Grand Blue
Grand Blue Dreaming
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Grand Blue

Alternative Titles

English: Grand Blue Dreaming
Japanese: ぐらんぶる

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Apr 7, 2014 to ?
Genres: ComedyComedy, Slice of LifeSlice of Life, SeinenSeinen
Authors: Inoue, Kenji (Story), Yoshioka, Kimitake (Art)
Serialization: good! Afternoon

Statistics

Score: 9.021 (scored by 3333533,335 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #82
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #64
Members: 93,404
Favorites: 9,311

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Aug 26, 2016
Hippe0 (All reviews)
It's not often that a Manga makes me literally laughing out loud.
Most comedy Manga were either totally unfunny and boring or just managed to make me blow the air slightly more forceful through my nostrils.
Grand Blue isn't one of those Manga.

The story isn't very special. The art is good but nothing outstanding. Except when one of the characters goes bonkers. Most of the time you'll probably laugh because of the ridiculous over the top depiction of certain emotions.
If you just want to lean back, have a good laugh and not worry about your (shitty) life, then this is the Manga for you.
If read more
Jan 16, 2017
sheroze (All reviews)
Grand Blue is a diving manga.

It is about college freshmen confused with what club they want to join and how to spend their college lives. They get invited by their incredibly nice senpai and join the diving club. This review will focus on how this manga portrays diving and how people discover love for an activity they were completely new to.

The story of Grand Blue is quite simple yet very satisfying to read. It follows the generic new students don't know what they want to do with their lives and end up joining a club out of curiosity but Grand Blue executes this very read more
Jan 30, 2017
Raw_Meat (All reviews)
Grand Blue is a masterclass work of slapstick and gag humor.

Although the series is about "diving", the setting and premise serve primarily as guidelines for the plot to direct its comedy. In other words, characters can derail into basically any subplot and then realign itself at the end of each arc to ensure the series doesn't go too far off on a tangent and overwhelm the reader with too much absurdity.

The setting itself provides a reasonable justification for the kind of humor you see. Drinking naturally comes with college parties and nudity "naturally" comes with drinking. Diving also offers a unique focal point to read more
Sep 3, 2016
ForgotMyRice (All reviews)
There are very few anime/manga which actually make me laugh and this is definitely one of them! The humor is absolutely amazing and the artwork compliments it perfectly. I really hope this manga gets more attention and becomes popular because I've enjoyed this much more than the more popular comedy manga at the moment like prison school. This is a fresh breather from all the high school comedies since this takes place in college so it has a bit more freedom with comedy involving alcohol, which happens to be where most of the comedy is based on. The misunderstandings are what make this manga one read more
Sep 19, 2020
zaratrass (All reviews)
Ever feel like taking a break from your heated life, sitting in that comforting corner of your balcony and reading a nice comedy which is heartful? Look no further than Grand Blue.

“The cure for anything is salt water: sweat, tears or the sea”.

Grand Blue is a college/university humour manga series about the passion of diving into the alluring blue ocean. The way it's presented makes you lose yourself to the beauty of the underwater world. It portrays the themes of it to their very peak with it's lively cast of characters and memorable moments. There's nothing unique or much to the story as this is read more
Jul 17, 2020
BryanGT (All reviews)
So Grand Blue...
I didn't quite know what to expect. Comedy, after all, is one of the most subjective genres.

However, I didn't expected for this to be a Japanese version of American Pie. Yes, you read correctly. This is at the same level of the shitty comedy that you loved when you were 12 or 13.

I can't be totally negative with this manga, because it has some really funny moments. Specially in the art department. I like how the author uses gag and physical comedy - gestures, faces, etc.

But the characters are flat, the dialogue is bad, and the plot is cliché.

I can only say read more
Aug 2, 2019
GGShang (All reviews)
There is a beauty that lies within Grand Blue. I never thought that I'd be using that word to describe a manga like this, but it's honestly so true.

I'm going to skim over all the stuff that everyone else has already said and would recognize from the first few chapters: Grand Blue is a great comedy that has over-the-top reactions and comedy that somehow doesn't get old.
The reason for all that is definitely because the characters are fleshed out well and are all quirky enough to allow for a multitude of different scenarios and crazy things to happen. All that is great and all, but read more
Dec 17, 2018
Mahir_Rahman (All reviews)
I loved reading this.

TLDR;Grand Blues anime adaption is what drove me to reading this manga in the first place. And its manga is what opened me to world of manga. I originally thought that it would be impossible for me to find a manga that makes me laugh as much as its animated counterpart, I was wrong. I am very proud to say this is my first manga and it was one of my favorite reads of all time. I felt it was a masterpiece in the idea of a comedy with a story. It had perfectly incorporated a story in all of its jokes read more
Apr 3, 2017
21slav (All reviews)
Alright. Please view this as a review from a regular person, not as someone who specializes in the whole anime and manga scene. While I have watched anime and read some manga this manga is by far the best story(?) I have ever experienced. Not because the MC has grown strong enough to defeat a thousand mecha-Hitlers, but because the entire premise of this manga is outstanding. I have never LAUGHED out loud while watching a show or reading a story but this manga has made me do so. If any of you are like me and cringe super hard(like almost enough for you to read more
Oct 5, 2020
Veldora_dragneel (All reviews)

Its a "MASTERPIECE". Its "BOOOOOOTIFUUULLL" and I love it. Ive read this manga three times and yet didn't feel bored.

The story is quite simple, its all about,-------------- "Diving". Its about few college freshman's , wondering what they want to do with their lives and end up joining the diving club out of curiosity. The humor and artwork are simply AMAZING.

There are very few manga which CAN make me laugh and this is definitely one of them!


You're about to graduate from high school and are wondering how your college life will be after that, READ THIS MANGA.

You're sick of of your life and read more
Sep 29, 2020
homemcordial (All reviews)
Grand Blue isn't a manga about diving, it's an ode to youth.

sure, diving plays a big part, but merely serves to symbolize the many new experiences and new world college life provides. keep that in mind while reading this review.

STORY: 8/10
well, it's a slice of life, so don't expect a complicated plot. it does it's job, providing context so the characters and comedy can thrive. but as of right now (chapter 63) there seems to be a bit of a romance element growing, so maybe the story itself will actually get interesting.

ART: 9/10
Grand Blue wouldn't be as funny if it didn't have this artwork
Yoshioka's a read more
Mar 4, 2017
Gazz (All reviews)
Grand Blue is one of those rare manga that will make you laugh till you cry without animation or sounds. Yup, that's how funny it is.

Story: 7/10
Story is very simple actually. Iori start his college life near the ocean in Izu city with his cousins then suddenly his uncle introduces him to a store called Grand Blue, where it teaches diving. Later, they finally convinced Iori to join the diving club. There’s no serious plot; it’s just the daily lives of Iori in Grand Blue, and his goal to become a licensed diver.

Art: 10/10
The artwork of this manga is outstanding. Detail of the ocean or read more
Mar 22, 2020
DeN11 (All reviews)
This is my favorite manga of all time
Never have I laughed out loud every chapter for a comedy manga.

The story of Grand Blue is wonderfully crafted with situations that will make anyone laugh out loud. Apart from the hilarious comedy, this manga contains something that many other comedy manga don't contain, that is heart? Similar to Gintama (One of my favorite anime), Grand Blue arcs tells an endearing story of growth and acceptance while mixing in hilarious situation in every chapter.

The art work is rather simplistic most of the time, but that allows the manga artist to quickly switch to a detail facial expression read more
Aug 3, 2017
Selocan (All reviews)
I am reading the series of Grand Blue now. And I must explain that this serie is very extremely funny because jokes.The main character and his best friend's life is also a big joke too. It has a different style than other series for me. Also I am learning about scuba diving too.I think I found scuba diving interesting after I started this manga serie too. So if you interested about my entry I think you will love this manga serie. I hope it will be turned in an anime serie too.

Thanks for reading my first entry...
I hope you will enjoy :)
Aug 18, 2018
iMysteriousAura (All reviews)
This is my review for Grand Blue. I’ll be referring to the characters by what they are most commonly called in the manga. Please note that this review is structured around how I personally felt about the manga: objectively, it deserves an overall rating of 9. (individual ratings of 6/9/10 for story, art, and character, respectively), and subjectively, I give it a 9 as well.

Story: 6/10

Before we start things off, I'd like to say that there is little to no story in Grand Blue. Sure, the beginning few chapters set up the basic storyline, but that's about it. To sum things up, the main character, read more
Apr 2, 2017
miwasan4 (All reviews)
This is by far the funniest manga I've ever read . All the characters , the scenarios (not all of them), story, everything is so relatable. I think this manga showcases everything that a student aspires for in his college/university life , everything he wants to be and everything he couldn't be . This manga somehow spoke to me at a spiritual level. Every chapter is so good , and all of them made me laugh like crazy. The most important thing about comedy is that the reader has to understand and relate to the joke or the punchline to be able to get the read more
Dec 28, 2020
CloudyDay22 (All reviews)
*Sigh* ... Grand Blue, a goldmine of a manga. From the initial sheer shocking introduction of the story to a drinking club half-posing as a diving club, Grand Blue certainly covers everything excellently.

**Possible spoilers ahead?**

Going into the manga, I didn't expect much. The cover image wasn't exactly alluring and the synopsis seemed, well... like a typical slice of life with a tinge of diving. However, it didn't take long for me to fall head over heels for this manga.
On a side note, as a pretty big Kaguya-Sama fan (my previous favorite manga), I was a bit shocked that with just thirty or so chapters, read more
Jul 31, 2020
Rodolfo_Silveira (All reviews)
Comedy manga doesn't get any better than Grand Blue.

While following the insane college life of the main character and supporting cast through bizarre situations, you inevitably grow to love their personalities and interactions with each other. At its core, Grand Blue is a story about relationships and shines in dialogues and visual storytelling.

The comedy, that at face value may seem simplistic, actually gets better and better the more you know the characters and style - think South Park minus the overly deep themes -, and is highlighted by the gorgeous art and superb facial expressions (seriously, Grand Blue is the king of funny faces).

Oddly enough, read more
Jan 15, 2020
drunklee (All reviews)
(Might contain mild spoilers) Most certain 10/10 I can think of. Also, this review kinda includes the anime as well, since they have the same vibe and not many changes. While it's not actually perfect, it nails every aspect it has to. Starting with the the simpler things to explain, the art is really good, especially in the scenarios and character comical faces. Where it looses points to me is only in the fish and sea animals in general, witch might seem like not enough to take 2 points, but since it's supposed to be a scuba diving manga I think they should have gone read more
Jun 21, 2019
SSa1nt (All reviews)
THIS is a manga about diving.
Never have I read a manga that made me laugh so much as Grand Blue, every chapter this manga has, made me laugh like no other.
The story is nothing special however the execution of it combined with the jokes makes the story infinitely more enjoyable and before long you'll start caring for these characters and enjoying the way they interact with each other.
The art is another part that makes this manga special, at first you may think the faces are too simple and that its just your regular anime art style however its not, Grand blue has one of the read more