Shoujo Shuumatsu Ryokou
Girls' Last Tour
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Shoujo Shuumatsu Ryokou

Alternative Titles

English: Girls' Last Tour
Synonyms: The End Girl Trip
Japanese: 少女終末旅行

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 6
Chapters: 47
Status: Finished
Published: Feb 21, 2014 to Jan 12, 2018
Genres: AdventureAdventure, Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Authors: Tsukumizu (Story & Art)
Serialization: Kurage Bunch

Statistics

Score: 8.691 (scored by 1311313,113 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #472
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #340
Members: 34,077
Favorites: 2,932

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 17, 2018
Calcature (All reviews)
“Sleep and wake and eat and move” - Yuu

Apocalyptic stories in anime come in many forms and serve a variety of purposes. Many times the setting allows for action scenes and having a hero come into their own, something like Attack on Titan or High School of the Dead. Others take the situation in slightly different ways, more contemplative ways, series like Casshern Sins or Neon Genesis Evangelion as examples. Shoujo Shuumatsu Ryokou takes an alternative route of using an apocalypse for object lessons on a variety of topics.

The story of Shoujo Shuumatsu Ryokou isn't so much about an overarching plot as the chapter read more
Aug 20, 2019
East (All reviews)
Shoujo Shuumatsu Ryokou is the melancholic tale of two girls lost in the barren, desolate world of the Layered City. Supposedly, being the last two human beings in the entire world, their only objective is to reach the top, hoping to find just any sign of life. However, the world revolves around them now, no one to command or guide them, so their journey is a very erratic one full of many experiences. They learn not just about their own lives, but of the ones long gone. An entire philosophical, almost harrowing and introspective look on the struggles of Chito and Yuuri as they prepare read more
Jan 1, 2018
nosdude (All reviews)
Preliminary
A unique manga about 2 young girls venturing through a post apocalyptic city. There is no violence, no enemies, no real suffering, no crazy action. It's a modern tale destined to people wanting to get more than what is written, take their time and enjoy reading behind the scene.

Chi and Yuu are born after the cold apocalypse that suppressed almost all technologies and life from the earth. They have few knowledge about life but how to survive by themselves and some warm memories. But what's important is that they have one another and hope.
As they venture upper into the emptier city, they'll cross some few read more
May 1, 2018
mrkillercow (All reviews)
I've started reading this more for the art than anything else. But as I read on, I became more engaged in the journey of the characters, and the thematic exploration. By the end, it left me both fulfilled and with a heart-ache for the characters.

This is by far the best work of manga that can be described as 'philosophical'.

Through the soft, round art it makes it easy for readers to engage with the overarching theme of journey and death. Through the perspectives of young girls' innocence, this provides a different perspective.

POSSIBLE SPOILERS AHEAD




This is one of the rare works that I've read that read more
Sep 5, 2020
dhb1048596 (All reviews)
What do you do when you’re likely the last two human beings in a world that’s already ended? You keep moving, of course. This is a survival story where there are no final destination as they drive their Kettenkrad to scavenge for rations and supplies then talk about whatever comes to mind, from questioning their very existence or on why people go on war to whose turn is it to do the laundry.

The world of Girl's Last Tour is haunting yet serene, it's background art is beautiful and filled with detail, really bringing the desolate wasteland that is their home to life. There's so read more
Dec 2, 2017
Mellowlink_boy (All reviews)
Preliminary
Shoujo Shuumatsu Ryoukuo is a different show that has seen the light in a time that normally would not accept this kind of works.

The series takes place in a post-apocalyptic world in which the journey of Chito and Yuuri is followed, which travel aimlessly through this new destroyed world. This is when the story takes a turn when we see that the girls are discovering aspects of ancient society and seeing the natural way in which they unfold with these elements is something worth seeing.
Another important thing is the stellar, Yuuri and Chito reflect such an air of friendship and tenderness that they are easy read more
Oct 10, 2020
NextUniverse (All reviews)
(TLDR Review at the bottom of this review. As always, thanks for reading in advance.)

Do you ever just look at some paper filled with words and think, "Wow! Whoever thought of this idea is a genius." Maybe you do. Maybe you don't.

In life, the value of things make no sense whatsoever, so much so that a £0.99 (~$1.29) Burger King cheeseburger suddenly has less monetary value as a £2.49 (~$3.29) exact cheeseburger simply because one of the Burger King is located right next to a train station. You may be wondering. Who needed to know that? Well, it is the same concept with what I read more
Jul 22, 2019
Appleseed4k (All reviews)
Review applies to both the manga and the anime, as both are well-made.

Note: I’m probably going to sound like a pretentious asshole.
This work is one that I have no qualms about calling it art. This is what they should be teaching in literature class, not the half-baked book called The Stranger by Albert Camus. Although I won’t claim to be the expert on post-apocalyptic settings or philosophical stories (what even is that?), I will say that I was both captivated and mentally engaged by this experience.

Firstly, I’m not saying that this will blow your mind or anything. I liked it, and some parts felt a read more
Nov 22, 2020
isyasad (All reviews)
This review will contain spoilers.

"I didn't realize it before, but making a manga is actually pretty strenuous.
Despite the boundless anxiety eating away at me, occasionally I'm able to draw a good line something, and I get a little spark of joy. And when that happens, I sort of feel an overlap with the girls' journey."
Art: The quote above is the afterward from volume 1 of the manga. Tsukumizu's artstyle in Girls' Last Tour is really sketchy-looking, and it gives the the vibe of an artist who cares more about the overall image that something creates rather than each line that builds up to it. The read more
Jun 20, 2019
WizzFizz (All reviews)
Girls Last Tour is a post-apocalyptic, slice-of-life manga by Tsukumizu (Tkmiz). Chito and Yuuri are two good friends, who have found themselves wandering the destructive remains of humanity. As they climb to the higher levels of the older civilisation that once remained, they come across many strange and wonderful things. Their journey to the top-most level leads them on a path of contemplation and discovery of the fate of the world and eventually themselves. Girls Last Tour explores many of these themes through often comedic, nonchalant and intriguing ways, as opposed to the many overly dramatic, vapidly tragic and violent trappings one would expect from read more
Feb 17, 2020
KremS (All reviews)
This manga is an odd beast , at one point it's comforting at another it's daunting and at one point it's depressing. I'm pretty sure the overall message has a positive albeit nihilistic tone , you're meant to get along with the feeling of hopelessness , but that's not a bad thing , rather it's good you don't worry about things you can't control and enjoy your life with whomever you share it with. I was sad to finish it honestly. The story might hit you as simplistic as it is scenario after scenario of Chito and Yuuri just exploring the desolate world around them read more
Dec 1, 2019
MFNick (All reviews)
6/10 is my total score

I believe that art and enjoyment are very dependent on the individual themselves so I'll be talking about the story and characters. Two very good characters the complement each other very well in any situation, it's as if Chito and Yuuri are real people that exist in this world right now, a very good job on that. The story though, isn't bad but it's existential edge. Now, don't get me wrong I love me some edge but this is like 6th grader level awareness of "Oh man, we're all going to die." Or "What's the point BS". Christ, I feel like read more
Sep 22, 2019
GGShang (All reviews)
Girl's Last Tour is a difficult story to fully describe, as the value of it as a story is almost totally dependent on the reader.

Plot is present in the story, but in a different way than most. There is the overarching story of the two girls trying to reach the point that their father told them about, but it is definitely a story where the journey means more than the destination. We spend all of our time exploring the world alongside the two main characters, watching them go through day by day trying to find food to eat, discovering new things and meeting the occasional read more
Apr 8, 2021
Firechick12012 (All reviews)
Not gonna lie, I had never even HEARD of Girls' Last Tour before 2017, but a blog I follow was praising the first episode of the anime up the wazoo. Curious, I decided to check the anime out, and while it didn't necessarily blow me away, I found myself really liking it. I watched the rest of it, loved it, bought all of the original manga, and now I've officially finished it! Seriously, what anime can you think of that has cute moeblob girls exploring a barren, post-apocalyptic world where humanity is pretty much extinct and resources are extremely scarce? Then again, this is Japan, read more
Jan 21, 2021
DiscworldMalazan (All reviews)
The anime for this manga had been on my radar for some time. I knew very little about it, other than it was usually compared to Kino's Journey which I enjoyed. I think I watched the entire anime within a forty-eight-hour period of starting it, and I immediately knew I had to read the manga to find out more.

So, I had already read the manga a couple times in unofficial translations by this point, so this isn't exactly my first read. I've had plenty of time to process my feelings towards this story, and there was really an extraordinary amount to process.

The first thing most read more
May 22, 2020
Kelvin_0815 (All reviews)
Story-Instead of the story about what happen, why war happen,it core more like we just wanna survive as long as we can & finding what is this & that things?Normally this kind of story don't work up and end up very boringgggg but this mangaka success make it.When I read it,I will be thinking like if I be their situation,what will I do if I'm at the same shoe,and I also think many things like ugliness of humanity, like the granppa said:human is a fool who will always doing the same history again & again. 9/10

Art- The art is too good,although is very cutie & read more
Apr 19, 2021
RenanGRM (All reviews)
Shoujo Shuumatsu Ryokou better known as the best slice of life of all time, a way that several heavy and reflective themes are unique in a pure and friendly way, I am very happy. By placing 2 characters with a "child's soul" in a post-apocalyptic environment addressing political and social themes during their journey, the manga forms a very charismatic and passionate narrative.

Among the basic themes, without giving a clear spoiler, all are extremely well constructed, both as a product and the speeches of the protagonists, everything is perfect. Deep and contented dialogues with an angelic purity, just beautiful.

Not to mention the incredible setting of read more
Sep 25, 2020
JimCanSwim (All reviews)
Girls Last Tour is a truly morbid depressing story that holds back nothing in it's attempt to portray an awful situation. It is sprinkled in with moments of joy, hope, happiness and learning but never strays from reminding you about the grim conclusion that is to come. I believe this story accurately shows how young girls may experience a world where survival is a constant struggle and where it must be faced alone.

The story feels episodic with the 2 main characters moving to a new setting and encountering problems and read more