Complex
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Complex

Alternative Titles

Japanese: コンプレックス

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 4
Chapters: 24
Status: Finished
Published: 1996 to 2002
Genres: YaoiYaoi
Authors: Manda, Ringo (Story & Art)
Serialization: None

Statistics

Score: 8.241 (scored by 15611,561 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: N/A2
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3665
Members: 3,467
Favorites: 145

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 23, 2011
Alipio (All reviews)
It's complex to grow up in a society that won't accept you. It's complex to be brought up by your own parents who won't accept you. It's complex to raise a child who won't accept you. Something so simple yet beautiful, like love. That, too, is complex.

Complex follows the lives of Junichi and Tatsuya and how their "complex" relationship affects them and everyone around them. How is it complex, you may ask? Well, they are both boys. Society as a whole have not always accepted homosexuality. With this mindset on both sides, several problems and issues must arise from that emotionally and physically. For example, read more
Aug 1, 2009
Doriinatrix (All reviews)
Here’s an interesting question: what happens to the boys in BL after they’ve hooked up? In most series, we never know- the story stops right there. In Complex, however, we don’t get to just see the relationship, we follow the couple throughout their lives. It’s an ambitious idea, but it works. We see two boys grow up from being childhood friends to confused young men and to wrinkled old ones, with all of the drama that comes with it. Yes, there is sex, but the emphasis is placed more on the relationship than the fanservice. It starts a read more
Jul 15, 2009
Minawasena (All reviews)
From the first chapter it may look like this manga is about a nasty teacher into shota-con, however that is only the Very Very beginning and shota-con has nothing to do with the story at all. That first occurrence is needed only to bring the two main characters closer together to prepare for their journey of life together.

This manga is one of the best I have ever read; it will make you smile with joy and bawl your eyes out from beginning, when they are just children, to the end when they are old men preparing for rest.

It shows the very seed of read more
Jan 9, 2010
greigh (All reviews)
READ IT!!! Beyond it being one of the best yaoi mangas it is one of the best stories I've ever had the pleasure and the privilege of reading. Teary eyes, runny nose, aching sides, cheeks sore from smiling and an indescribably warm feeling in my heart; that's what I have taken from the series. I am not a fan of shota, but there are two instances of shota. You must read the first chapter to understand how the gears switch in the main characters' relationship. This is a story for those who understand the draw of yaoi and how the societal taboos create built-in obstacles read more
May 29, 2011
Track99 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first review for any manga so excuse me for any mistakes.This is truly one of the best manga I have ever read and now one of my most favorite shouen ai and yaoi.I have to say this is one sweet loving yaoi story , and I love how they focus more on the relationship than the ecchi stuff like in more manga , and since they focus more on the relationship it feels more realistic and shows problems some people face in relationships.Also I like how this manga actually go through the main characters lives ,and not just stop once read more
Aug 6, 2011
LeahLiddell (All reviews)
No matter how many times I read it (this would be my third) I'm amazed at how often I find myself smiling, laughing, and crying (mainly crying). I honestly don't think I've ever been moved by a story as much as I have by this.

Most love stories end when the main characters finally realize their feelings for one another, and seal the deal. But this story starts from the very beginnings, and follows them through the major ups and the major downs. All the way to the very end..

When I first started reading it, I almost completely dropped it after read more
Aug 11, 2013
Deme (All reviews)
I was upset. I was captivated. I became emotional.

Being able to love means to stand up. Being able to stand is being able to know who you stand for. THAT IS JUNICHI.
He was able to recover still from what happened to him. I adore him.
find it out there :)

Tatsuya, MADE MANY MISTAKES.
INSENSIBLE.


Being able to love is having strong attachments. In this story, reality is at its best. Being "likely" realistic doesn't mean its Tragic, the story gives its best approach on how and who we are in the contemporary society we are living in.
But aside from that.

Love never fails. :) The read more
Feb 8, 2018
Bambikill (All reviews)
This title might be the most fitting one for a manga, ever. Because complex it is. And absolutely frickin' amazing.

This work proves the proverb that one shouldn't judge a book by its cover.
Literally.


It's been on my (huge and constantly growing) read list for many years. I added it because of the raving reviews but I just haven't been able to muster up the motivation for reading it--since the cover of volume one was so extremely offputting to my taste in comic art.
But in the name of research for recommendations to others--I decided to finally get it over with and read it.
I ended up read more
Oct 24, 2009
amiyusoku (All reviews)
First of all, I must admit, that at first I was kinda not interested to read it due to the shota scene and the arts (it's not really that bad tho' after a while) . I'm even tempted to stop reading it. However, I can't seems to do so and somehow my mind said, bear with it... you'll not regretting it!
It was right!
I'm not regretting to ever read this wonderful manga. It has such a great plot where I rarely (more like never once) encounter, furthermore, on Yaoi manga. It tells you from their childhood, their teens/adolescent march to their adulthood (well this read more
Dec 28, 2013
Fabe (All reviews)
When I started to read this manga, until I got through the first chapter, I thought that it was absolutely horrible. I expected that the storyline will go on like that, following whatever happened in the first chapter. I said to myself, "There's no way I can read 24 chapters of this!" and wanted to drop it. Now I'm glad I didn't.

The story of this manga is, according to the title, the most complex story I have ever read. No other manga ever followed the main characters through their entire life as this one did.
The main thing this manga shows is life. In only read more
Oct 30, 2011
Hazegurl (All reviews)
One of the most beautiful, realistic, and most underrated yaois out there! I have never cried so much reading a yaoi manga as I did while reading this one. Do not let the art work put you off as many people said it did.... before they read it. Manga is not just about art! It is just as much about story and this manga proves it.

The characters are so real and so alive, the story is well paced and very well developed, no cliche yaoi stereotypes that seem to run rampant in so many yaoi stories.

You will gain so much reading this story read more
Oct 30, 2016
Yuri2427 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've had read a thousand of yaoi manga and this was the only one that left a deep impact in my life. There were so much feels that by the end of the chapter it left me speechless and I've cried like a baby.

Art:
I've rated it 10. But actually I'm not a fan of old-style art. I was only bored at that time and had accidentally stumbled upon this manga. I was hesitant at first in reading this because the cover was pretty ugly and there were two young boys so I've assumed that it's gonna be another Shouta story. Good thing the reviews were read more
Dec 17, 2020
caileigghh (All reviews)
I have no idea where to even start.. As a wlw, I often seek out BL for representation but I usually find that most of these relationships are too toxic or fail to surpass the notion of being a thirst trap clearly aimed for straight women. After discovering and finishing Complex in a single night, I not only felt that I had found the genuine representation that actually highlights the issues that come with being attracted to/ being in a relationship with the same sex, but I was absolutely touched on a human level. I finished this manga over quarantine which was almost a year read more