Kyochuu Rettou
The Island of Giant Insects
Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kyochuu Rettou

Alternative Titles

English: The Island of Giant Insects
Japanese: 巨蟲列島

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 6
Chapters: 24
Status: Finished
Published: Oct 21, 2014 to Mar 28, 2019
Genres: HorrorHorror
Authors: Hirose, Shuu (Art), Fujimi, Yasutaka (Story), REDICE (Art)
Serialization: Champion Cross

Statistics

Score: 5.711 (scored by 12181,218 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #144712
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2983
Members: 3,645
Favorites: 15

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 11, 2016
rateups (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you're looking for a horror manga with nice art and gore, you might enjoy this manga. If you're looking for a horror manga with decently written characters along with nice art and gore, pass this one over. THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS AND MENTIONS OF RAPE/SEXUAL ASSAULT, so don't read the rest if you want to avoid those.

The premise isn't anything unique (and its certainly not fleshed out beyond 'avoid the killer giant insects') but it's enjoyable for what it is, and its evident at least some research went into the various species included which is nice. The art is nicely done and there's an read more
Jun 24, 2019
murut87 (All reviews)
Oh boy, here we go again.
This time, instead of Zombies, we got bugs.

Yep, bugs kills people. And a very huge one.
Of course we got a load of girls and some guys. And a lot of... uh... fanservice, like borderline hentai.

The story is kinda ok, its about MC who stranded into an island, also a survivor from plane crash, finding survivors, get out of island... right?
From the point of whole manga series, the biggest, biggest weakness is Character.

As I mention, I don`t even like character a lot. We got a MC which knows a lot of bugs behavior, yadayadayada, I know everything type character, she is read more
Jan 10, 2016
EmeraldFox11 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Im a big fan o survival anime horror and I gotta say I was not disappointed with this manga. One I would recomnd in a BIG way for anyon loking to read something strange and out of th ordinary straight out of there favourite b movie style manga.

What I liked most about this manga was the way that this keot you on the edge of your seat surprise wise. One minute you think the charecters are safe the next... well youll just have to wait and see for yourself. As a lover of b movie's Ive got to read more
Feb 28, 2016
fortendog (All reviews)
Preliminary
Oribe Mutsumi and her classmates were stranded on a seemingly deserted island. Mutsumi found the other survivors, and used her wilderness knowledge to help them.

She expects that they will be rescued in about three days, which doesn't seem so long to endure. However, she didn't account for the fact that the island is populated with gigantic killer insects. Her knowledge of butterflies, wasps, and more may be the only thing that will help any of her classmates survive to be rescued!

-----
The manga sets you into a jungle of large insects and a team of people whose heads are messed up.

The characters are horrible read more
Feb 14, 2020
Gwennyth (All reviews)
I usually have never felt compelled to write up a formal review in my life. Never has something so forced me to tears for better or for worse to want to tell the entire world whether to avoid or seek out something. But Kyochuu Rettou is truly one of the most foul things ever put onto paper that my poor eyes have had to bear witness to in a long time.

The story is from decades past of B movies = X scenario BUT giant bugs appear, how wacky! Just to be clear, I do not hate this setting. The giant bug section of fiction read more
Aug 7, 2018
orochi02 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Oh boy, where do I even begin?

The heroine can memorize pretty much everything and the whole cast of characters are stereotypical and superficial. But for real though, the heroine of the story is just such a garbage mc who knows everything and barrages us with explanations noone gives a shit about. While I do not particularly despise explanations, this one is on the bad side of explanations.

The premise of the story isn't original but not too bad, but the way how everything has been set in motion feels just so forced because the characters jump from one tense moment to another.

The action is fine enough read more
May 9, 2019
Joel-Baxter (All reviews)
Preliminary
The best way to describe this manga would be that it is a dumpster fire that you can't look away from.

The art itself is good looking and I enjoyed reading through it although some characters and moments are just frustrating and annoying. It's very explicit in the way that it shows sex(there is a ton of it) in general which includes rape and then the killing stuff. All the characters are pretty much cliche archetypes aka the overly smart girl, the asshole etc. The story is atrocious and the characters are terrible yet I found myself enjoying it mainly because of how absurd the story read more