arc plot is almost the same, repeating the same formula for 61 chapters, making you sick and tired of the story very quickly. Also, the character development is non-existent. Appart from the annoying cry-baby Usagi Tsukino, we don't get to known the others characters personalities at all.
And last but not last, the art read more
May 25, 2008
RICEA42991 (All reviews)
Whoever loved the Sailor Moon anime, would love reading it's manga. So much detail and backstories were left out in the original anime that it's shocking for anyone that is only familiar with the anime storyline.

The Classic first season plot in the manga had none of the yaoi present, and there was much more to enemies backgrounds.

S Season- Haruka is shown as more then just being the manly girl she was seen as in the original anime. The manga's plot in S was also much darker and traumatic.

SuperS Arc- Probably a favorite of mine in the manga. While still centering on Chibi-Usa(Rini), it has read more
May 16, 2008
Nayoko-Kihara (All reviews)
I first watched the dubbed anime when I was little, and it along with Speed Racer is what got me into anime in the first place. Sailor Moon holds a special little spot in my heart because of that, it was the first anime show I couldn't get enough of.

Starting a few days ago I decided that I would read the manga, and I just recently finished all of it, and it was wonderful, but it seemed rather rushed. Each villian went down so quickly, and each story arc ended rather fast. I prefer the anime to the manga because of this. When I watched read more
Jan 31, 2009
Eclipsa (All reviews)
Sailor Moon was one of my first animes ever. When I was younger I loved the show so when I saw the manga when I was, I think 13 or so, I knew I had to get them. I love this series and I suggest it to anyone who remotely like the anime. The manga series is more like the original Sailor Moon series, NOT the dubbed version (which imo is pretty awful). Also, if you are like me and get emotional over books then be prepared for a fun emotional ride. The series spans from the beginnings of Sailor Moon to the end of read more
Jan 23, 2014
RisingRah (All reviews)
I have to say, when I first think of Sailor Moon, I flashback to the anime episode where Sailor Moon, Sailor Mercury, and Sailor Mars are fighting Jedite at the airport. That was when I was 5 and saying "Moon Prism Power" like it was a mantra. Now, as a college graduate, I have the honor of re-reading the manga that inspired me to have a manga collection (300+ and counting!). So yes, I love this manga.

I think it's hard to describe Sailor Moon as the typical shojo manga because it is THE shojo manga. It's hard to find one nowadays that isn't inspired by read more
Feb 14, 2021
Curiouswanderer (All reviews)
Preliminary
Right so I decided to try out reading Sailor Moon after being dissatisfied with “Sailor V” in my mid 20s because basically, i didn’t grow up with it much from childhood nor have I ever attempted to watch the tv series (nor watch the new version) .I only read it in a GirlTalk magazine once and that was it.

Anyways as much as I hate to admit it but the story was rather off and cheesy. It’s pretty much exactly like Sailor V but it’s more detailed. I did like the scenes with Usagi and Tuexdo man, although it was rather odd that they straight read more
Jan 10, 2018
elchibi (All reviews)
I knew Sailor Moon from the anime first as at the time I didn't know it was from a manga (in the 90's when I didn't have a computer and I was a kid).

I read through all of it after re-watching it and I still love it!
Story: Usagi discovers she is a Sailor guardian and from there, with the crew she gathered, she has to fight the evil organisations that try to take the Earth and ruin it with her magical powers!
I think the plot is good, there is hope, despair, love (all types!), peace and food and fashion, with some fights which is all read more
May 22, 2016
cakewizard_Chan (All reviews)
This manga is filled with romance and adventure that you will love. I absolutley loved this series, it made me feel happiness, sadness and love. I especially enjoyed this manga because the art was just fantastic. The artist put in alot of detail and you can really tell what's happening. What confused me was the endings, the ending sometimes messed me up because the storyline changed a bit or they appeared somewhere that they weren't before. The love scenes were stunning and heart warming.

The storyline was very intresting and it pulled me in, with the adventure that Sailor Moon and her scouts went on read more
Feb 26, 2018
Haileyhaha9 (All reviews)
I LOVE sailor moon. I got interested in manga through tamadashi horoka (sorry can’t spell) there is amazing character development and no point in the series where you want to stop reading. Sailor moon has a full story from start to finish, and leaves you with the sense that there is much more to this universe. Sailor moon is heartfelt and wrenching with every second being an amazing experience. Sailor moon is an inspiration for everyone. Sailor moon is an ever expanding universe and will never age that is why I love it. Sailor Moon is my favorite manga for the reasons above. In conclusion read more
Nov 21, 2017
moonkingdomify (All reviews)
The anime was a part of my childhood and the manga became serialized for a second time when I was in Highschool. This is one of the few manga series that I own in its entirety, though I still can't call it my favorite series, even if we're just taking the graphic novel medium into consideration. That's because there are many flaws with this series that become very relevant the more times you read it, which makes it so that it's not the best series to re-read, at least not for me. But I'm here to write a short review of the series and I read more
Jul 28, 2017
YdYdLmDn (All reviews)
The world of Pretty Soldier: Sailor Moon is one to best delve into via the form of its original manga, in my opinion. There is something so special about the manga, a feeling I can't really replicate perfectly in words. When I started reading it, I really had to slow down because I felt that there was something here that needed to be deeply appreciated about the finished work I was holding. What I'm trying to get at here is that Sailor Moon feels like a work that its creator, Naoko Takeuchi, put her entire heart into. Each character feels so special, like she put read more
Nov 21, 2019
mouthpiece (All reviews)
ENJOYMENT SECTION: 8/10
Ah, good ol’ pretty sailor warriors! Despite being the series most other mahou shoujo copied thereafter, it remains in the tops because very few managed to have its variety and vividness. Plus, I like it too.

ART SECTION: 7/10 [Bishoujos in Sailor Suits.]

Following the trend, the artwork is extremely shoujo, that means very breezy sketches and loose borders between frames. It looks very amateurish in the first part but along the way it improves considerably and towards the end it now looks splendid. You just have to get used to the idea that the plot is driven by dialogue and mostly cinematics, rather motion read more
Mar 5, 2021
UveVauliett (All reviews)
Preliminary
Abajo está la review en inglés/below is the review in English

[Español]
el manga de sailor moon soluciona los dos principales problemas del anime (el 69.9% de la serie que correspondería al relleno, y algunas incoherencias provocadas por los mismos episodios). El manga de sailor moon me encanta, el dibujo de naoko takeuchi es muy llevadero, la historia (aunque simple) es atrapante, los personajes son carismáticos y los antagonistas están bien planteados.
Un plus extra: tiene a Tuxedo Mask, y con eso, ya es el mejor maho shoujo (Ok no)
[English]
The sailor moon manga solves the two main problems of the anime (69.9% of the series that would read more