Hinomaruzumou
Hinomaru Sumo
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Hinomaruzumou

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Sumo of the Rising Sun, Sumo Wrestler Hinomaru, Kiseki no Mattanashi Taiketsu!!
Japanese: 火ノ丸相撲
English: Hinomaru Sumo
More titles

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 28
Chapters: 252
Status: Finished
Published: May 26, 2014 to Jul 22, 2019
Genre: Sports Sports
Theme: Martial Arts Martial Arts
Demographic: Shounen Shounen
Serialization: Shounen Jump (Weekly)
Authors: Kawada (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 7.791 (scored by 45034,503 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #11762
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1252
Members: 11,719
Favorites: 172

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 20, 2015
Heatstrike (All reviews)
Preliminary
Do you know anything about Sumo? Do you like Sumo?

Neither do I. But that doesn't stop this manga from being any less enjoyable to read. The story isn't groundbreaking. It's your standard sports shounen plot, but it's done well. It progresses at a nice pace and keeps it interesting. The characters are where Hinomaru-Zumou really shines. Especially the protagonist. Multidimensional, well-written, likable/interesting, understandable backstory... It's all there, and then some.

If you're looking for a fun new manga to pick up, Hinomaru-Zumou is a pretty good choice.
Dec 20, 2014
katzenmensch (All reviews)
Preliminary
Awesome title. Let me see... A lot of cool fights without magical powers (until now at least - chapter 13 released this week xD), a truly original theme (sumō), the super nice cliches of boy's manga like friendship, superation, nice hairs even for the manly dudes (shonen jump after all). Totally worth it.
Mar 21, 2015
DatFanfiction (All reviews)
Preliminary
Seeing sumo as a main sport in a manga is original and something really different to see. At first I was a little skeptical because it's Sumo and never really seeing the sport gave me low expectations. However all that changed seeing the main characters and their rivals go at it making it such and interesting story and sport. After seeing many sports in animes and mangas, this one stands out the most having engaging characters and seeing good action with amazing art. It's a good read that never gets boring and always has something exciting going on.
Oct 18, 2019
Dzonatan (All reviews)
Hinomaruzumou the story of Ushio Hinomaru a sumo wrestler who aims to become a Yokozuna, little in size Hinomaru is the underdog everyone wants to win wanting to prove everyone wrong and with an incredible passion for sumo, hinomaru joins the Oodachi High sumo club and meets his awesome friends together they aim to become the best high school sumo club in the country.

So what makes this manga so good? The character development in my opinion, the character development is amazing every character is likeable and has their own backstory and reason they want to win and be the best. Over all the read more
Jul 29, 2019
Baba_Zone1 (All reviews)
As this manga is now officially complete and i assume people want to read this because it's finished so the best opportunity to read this series.

Does it reach the heights as the legendary sports manga/anime like Hajime no Ippo, Major, Slam Dunk, Ashita no Joe.... well nope this is a serviceable sports manga however its a fun read.

Art:

This is honestly the biggest highlight for me, it damn impressive framing and considering this is drawn in a weekly schedule idk how the author does this amount of detail this ridiculously fast. Thats not really it though, good art is easy to appreciate like read more
Oct 16, 2018
PurpleRose328 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hinomaruzumou is just like any other shounen and sports manga out there. It starts with a protagonist who's deeply passionate on a particular sport, joins a high school club, and together with his new comrades, they'll conquer the whole country.

So what makes this manga different from the rest?

I have two answers for you: story and character. Sure it still has that "power of friendship" feel to it but believe me when I say that it's not the same "nakama power" bullcrap that's very common in shounen anime. It's the "power of friendship" done right and it's completely justified.

And the characters are just read more
Nov 11, 2015
Lyudegul (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've got to admit it, at first when I saw a manga about sumo I thought "OMG what's wrong with WSJ they're run out of ideas, this isn't gonna work", but hey, after 30 chapters were released in english and I saw his rankings in TOCs I gave it a shot and it really surprised me on the good way.

Of course, this is a shônen released in WSJ, so it obviously has some clichés, but they are well implanted in the story and you don't get sick of them as, for example, in Fairy Tail or Black Clover.

The story is a very normal one read more
Jan 17, 2018
Wotakunai (All reviews)
Preliminary
Here's my take after reading the first volume of the palm thrusting manga; Hinomaru Zumo by Kawada.

The premise of the story is about Ushio Hinomaru a incoming freshman of Oodachi High School who enthusiastically joins the, at that time, 1 member sumo club.

Hinomaru has one dream; to be Hinoshita Kaisan (Yokozuna). However, his small stature is often sighted by other people as a disadvantage or a characteristic that a sumo wrestler should not have. But little does these people know the demon like power and passion that he carries inside.

I rarely read or watch manga o anime that revolves around sports since sports is read more
Mar 13, 2018
YusufHanma (All reviews)
Preliminary
I never thought that a manga about sumo could be so enjoyable and fun to read.

The story isn't something out of the ordinary and it doesn't even need to be because what really stands out are the characters, everyone has their own goal and great character development and I just love the bromance and the way they cheer for each other. The art isn't outstanding but I really like this "clean" style. This has to be one of the most enjoyable manga I have ever read, there wasn't even one chapter where It got boring it just kept getting better and better and that's why read more
Nov 27, 2015
AnonymousYoshi (All reviews)
Preliminary
Are you looking for a good Shonen Jump manga to read, and disappointed that Toriko's anime ended? THEN READ HINOMARU ZUMOU!!!!!

It's got a lot of things, from a kid trying to become a macho character, he's got surreal moves like Baki, Ring Ni Kakero, and my favorite manga of all time, Kinnikuman. Ushio Hinomaru is a small kid who wants to become a Yokozuna, and meets various friends and enemies along the way. This manga deals with friendship, the prize of winning, the punishment of losing, and more. It's not as goofy as many other shonen jump series, but it's not quite as dark as read more
Jun 27, 2018
KayB (All reviews)
Preliminary
**Spoiler Free**
I normally don’t write reviews for series I’m not overly passionate about, but I feel partially more motivated to at least comment on Hinomaru Zumou; despite its popularity and the recent conclusion of its “Part 1,” the latest review written on MAL only goes up until chapter 25 of the (current) 195 chapters at the time of this review.

If I had to describe how I felt about Hinomaru Zumou in a few words, I would say it’s a sports manga that *almost* gets everything right. If I had to phrase it a little more bluntly though, I’d say it’s a sports manga that read more
Feb 10, 2016
McBugger (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a review written for people interested chiefly in sumo and not so much in manga.

The main character, 火ノ丸 Hinomaru, has a shikona-like last name. Perhaps as an homage, his "maru" (circle) is the same as in Musashimaru. The no is in katakana, similar to Terunofuji or Ichinojo.

His physique is diminuitive and muscle-based, unlike all of Musashimaru, Ichinojo and Terunofuji (Teru is muscle-based but, damn, that size). His preferred styles are migi-yotsu, yori and nage. His oshi attack is weak as is expected of a short rikishi (160 cm, first year of high school). He posesses a powerful uwatenage and uwatedashinage, his signature read more