Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Rengoku no Karma

Rengoku no Karma

Alternative Titles

English: Karma of Purgatory
Japanese: 煉獄のカルマ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 5
Chapters: 40
Status: Finished
Published: Oct 22, 2014 to Aug 20, 2015
Authors: Haruba, Negi (Art), Hirose, Shun (Story)

Statistics

Score: 6.941 (scored by 1200 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #104482
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2258
Members: 4,476
Favorites: 27

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 8, 2015
MangaGreat (All reviews)
Preliminary
What an interesting manga.

I’ve read a lot of manga that deals with revenge and bullying. Needless to say, suicide is a frequently discussed topic within those manga. However, it’s rare to see a manga that delves into the effects of a suicide on a victim’s surroundings.

Rengoku no Karma does exactly that. It actually shows a suicide, but then it goes on to show the unexpected consequences of that suicide in relation to those around the victim.

The manga deals with the subject decently enough, though at times it doesn’t explain things thoroughly. For example, why does the manga specifically say six people are affected? I had read more
May 10, 2017
bizarrequazar (All reviews)
Preliminary
Suicide is a topic that, while included in narrative quite often, is not often the focus. Those few times when it is, more often than not, the story follows the character in the events leading up to their suicide rather than what happens to the character after. And honestly, most of the time when the focus IS on what happens after the suicide, it is not well done. This is one of those cases.

To be fair, this manga is actually quite interesting. The events that the protagonist goes through in his own little Purgatory are surprising and at times exciting and it does a read more
Aug 16, 2018
GrayRealm (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is without a doubt, one of the worst mangas I've ever read.

The art is good, as in the artist is skilled, but the're so much over the top abuse, over the top villanous characters, deus ex machinas, and diabolus ex machinas, so it is intolerably bad.

Mind you I'm quite picky when it comes to manga, so that shows, but this is simply appalingly bad.

Breakdown: 1/10 story, 5/10 art, 1/10 character, 1/10 enjoyment 1/10 overall.

The story is about horrific over the top bulling that goes above and beyound any reason and makes you wonder whether the hell any adults are in thsi situation. The read more
Nov 14, 2018
tenjodan (All reviews)
Preliminary
Tragedy stories are by nature hit or miss, but even in tragedy stories there is characters that you end up liking and characters that are actually definable or understandable.. in this, there is no such thing. There are zero likeable characters and the ones you think you might like you don't know what they're thinking- not because they are good at hiding it but because their character is inconsistent.

The lack of decent characters ties into my main problem with my story.. there is no reprieve. Stories fall into three categories, captivating, enjoyable or a hybrid of the two. Captivating stories are those that are read more
Apr 18, 2019
Whomwasfone (All reviews)
Preliminary
[This review concerns only the first arc of the story as I dropped it after that.]

Rengoku no Karma is a manga with a somewhat thought provoking premise that ends up being terribly bungled by an author that seems to lack the writing skill to tastefully approach the subject matter. The story is hamfisted, laughably over-the-top and, to top it off, extremely pretentious in the way it's told. It all culminates with a "fake deep" ending that not only left me feeling bad, but also made me wonder what the point of even telling the story was, other than to cash in on edgy imagery and read more
Apr 23, 2019
SMKurosawa (All reviews)
Rengoku no Karma is not a manga for everybody. It deals with the heavy topic of suicide and depression, and acts as a warning against committing suicide.

It's a very sad story, and given the premise of infinitely looping to save people, you'll see quite a few people end up in bad ends, all thanks to the main character committing suicide.
This story is great. The High Schooler arc is almost perfect, aside from one small detail I'll save for later.

Now, you may have just noticed I called it an arc. Well, that is because there is a followup to it, covering what I presume to read more