Shin Angyo Onshi
Blade of the Phantom Master
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Shin Angyo Onshi

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Phantom Master: Dark Hero from Ruined Empire, Shin-am Heng-uhsah, The New Secret Royal Inspector
Japanese: 新暗行御史
English: Blade of the Phantom Master
More titles

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 17
Chapters: 76
Status: Finished
Published: Mar 19, 2001 to Aug 18, 2007
Genres: Action Action, Adventure Adventure, Drama Drama, Fantasy Fantasy, Supernatural Supernatural
Theme: Historical Historical
Demographic: Seinen Seinen
Serialization: Sunday Gene-X
Authors: Yoon, In-Wan (Story), Yang, Kyung-il (Art)

Statistics

Score: 8.371 (scored by 93199,319 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #2032
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #433
Members: 30,235
Favorites: 1,194

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 4, 2008
Master10K (All reviews)
Shin Angyo Onshi is a Seinen, Historical, Supernatural, Action, Adventure manhwa that takes a piece of Korean history and turns it into a superb journey for the characters and the readers to experience.

The story follows the adventures of Munsu, an Angyo Onshi, who were special envoys of the king of Jushin. However Jushin is all but destroyed, leaving Munsu on his journey to continue his duty of ridding corruption and bringing about his own form of justice. That’s the setting of this epic Korean manga and sure, in the beginning, there’s a very episodic nature to Munsu’s travelling that frequently pays homage to some of read more
Jun 23, 2008
zethras (All reviews)
Shin Angyo Onshi is a great manwha.
It took me a while to find this manwha. It is not the typical popular manga that will just pop out and attract your attention. I saw it in the top and give it a try. I remember reading the begining of this manwha, a couple of years ago but it was still in translation and in that time there was only a couple of chapters. Now that I can get a hold to all the chapters (with the extra pages in the forum).

Shin Angyo is about a long adventure of a our hero, Munsu. He is similar and read more
Aug 21, 2013
simon999 (All reviews)
Shin Angyo Onshi is the greatest Manhwa i have ever read hands down and i have no problem or somthing else even close to its spot i would say that it is the 2nd greatest behind berserk overall and with this review (ill try to keep it short) i hope to convince you to read this spectacular story.

I was told that this was alot like berserk so a guy like me who loves it (and has been waiting like 9 months for the next realease) was drawn to it. And i was not disapointed but let me not pass this off as a berserk read more
Feb 28, 2014
Po_and_Dong (All reviews)
This is manga is about Munsu, who is the last Angyo Onshi, peacekeepers from the fallen kingdom of Jushun who wander the land defeating corrupt lords and generally being of benefit to the people. However Munsu is an asshole, and stands out greatly from a wide spectrum of other protaganists even in the anti-hero classification. Angyo Onshi do not have any special powers or special skills, in fact Munsu's superhuman abilities are nonexistant compared to not only antagonists but even less relevant side characters. He is however, very smart, and also has an amulet called the Mahai, something that is his badge as an Angyo read more
Mar 25, 2013
Isalina (All reviews)
My first review about a manga, and in fact, rather about a manhwa. In my opinion, a very well drawn and written one.

This was pretty much my first real look into some korean history. I'm not very much into history or literature though so I may be the wrong person to say how wonderful it was, but I still enjoyed it.

The story revolves around a wandering Angyo Onshi, called Munsu, roaming the lands to execute his own justice, after his homeland, Jushin, was destroyed.
At the start, the story picks up several korean tales, bringing korean culture nearer to the reader and later starts to read more
Apr 30, 2014
Doyo1shinai_Fan (All reviews)
I was not expecting this Manhwa to be as good as it was. The first half is slow and episodic but it quickly gets better.

The story is complex and is set in an interesting world filled with demons, ghosts etc. This is one of the first times I've felt so completely mind****** from reading a story. The story starts out vague but soon starts to make sense once you start to piece the story together as you read more of it. The world is filled with demons, ghosts and other creatures derived from Korean folklore. This makes each chapter exciting as the main character wanders read more
Aug 5, 2016
sadclown (All reviews)
This is a series that started off pretty strongly, with an intriguing anti-hero protagonist. However, somewhere in the middle it became too draggy with all those tedious flashbacks and an abrupt switch in focus to the relatively boring backstory of the main character and his quest to defeat his archenemy. It didn't help that said archenemy had a less than compelling presence and personality. IMO, It would have been better if the author finished this series in 10 volumes, then put the revenge arc into a new series or spin-off.

The art is above average, but not really to my taste. The main characters are read more
Oct 17, 2020
Shellshock123 (All reviews)
The series is about a wandering Shin Angyo Onshi, a government issued special warrior from the now destroyed city of Juushin that is meant to take down corrupt official and bring peace to the world. Its a mouthful. However our main character is doing more than just bringing peace (in a very tsundere like fashion). He also deserves vengeance on the man who has wronged him. Together with his Sando, a scantily clad woman and a midget he must find peace not just for the world but for himself.

First lets talk about what i don't like about the series. Because this series is read more