Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Helck

Helck

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Helck the Hero
Japanese: Helck

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 12
Chapters: 111
Status: Finished
Published: May 5, 2014 to Dec 18, 2017
Genres: Action, Fantasy
Authors: Nanao, Nanaki (Story & Art)
Serialization: Ura Sunday

Statistics

Score: 8.231 (scored by 4630 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #4782
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #714
Members: 12,135
Favorites: 404

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 19, 2018
Derykasd (All reviews)
Helck is literally the most fun i ever had with fiction.

It doesn't sound like anything particular innovative, and it isn't really, the Demon King was defeated and they're holding a tournament to choose the next one, does the twist that the guy who killed him is in the tournament and goes around with a funny face saying that he hates humans makes it more interesting? Of course it does.

Helck has a lot more comedy in the early part than the rest, i'm not going to pretend it's a series that "starts childish but get serious" or anything, it's just a series that happens to mix read more
Feb 1, 2016
Champ_X (All reviews)
Preliminary
What is it that makes Helck so enjoyable, I often ask myself. The story is nothing new, nor is the art anything special. The cast is simple: there are good guys and then there are bad guys. It really isn't anything groundbreaking.

But what it has that separates it from other manga is its execution. Helck delivers a heartfelt story filled with laughter and tears in a simple yet elegant manner. There is nothing else to it- it's not convoluted like Death Note, and it doesn't need to be.

All it needs to do to kick-start the whole thing is ask one question: "So, can a read more
Dec 4, 2017
HelckMan (All reviews)
Preliminary
So Helck just finished as of me writing this review. Having completed it, I believe I owe it to the mangaka to write something explaining just why this seemingly one-trick gag manga has found such a special spot in my heart.

To preface this review, let me say that I tend to gravitate to psychological manga; thrillers that are intellectual, that make you think and feel. Things that can be considered 'masterpieces' like the likes of Death Note and Monster.

That being said, Helck is none of those things.

Helck is Helck; I don't think it can be defined in terms of manga conventions and read more
Nov 27, 2018
TheHentaiKing (All reviews)
*Disclaimer*
Just personal scratch.
Advised, possible spoilers.
Opinion & Informal

Art: 8/10
I've got quite a few things to talk about in the art area so I'll go through the general stuff first. The anatomy and proportions, for what they're worth, in this manga I suppose are alright. A lot of the characters and beings in this manga were really odd in terms of anatomy and proportions. I'm not saying that the art is bad because of the odd anatomy and proportions, I'm just saying how it is. The odd shapes and sizes of the beings in this manga actually added a lot of diversity and depth to the read more
Jan 15, 2016
kronopy (All reviews)
Preliminary
I discovered this manga on Christmas when it got the first translated chapters, and kept it opened in my browser tabs for 2 weeks, because I had other manga to read too... 3 days ago I read the comments and saw that it already got 49 chapters, so I decided to start reading, I had read the 3 pages, which is the introduction and then put it on hold on for another 2 days, until Yesterday. That was a good decision, this manga is AWESOME, and is great that I had the chance to read 52 chapters at once, I wouldn't have been able to read more
Jan 20, 2016
berganda (All reviews)
Preliminary
The art style is nothing special, in fact, I would place the level of drawing not very high. However, do not have this dissuade you from reading this series.

The series starts as a very simple and joke like comic. It may seem juvenile, or even boring. Yet, this is just a ploy by the author to hide the true story behind the characters.

I would call this series a very light thriller. There are instances where the reader may be at the edge of their seats eager to find out more.

However, it is no "Monster" or "20th Century Boy", which has a complex web of stories, read more
Jan 31, 2019
GrayRealm (All reviews)
This is actually incredibly well done.

It is also hard to break this into pieces and judge by separate category.

The manga starts as comedy, and over time starts getting serious. However, it is an amazing ride, and the way the story unfolds is quite gripping all the way till the final chapter.We have a hero, a demon lord, and then thing are not what they seem. Sadly it is hard to tell more without spoiling it.

The art is very well done, although the author is quite fascinated with certain mascot creature that keeps popping up in bonus panels.

Characters are a bit exaggerated for dramatic purposes, but read more
Feb 1, 2017
yuyqe (All reviews)
Preliminary
I stumbled upon the description and expected nothing but a slapstick comedy. What I got was a deeply intriguing story intermixing lightheartedness with an extremely well written cast. The first few chapters are full of silliness, but the story controls its exposition and world building extremely well. Moreover, one area that Helck succeeds in where many others fail is in writing believable characters. There are no obvious plot holes, and characters who are supposed to be clever use intel and venture guesses with what little information they have in a way that flows smoothly with the action. Some guesses are a bit outlandish, but overall read more