Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Shamo

Shamo

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 軍鶏

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 34
Chapters: 338
Status: Finished
Published: 1998 to Jan 13, 2015
Authors: Tanaka, Akio (Story & Art), Hashimoto, Izou (Story)
Serialization: Evening

Statistics

Score: 7.801 (scored by 4897 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #15772
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #488
Members: 12,909
Favorites: 422

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 1, 2015
TheMagicStik (All reviews)
Over the last month or so I've seen a ton of praise for the manga "Shamo" and recently I just read the whole thing and I feel very let down.

Overall the characterization of Ryu just felt like really all over the place and I didn't feel like it was because he was crazy, it just felt like the author didn't know what he was doing exactly with the character and experimented a lot more than he should have.

Then there's the whole constant perspective swaps that end up taking up nearly half of the chapters in the series. Ryu is the protagonist, he's the "interesting" read more
Dec 14, 2015
Shading_Stuff (All reviews)
Well, it's pretty difficult to give this series an overall rating since it had a change in authors.

The series starts off really well, I'd even go as far as calling it a masterpiece up to a certain point. But well... as I mentioned this series had a change in authors. The potential masterpiece turns into a cliche fighting manga, it's hard to even call it a seinen manga. The story lost its edge, the characters stopped being interesting, only the art was still well done.

I'd say the first 13 volumes are very well done they are probably around a 9-10/10. You could just read more
Jun 10, 2011
Foolness (All reviews)
Preliminary
If it weren't for the manga being on hiatus, I would consider this the true spiritual successor to Fist of the North Star. (Hokuto Shinken)

One has to only look at the first few panels to wonder why I'm comparing this to something more fantasy based as FotNS.

...and I think this is what makes Shamo a masterpiece if it actually had a legitimate ending.

The manga is just pure existentialist material for me.

On one hand you had the basic premise. Shamo shattered any doubts I had that a legitimate exciting MMA manga could be made.

On the flip side, Shamo's failure in doing that, is something that would read more
Mar 26, 2013
samgantz (All reviews)
Preliminary
Recommendable for anyone looking for an easy to follow, dark, action filled psychological seinen, which follows a young troubled protagonist. It's complimented with a visceral and detailed art style.

The story is an interesting commentary on Japanese underground crime culture, following a twisted anti-hero's struggle. It is mainly martial arts orientated and character/fight driven, so anyone looking for an exceptional or detailed story, maybe should look elsewhere. The manga does flow and read well as an outcome of this though.

What it lacks in complexity it makes up for in character development. The mangaka does a great job in engaging the reader with the characters choices, read more
May 3, 2009
GumGumSaiyan (All reviews)
Preliminary
Shamo is not something for those light in heart to read. In chapter two the main character is sent to prison were he is raped, not only once, but twice. On top of that, the story if very violent, lost of fights happen as the main character grows.

Good story over all, but not something for people used to Shonen. This is X-rated stuff.
Jun 4, 2017
MangaGreat (All reviews)
I have heard a great deal about Shamo prior to reading it and it left me with the impression that it’s supposed to be one of the most unique manga around. Furthermore, the synopsis certainly did much to cement that impression.

Well, Shamo is a great and unique manga, but readers may find it is also very familiar.

To begin, the synopsis is misleading. Everything it says does happen, but it gives the impression that what it says is the primary focus of the manga when I would easily argue that it is a fairly unimportant detail that only serves as an explanatory backstory. Seems crazy to read more
Jul 24, 2014
ghostcardinal (All reviews)
Preliminary
as a writer, one of the basic rules is that your main character has to be either likable, sympathetic, or someone cool enough that readers will admire him. Shamo breaks this rule, and unlike other series *cough*Tenjou Tenge*cough* they do so on purpose. Ryo is a horrible, horrible person. A murderer, rapist, prostituting, violent, insane sociopath, he isnt likable at all. In the beginning he had some sympathy, with the condition of his life, but he quickly loses all of it. Ryo is a monster. his sole redeeming feature is how he does care for his sister and occasionally does random acts of charity, but read more
Jan 27, 2016
AP_974 (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Shamo" I knew this manga by name for a pretty long time now
I began to read it without any expectation, just knowing that it was a violent one.

Well, I was disappointed. For me, it's as if I was reading some fighting manga with sex, violence, drug ..... and I laughed hard when I saw people's review about Shamo : deep psychology, deep moral...

Let's talk about the beginning which may contain "deep psychology" : A boy - "Ryo" also nicknamed "Shonen A" after, kills its parent with a knife. Precisely, he brutally murdered them. We don't know why, only few moment in the manga explain read more
Sep 12, 2011
Gensai (All reviews)
Preliminary
The first story I've read where the main character is raped... Unlike other manga or anime he is not acknowledged for what he can do. He truly is a shamo ( fighting cock).

So what do I think of this...

Pure brilliance! This is not for someone with a feint heart, but if you can understand and respect this kind of genre it becomes a great story. It is a shame that this manga is so unknown.

For me this is better than Naruto, Bleach, Soul Eater, Daisy, Vampire knight, Death note, Deadman wonderland, hellsing and allot more. Truly this is pure gold. Pitch black gold. read more
Mar 23, 2017
CaptSwarthmore (All reviews)
Shamo is one series that is difficult to write a simple review for, but I'll try to keep it brief. I may as well get it out of the way - Shamo has one of the worst endings to a manga series that I've ever seen, There's no resolution, no ultimate lesson, just a strong feeling that the author wanted the series over and done with. Now, there are plenty of mediocre manga series but it is particularly distressing here because of the way Shamo started out. The first several volumes or so were cerebral, dark and well-paced. It took a lot of risks, giving read more