Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Happiness

Happiness

Alternative Titles

English: Happiness
Japanese: ハピネス

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 10
Chapters: 50
Status: Finished
Published: Feb 9, 2015 to Mar 9, 2019
Authors: Oshimi, Shuuzou (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 7.331 (scored by 7656 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #56142
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #375
Members: 22,149
Favorites: 359

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 28, 2016
Satoshi- (All reviews)
Preliminary
Happiness is a horror manga, tackles the subject of vampires and psychological in a master way. Initially in a school setting the characters are realistic, they act like normal students in front of the dangers and have their own personalities, wills, ways of acting, without being cliché.

The story follows Okazaki, a young man who accidentally turns into a vampire, a shower of tragedy falls in this manga in almost every chapter, with cliff hangers taking your breath away and making you marathon several chapters in a row without even wanting to. Read at your own risk, all the characters who enter the story are ready read more
Apr 9, 2019
chrissy_poo_too (All reviews)
Happiness' first few volumes are great; Aku no Hana with vampires, what's not to like? Unfortunately, things spiral out of control pretty quickly, as this spooky Let the Right One In-esque romance-horror becomes a Tokyo Ghoul/Ajin wannabe around chapter 15 or so. We're left with 35 chapters of shady government agencies, cultists, a villain straight out of a Dean Koontz bargain bin book, two semi-interesting characters getting sidelined for what feels like forever, one uninteresting character getting mutilated for what feels like forever, and time skips. Lots and lots of time skips.

It's all so...typical. A damn shame considering the manga's early promise and the read more
Nov 3, 2015
mochakawaiibear (All reviews)
Preliminary
Happiness. Vampires.

Let's start with the plot. This story and MC are not very original at all. Young timid boy in a town where there are monsters (vampires) come out at night and kill people. The boy meets a girl who's not really interested in anyone but him and boom. Turns out she's a vampire
But with that said its still entertaining and keeps you on edge
(9chaps in the plots score may change with time)

Art: the art for this manga is about average, maybe slightly above nothing you haven't seen. Has a realistic touch to it.

Character: MC is the typical shy,timid,frail guy. Hasn't been read more
Mar 11, 2019
Mywifesson (All reviews)
What we have here is a stylistic version of a trite plotline of monsters vs humans and the questions of good and evil. To me though this is the problem, the story was never interesting enough that there was a payoff. The whole thing was luke warm providing plot points that didn't escalate tensions, there were repeated moments where out comes were just erased in order to preserve certain characters. Miraculous victories for the MC and his group of friends for no reason.

I had this problem with Aku no Hana as well where I felt like the author doesn't understand human emotion, perhaps read more
May 18, 2016
SaxyGeek (All reviews)
Preliminary
This a fairly new manga, and at the time of reviewing, it is only 16 chapters in.

Warning: there may be slight general setting spoilers for the first 16 chapters.

If this manga keeps going on its current path, it could be a truly great piece of work, one that I have waiting for years to finally happen. The setup is extremely promising, and has my extremely excited to see where it goes.

I'm going to start by saying that this seems to be rather shallowly tagged and summarized. It's about as Shounen as Ajin and Tokyo Ghoul are, which is to say, not at all. They are read more
Jun 24, 2019
Vanson (All reviews)
Happiness was what i would consider the pinnacle of good manga. It had a story that was short,sweet, and most of all pack with content. Each chapter asked as many questions as it answered and left me with a vague sense of wonder. To put it simply, it was an incredible experience.

Warning: very minor spoilers

Story 7/10 : I felt that the story was quite short featuring few real conflicts. However, it was great seeing the world develop as you slowly see the world become affected by the main character. You see the world shift due to their actions and how the world bites (heh) back. read more
Oct 23, 2016
xXShuyaXx (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a review counting 21 Chapters.

Warning, minor profanity included.

I have read Aku no Hana and I remember being entranced by the story like it haunted me in a way. It had a captivating drive that I could not understand.

With Happiness, it's less, but that captivating essence is still there.

There is no central plot or story. There is no final goal, there is no happy ending. This is a story where different characters collide and shit goes to hell. There is no good or evil, there is no 'hero' and there is no 'villain'. There is no superhero.
Everyone just lives theirs lives as like anyone read more
Nov 3, 2017
jmsxjrdn (All reviews)
Preliminary
Here's my take after reading 33 chapters of the psychological vampire drama Hapiness by Shuuzou Oshimi.

The story is about the timorous high-schooler Makoto Okazaki who's the favorite target of the school bullies until one fateful day when he was bitten by the "vampire" Nora whom uncharacteristically left him to decide his fate; "living" or dying.

Nowadays, every media is saturated with vampires and it already reach to a point that people got tired of the concept. However, you should not let that turn you down with Happiness.

My first impression on reading this was "It feels similar to Tokyo Ghoul."; however, reading further, Happiness is no read more
Oct 23, 2018
Zedlin (All reviews)
Preliminary
“Don’t ever... Leave me alone... Promise me... Let’s just run man... Let’s go where ever the fucking wind takes us...” -The Bipolar Yuki.

A heads up before I start as you can tell by the first quote this manga is definitely nsfw so be weary about that. Another small note is I do hint at stuff that happens in the manga quite a bit so be cautious.

Hapiness isn’t the right term to describe this gore fest. Just like the quote the author of this really did whatever he wanted to make you feel pain or just be disgusted. A better term for this manga is Dispair. read more
May 3, 2017
TheDarksider (All reviews)
Preliminary
At the time I'm writing this review, I've already read 27 chapters.

Despite being quite generic at the start, this manga isn't like you average "vampire-like creature living amongst humans" shounen. Yes, the protagonist is a shy student not so sociable that turns into a supernatural creature. Probably you've seen this a lot. But this manga drives to something different. It's more about interactions and relations between characters than fighting or gore, like others from the genre.

"Happiness" is something that the characters don't have, for they are on fucked up situations. And this is good, since give us a feeling of danger and fear. Anyone can read more
Nov 12, 2017
AfroAnime (All reviews)
Preliminary
Over the years the idea of the vampire has been muddled. Through the Twilight series and multiple cheesy to bad films such as Dracula Untold, vampires have grown out of style and lost the sort of magical and tragic mythos that used to surround the monsters of the night. Enter this series, simply called Happiness that delivers on what has the potential of being one of the greatest works of vampire fiction since Anne Rice's vampires series.

Story: 9

The only reason I cannot give this a perfect is because it is still a series with potential, but it has no direct plot yet. Throughout the read more
Feb 23, 2017
leonebula (All reviews)
Preliminary
if you already liked Oshimi Shuzo hstuff like Aku no Hana and Boku wa mari no naka, you should read this one too.

since its a Vampire typical manga, I was really didnt look at this one, untill more chapter I read, it proves me wrong. Oshimi Shuzo-san really break a boring Vampire manga in his way.
Background and terrain its not Oshimi Shuzo type, the manga itself is all dark and full of shadiness, really suits for the story, and the character progression is the one that made my expectations wrong too. this is a decent manga, and the one that really should make an anime read more
Dec 3, 2019
Rhllor111 (All reviews)
Happiness is a manga that follows a high school boy by the name of Makoto Okazaki, someone everyone walks all over and takes advantage of, but that soon changes when his whole world is shook as he gets bitten by a vampire and becomes a bloodsucking creature of the night. Soon a secret government agency comes snooping after the bodies of the innocent keep pilling up, and a psychopathic murderer emerges from the shadows with sinister intentions of his own and the question of how Makoto deals with all of it poses itself, but not only that, it will also affect the lives of his read more