Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

I''s

I''s

Alternative Titles

English: I''s
Synonyms: I"s, I's, Aizu, Is
Japanese: アイズ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 15
Chapters: 143
Status: Finished
Published: Apr 8, 1997 to May 16, 2000
Authors: Katsura, Masakazu (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Jump (Weekly)

Statistics

Score: 7.821 (scored by 9045 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #15962
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #426
Members: 18,172
Favorites: 876

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 17, 2007
Master10K (All reviews)
I’s Pure is a Shounen, Ecchi, Romance about a boy named Seto Ichitaka, who has had huge crush on a cute girl in his class, Yoshizuki Iori. This may be the setting for a typical Romantic Comedy but I’s Pure is able to do great things with this plot.

The story starts of normally enough with us getting to know the characters and their typical personalities, but even with these typical personalities the characters are pretty amazingly developed in their own way, through so many situations. But due to its shounen traits, the romantic progression is rather slow (indecisive male protagonist) but the various developments that read more
Jun 23, 2008
andra (All reviews)
STORY : I can say that the story may be a bit unappealing just because it's a very normal,ordinary story.It's just about a boy that falls in love with a girl,they're school life,the way their relationship develops.Nothing out of the ordinary.However that doesn't mean the story isn't good!Not at all!There are even some scene that are so well made that they make your heart race XD I can't give more details,but you'll realize what I'm talking about when you read the manga.During the whole "reading process"(^_^) I realized one thing for sure : the author has true tallent when it comes to describing people's feelings read more
Oct 17, 2008
Shadow1798 (All reviews)
I"s is everything wrong with shonen romance manga. Everything.

The pacing is nothing short of brutal. Really, after a while, you get the feeling you're on a treadmill and not really moving forward at all. And that feeling holds for well over a hundred chapters.

Seto is a loser. Okay, it's shonen romance, that's to be expected. You can pull out of that. The problem is that it never really does. He spends the vast majority of the series being an indecisive twat to drag this series out to 143 chapters. In the end, he never really progressed at all. He's the same loser from the very read more
Jan 20, 2009
sancho (All reviews)
It takes a while for the story to pick up but after i while it get very good it has everything i think when it come to a romance manga. The story is the type of life i think any guy would be happy to have. I found the ending to be spectacular and it almost brought me to tears this should mean something coming for a guy. I''s a must read..........
Jan 1, 2019
Tsukihiko_ (All reviews)
I”s is the generic shounen romcom experience. A generic loser of a protagonist, a gorgeous girl who likes him for no reason, a childhood love interest and a perverted friend. It does almost nothing original until the second half, which ended up being the worst parts of the manga. It surprises me why it’s so high on MAL and has such positive reviews.

It starts off as it should. Seto is the bland protagonist for boys to identify with. He likes a girl out of her league named Iori and their relationship develops. Except it doesn’t for almost one hundred chapters. Every end of volume read more
Jun 19, 2016
ignmaximus (All reviews)
I"s is one of my favourite readings ever.

What in the beginning might look kind of typical or foreseeable comes in the end to be the ultimate shonen romance story.

If we were to talk more in detail:

The story is a clear 10.
As i have said before, it might be overlooked at the beginning but rapidly gains strength thanks to the right balance of comedy and drama.
The author uses almost every cliché of the genre but thanks to superb execution you dont get tired. When i say that i mean that it feels more like an epic adventure than the average slice-of-life romance you might read more
Aug 29, 2013
Monteiro (All reviews)
It's hard to describe how awesome, and in how many ways its awesome, this manga is. In one word, its perfect.
I hate romance mangas/animes where you go through dozens of episodes or volumes and a couple only gets together by the last episode, or not even that. I"s thankfully isn't one of those.
We watch how the protagonist ( a male tsundere, as rare as it can be ) tries to convey his feelings for his so unreachable crush, and we see how their relationship goes through high school and into early adult life. Being a man, its amazing how the mangaka inscribed all the doubts read more
Nov 25, 2009
azntakeaway (All reviews)
I once saw this pictures of this Manga in a gaming magazine and thought "Wow does that girl look real.." Indeed I enjoyed the artwork most about this manga. So much so that if you showed a picture of the female lead (Iori)) i am sure you will be suprised at how many people have seen her around in different publications and yet don't know her name or what manga she is from. To me this manga embodies the the romance genre, without being too campy. It has the main character (somewhat goofy yet shy and introverted) very much in same style as many male read more
Jan 31, 2019
MRtsukiji (All reviews)
Preliminary
This manga revolves around a male protagonist who is indecisive, self-defeating, with a hero syndrome, prone to daydreaming and boundless prattle, with shallow romantic sentiment driven by lust and a female protagonist who plays dumb and has little self-awareness in 2/3’s of the manga.

Art was consistently good, details and background drawn well although some female characters shared the same face. Chapters continued off from a different viewpoint and didn’t feel too redundant. Dialogue, majority of the plot and pacing of the story were forced, overdramatic, not believable, and just kept dragging endlessly in circles and nowhere in particular. There’s a lot of fan service read more
Aug 27, 2017
curisuchan (All reviews)
For everyone who are interested to read this manga, here's a short review for all of you.

Story: the story is great, it started with a weak MC called ichitaka who's unable to confess his love for iori which is the main heroine of this story. it's a shounen type manga so i think its pretty normal to have a weak MC from the start and have that MC matured as the story progress however this is different from normal shounen manga why? because the MC on this manga is very indecisive and his growth is too slow to the point that will make you think read more
Apr 1, 2019
Komato-kun (All reviews)
Man.... where do I start?

I have to say that I''s is my favorite shounen romance series, after finished reading all the chapters. Theres the anime too, but I recommend you watch the JDrama adaptation.

The story introduced you to Seto Ichitaka (a weak high school MC) trying to win the love of his crush, Yoshizuki Iori.

The next thing you know, three other girls gradually appear in his life:
Itsuki (a girl from his childhood),
Izumi (a school mate) and
Aiko (a girl from his neighbor when he moved out from his parent's house at some point along the series)
At this point you will have read more
Dec 19, 2016
SaitoHajime101 (All reviews)
There's no covering and defending this series for using standard tropes and plot devices as it is what we expect, a simple romance story. In some ways it's quite fitting as your main male and female characters are very simple-minded in their way of thinking when approaching any obstacle. However, this will cause (as we expect) situations for these characters to get overblown and fall into the standard trap of misunderstandings. What helps the characters (and ultimately the series), is Iori herself. Despite Seto's lack of finesse and over-the-top clumsiness in any situation he finds himself in, she remains amazingly steadfast in her belief in read more