Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kakegurui

Kakegurui

Alternative Titles

English: Kakegurui: Compulsive Gambler
Japanese: 賭ケグルイ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Mar 22, 2014 to ?
Authors: Naomura, Tooru (Art), Kawamoto, Homura (Story)
Serialization: Gangan Joker

Statistics

Score: 7.951 (scored by 8422 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #11612
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #240
Members: 31,532
Favorites: 1,132

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Nov 5, 2016
animeAliana (All reviews)
A short review for the people that are too lazy to read:

Story: 10
The story starts with a mysterious girl aka MC, enrolling a private school for rich kids (no I mean really, really rich kids,seriously). What's so special about the school is that gambling is everything in this school. Your social rank, status, and everything will be lost if you are bad at gambling or if you run out of money, and vice versa, if you have loads of money on your hands and you're good at gambling, you can have it all.
OP MC enrolls into the school and basically read more
Jun 25, 2017
itavin (All reviews)
Wow, again, we seem to have people who love a manga about crazy people in a school with a dumb premise. This must be one of the worst trends ever, the trend of having a special school which makes people insane and exploring their psychology. Oh, and by Psychology, I mean seeing them be crazy. So why is this Bad?

THE PREMISE IS THE WORST- A school built on ILLEGAL acts, aka gambling, which has people who are rich betting MILLIONS of yen to build a social class that only lasts for about, like 3 years? Except the money and SLAVERY which continues outside of school. read more
Jan 25, 2015
kronopy (All reviews)
This manga doesn’t have a review and I consider it deserve at least a short one, even though it has just 6 chapter for the moment. That why I will not give too much information, otherwise I will spoil you. Kagerui is manga about rich peoples. The action happens in a private school where are enrolled the progenitors of the elites (politicians, rich bastards, etc.). But this school is pretty unique; not only is full of rich punks, but it has a special system, that revolves around... gamble. Yes, the whole school is a damn casino, in which those kids bet money... and their life’s... read more
Feb 18, 2017
Hereditus (All reviews)
In this age of anime and manga infested with average goody two shoes main characters, wouldn't watching the assholes, sadists and psychos take the spotlight be quite fun and refreshing? If your answer is yes then Kakegurui is for you.

"Gambling is the reason to exist." Apply this quote to every student in this school.. Why? Well, that's the damn reason why the institution where our characters enroll is even standing erect for. Hyakkaou Private Academy, where the wealthiest of the wealthy come and enroll to show their prowess in gambling and deceit... or in other words, where the spoiled brats who think highly of themselves read more
May 22, 2017
EvansXIV (All reviews)
Kakegurui has been one amazing revelation.

I started reading this manga 'cause I was fascinated by the art but I didn't expect the story to be so good too. Here's why you should read this series:

Story: 9
Games. There are plenty of series about games but you won't find one darker than this one. The story is set in this school where your social status, school life, and your whole life is determined by how good you are at gambling. You can play everything, from rock-paper-scissors to something more dangerous like Russian Roulette. If you manage to win you gain respect, other than enormous amounts of read more
Sep 12, 2017
-cream- (All reviews)
Story: 2.5 - An interesting and striking premise undermined by incompetent storytelling and baffling decisions in narrative direction.

Art: 6 - Character designs are, while nothing spectacular, are more than adequate and the artwork is for the most part competent. The over the top facial expressions are what push it up from a 5 to a 6 for me.

Character: 2 - Easily the weakest part of the work as a whole. I will expound on this later, but for now just know that everything interesting about the characters at the beginning fizzles out into nothing.

Enjoyment: 4 - As much as I rag on the individual aspects read more
Jul 7, 2017
AngerAndHate (All reviews)
What it really boils down to is yet another battle-shounen-level fiction where the protagonist always wins in the end. If you're looking for something original, look elsewhere.

The reason I'll give this a 7 is that my enjoyment is all that matters as far as I'm concerned (the art is also very good). And I have felt enjoyment much of the time. That's because the writer is very good at creating an illusion of suspense and doubt that Yumeko will win a battle, with many semi-surprising twists, reveals, and mind games. And I couldn't help but fall for it most of the time. Most people will.

However, read more
May 29, 2017
Gerhakiki (All reviews)
What initially attracted me to Kakegurui (gambling addict) was the art. The eyes and facial expressions hinted at characters with over the top personalities with undertones of insanity. I decided to give it a go after reading the basic plot description and Kakegurui proved to be such an addictive read that I read 41 chapters in two days, which is a big deal if you consider that I'm not really into manga. This is the first manga I've ever properly gotten into. I've tried reading others but dropped them too quickly to bother adding them to my manga list.


Kakegurui's setup is very simple. It is read more
Oct 7, 2017
jmsxjrdn (All reviews)
Here's my take after reading 45 chapters (8 Volumes) of Kakegurui by Tooru Naomura (Art) and Homura Kawamoto (Story).

First and foremost, when I see that the manga that I am reading is manga created by a duo of writer and artist, I immediately get excited and my eyes light up. Not all mangakas are geniuses like (Togashi-san and Odachii) so I really appreciate it when one person steps down for another person to improve the story by his art and give life to his art by the writing.

Kakegurui is a story revolving around the compulsive gambler Yumeko Jyabami and her gamble escapades at the Hyakkaou read more
Jul 2, 2017
VictorX (All reviews)
This manga can best be described as a pulse pounding gambling thriller. It's a great one too: an easy 8.5/10 that I will round up to a 9.

In short is it a gorgeously drawn manga with dementedly detailed facial expressions that heighten drama and tension during adrenaline pumping gambling games between gorgeous girls. If that sounds like your thing then just go read it.

Art in this manga is a solid 10/10.

It's drawn with the sort of manic and warped facial expressions you'd see in a horror series. The main character Jabami Yumeko has a gorgeous design with a look reminiscent of Jigoku Shoujo while read more
Jun 24, 2017
ajames123 (All reviews)
Facial expressions! This manga has some of the best facial expressions i've ever seen!

The story is intense, thrilling, interesting and satisfying. The Art is amazing, smooth and memorable. i'm giving it a 10/10! for this manga. This manga will keep you in the edge of your seat.

So, In this review i'll focus on critique of the manga. and i'll try to keep this spoiler free.

Our main character, Yumeko transfer to a Private Academy filled with rich students. where everything is decided by gambling. The academy has its hierarchy, where winners rule over the losers, debt is going to affect their entire life. nothing read more
Jun 23, 2017
twofingers (All reviews)
I have never written a review before but I feel like I have to mainly because how outstanding this manga is. The world needs more manga like this. Why?

STORY 10 /10

I'll start from story. Pacing is perfect. At some point in manga you start to think "I think I know how this'll end up". But here's the best part - even though you KNOW how it will end up, you enjoy it either way - that's how good the writting is and it furthermore amuses reader. It's amusing to read and just see in which direction everything falls and the more you read read more