Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Houkago Hokenshitsu

Houkago Hokenshitsu

Alternative Titles

English: After School Nightmare
Synonyms: Afterschool Nightmare
Japanese: 放課後保健室

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 10
Chapters: 39
Status: Finished
Published: Dec 22, 2004 to 2008
Authors: Mizushiro, Setona (Story & Art)
Serialization: Princess

Statistics

Score: 8.001 (scored by 7226 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #9892
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #546
Members: 15,256
Favorites: 700

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 2, 2008
spiffyish (All reviews)
Preliminary
HOW I WAS INTRODUCED TO AFTER SCHOOL NIGHTMARE:
Just a few days ago a friend posted some avatars/icons at Livejournal. The series was After School Nightmare and it was *gorgeous*. I figured that and her word that it was a good series was enough to justify tracking it down and reading it. (Note at the bottom over accessibility.)

STORY (9/10):
The originality of this story is really one of it's strongest points. Just reading a plot summary may make it sound like any of the gender-bending shoujo titles available right now, but it's more creative than any other I've read. The idea of read more
Aug 18, 2010
-Naami- (All reviews)
I don’t often read shoujo manga, mostly because I tend to find that shoujo manga would fall under one of the two categories: ones filled with blushing heroines, princely (lady) boys and convenient fairytale stories or the other side of shoujo; the one that attempts to be dark and mysterious but most of the time only ends up being filled with pretty gothic clothes and whiny characters. Although there are some excellent works that fit under these stereotypes and pull it off, I do get rather bored of its predictability.

After School Nightmare is such a shoujo manga that keeps me on my toes read more
Sep 23, 2009
Michiko-desu (All reviews)
Okay, After School Nightmare is about a teenager entering school, but he has a big secret. HE is half boy and half female. You may be thinking "ew, this is another one of those shojo gender-bender manga". Do not be fooled! The story is quite good!
Story 9/10
The story line seems simple at first, but becomes continually confusing as the manga wares on. The author drops subtle hints to the ending frequently throughout the manga. You may find yourself back-pedaling a few pages just to understand a specific part. The flow of the story keeps you entertained along with many plot twists.
Art 9/10
The art is beautiful read more
Mar 3, 2009
RedFingers15 (All reviews)
This manga is a very good manga. The plot is scary and makes you want to read more. The conflicts the characters face are very dramatic and satisfying. The story drags you into awesome twists and turns. I loved this manga because it kept me wondering untill the end. If I had time I will re-read it.
Aug 9, 2011
Moon_Light (All reviews)
"Everything I’ve done up to now has led me here.”

I had started a review on this manga when I was half way through it. Then as my mouth was hanging open at the end, I realized- my review was crap. After finishing the manga, it was nothing like I thought it was. So I began writing again knowing I would still come up short.

But I'll start at the beginning before I tell you the end…

Being human is hard enough; getting to know yourself and finding out who you are and where you’re going. For Mashiro that’s even harder. See, Mashiro is half woman and half read more
Oct 8, 2009
Twigglet (All reviews)
This was such a good manga that it left me at a loss for what to say with tears in my eyes because I managed to get so attached to it in such a short amount of time.

The story is of Mashiro Ichijo and the conflicts that he faces because he has a male upper half but his genitalia are that of a female. Two people enter his life: Kureha Fujishima and Sou Mizuhashi, he likes them both but can't decide which one to go for because he can't decide if he's a boy or a girl.

The struggle to find his gender is carried on read more
Dec 7, 2010
ember-snow (All reviews)
I don't know what to say. This manga makes me speechless. I don't know where to start, so I guess I'll just ramble.

This story explores the human heart and mind. It's so masterfully put together to explore the concept behind life. The characters almost feel real when you're reading it. You feel pain when they do, and you feel happiness when they do. They are unlike any other characters. They are not shallow, made-up characters for the sake of telling a story. In fact, the story tells them. The story is great, but the characters are the ones who make it.

Actually, I've read this before. read more
Jun 22, 2010
Maz-Maz (All reviews)
The story was a myriad of twists, it was a labyrinth.
The writer must have been CRAZY to have come up with a storyline like this, let me tell you.

First you'd just think it was one helloffa weird story.
Then you get some stomach-turning and churning twists when you realise that the main character is confused out of his mind of what 'its' sexuality is.
The story basically took some personalities you see in high-school and blew them out of proportion, taking them to extremies to get the readers attention and make it possible to link the ideas.

It was so unshallow and unpredictable that you read more
Sep 22, 2010
Foolness (All reviews)
A (highly) unique manga but not deserving the amount of high reviews it has on MAL.

The thing that stands out to me is how far off the reviews are with the actual "overall" definition of the manga.

This can be understandable as it can be quite difficult reviewing a manga with several major character developments without spoiling the whole thing.

This however doesn't excuse how all the reviews read like they are reviewing the synopsis instead of the whole thing.

The two main issues I'd like to contrast with the other reviews are that:

1) This isn't a twist within a twist manga

There are really few to no read more
Dec 27, 2009
Cyniara (All reviews)
This manga really made the hit with me.First of all I was totally impressed, because plot was extraordinary. In addition, characters were made very precisely. Everyone has its own history and deep personality. Second I have never met similar story. In the third place I think everything is extremely emotional. I have experienced their gladness, despair... To make long story short I would like to say: " Don't believe reviews, just read it by yourselves! You won't regret it." :)
Sep 10, 2014
Cryptic-senpai (All reviews)
Houkago Hokenshitsu (“After School Nightmare” in English), by Mizushiro Setona, is a coming of age story of learning to accept who you are – and discovering who you are in the first place. From the get go, we are introduced to our main character, Ichijou Mashiro, who has a very unique problem...he is neither entirely male nor is he entirely female. Mashiro lives his high school life quite contentedly as a boy until his first menstruation cycle, after which things start to go wrong (or right, depending on how you look at things).

Bildungsroman are common tales in and of itself, but I have never read more
Dec 16, 2010
sarahsboot (All reviews)
Overall I give this manga a 7... I would have been willing enough to give a 9 but sadly enough I think the ending, though original and unexpected, blew it all. I really liked where it was going until the last chapter or even the last volume. To me it seems like it was finished quickly so it would be over, so the end is not really satisfying if you ask me.

The art was relatively good (though I have seen better) and the characters were most of the time surprising. Though I was sad to see some characters go, I really liked the devellopement read more
Jun 12, 2010
Jaloyoloti (All reviews)
A very interesting manga that's worth checking out. 10 volumes with about four chapters each.


The story centers around Ichijo Mashiro (or Mashiro Ichijou for the purists). Ichijo is intersexed and in the series he defines it as having a male "top" and female "bottom" as he has female genitals but a more masculine features in general which means, in most anime/manga, Ichijo is a very pretty man.
Ever since he can remember Ichijo has chosen to live as a male for the main reason that it's easier but one day the issue of gender identity rears its head again when he is in the shower and read more
Dec 13, 2010
Bears2002 (All reviews)
Overall I think it was a good series. I was really shocked by the last volume... not what I expected at all, but I won't spoil anything. I suppose that's why I didn't rate as high as I would have? I mean I really like that the ending had a huge twist to it, but I also felt the ending left the readers without a lot of closure on some issues.

The premise of the series is REALLY interesting, its what got me started reading it in the first place. I had never seen or read anything like it before; very original. The plot makes read more
Nov 7, 2009
Stranglehold77 (All reviews)
This is one of the most original and creative manga series I have ever read. When I I first started reading I just couldn't stop until I finished it. Through the entire story the reader is kept on their toes until the very end when it all clicks together. A beautiful romance and a gruesome horror tale that makes your heart beat faster through every twist and turn. I strongly recommend this series to anyone!

You can actually find this series in its entirety at mangafox.com
Aug 18, 2010
Noofar (All reviews)
Preliminary
After School Nightmare is an outstanding piece of artwork literature?! the character development, storyline, and art everything about it, is perfectly matched together?! Some people might not handle the mental psychological background behind the story!?

After the read the story it took a full day to understand the concept of the story!? it completely took me off guard and made be dumbfounded?!

The main character is physically a male, however internally is a female (Inter-sexual)!? the whole story takes you deep inside his nightmares of struggle between choosing his sexuality!? Some other characters help me along the way to choose what sex/gender he wants/ought to read more
Feb 22, 2010
Amiable_Raven (All reviews)
This was truly a remarkable manga. I was so enthralled from beginning to end. This is a very dark manga. And the ending is truly surprising and sad.

I just happened upon After School Nightmare when reading my other mangas. I was very skeptical that I would enjoy it, but I was so wrong. I could not stop reading. I was wanting to know more and more and more and see what would happen next!!

The art work is very beautiful. Even the gore scenes have a gruesome beauty. Eye expressions and body languages are amazing. You can truly see how the characters feel.

Each character if very read more
Dec 9, 2011
Slumber (All reviews)
Really weird but sort of in a good way. It’s an interesting concept to say the least.

I will post spoilers but it’ll be under my review and I’ll mark it off. You can read this part and not worry. The spoiler part is mainly my issues with the story/things I didn’t understand.

The story is about Mashiro, a student whose top half is male and bottom half is female. His character is going through high school but as you’ll quickly notice, it’s not a normal school. Students are disappearing one by one, and not only that, but once they disappear so do the memories of them. read more
Nov 22, 2015
Grapesandraisin (All reviews)
There are some manga that make me go "Huh? Da fuq did I just read?" This is one of them. Do I mean this in a good way? Kinda yes, kinda no. I decided to read this manga because, well, the synopsis seemed interesting. The reviews looked good, too, so why not? I thought. To be honest, I don't think the manga should be as praised as it is here on MAL.

"After School Nightmare" is a solid 7, but not anything higher than that. The manga definitely has its good moments -- there are deep, meaningful layers that make it 'good.' However I found read more
Aug 29, 2010
personinpajamas (All reviews)
when i first found this i was like emmm i dont no and almost passed it up but diecided to read a couple of chapters and if i didnt like it i just dropp it and im slow on getting thing so in the summary when it implied the she was half male half female i didnt get it then read the first chpter and i was like wtf?! but i continued and i must say it is very entaining and its gott its wtf moments and the moments ur smiling retardedly at ur comuter screen and then ur yelling at it though the read more