Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Neon Genesis Evangelion

Neon Genesis Evangelion

Alternative Titles

English: Neon Genesis Evangelion
Synonyms: Shinseiki Evangelion
Japanese: 新世紀エヴァンゲリオン

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 14
Chapters: 97
Status: Finished
Published: Dec 26, 1994 to Jun 4, 2013
Authors: Sadamoto, Yoshiyuki (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Ace

Statistics

Score: 8.561 (scored by 25351 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1052
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #106
Members: 53,738
Favorites: 4,826

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 3, 2013
Shoryu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Most likely of why you're here is because you just finished the anime known as "Neon Genesis Evangelion" and simply want more, more beyond than what the Rebuild movies could ever provide for you! Curious ol' you now wonders, "Is it even worth reading this manga?" Granted, it is assumed you really enjoyed the anime series to even consider it. Otherwise, if you're one of the ones that didn't like Neon Genesis Evangelion to begin with (and that's okay!), you'll for the most part see exactly what you were offered in the anime and thus you might want to steer clear of this manga.
Now, for read more
Aug 28, 2015
Qpeirndndbwuei (All reviews)
Don't hesitate. Read it.

If you loved the anime, this will be great

If you hated the anime, this is redemption

Well...
If you havent watched the anime, Watch the anime first, the series, and then come back.

Although it's my personal opinion, this is much better than the anime. It's cleaned up, brings all of the characters together in a good manner, and the character development is much more enjoyable.

The psychological scenes have more meaning and aren't thousands of random pictures and images being thrown into your face

I haven't read a lot of mangas, but I couldn't stop reading this. It's funny, has lots of emotions, and read more
Nov 26, 2009
Die_Mann (All reviews)
Preliminary
Has decided to make the review of this manga so it has very strongly hooked on me. First I always liked a theme of psychology, strangenesses, etc. (and Evangelion I consider as the best psychological anime/manga, that proves numerous interrogations) and secondly I would like to learn history on manga. And I have not regretted. Even those moments, characters, an outcome of a story, incomprehensibility of a story, incompleteness of a story, "not up to disclosing" of characters and other, other, that in TV or Movie initially have not liked me with perusal manga completely have exchanged (and favourite only were grew fond)
As to manga read more
Jun 27, 2014
FullmetalCowboy (All reviews)
Critic’s Log - Earthdate: June 27, 2014. Manga Review #1: Neon Genesis Evangelion.



In March 12, 2012. I posted my first Anime review which was on the Anime series Cowboy Bebop. I have been posting Anime Reviews since for two years. Now that I’ve been reviewing Anime for that long, I felt it was time for me to start reviewing Manga. Let’s face it, not every Manga gets an Anime adaptation, and some Anime adaptations do deviate from the Manga they are adapting from. There are even some Mangas that are adapted from Anime series as well… This Manga series I’m about to review isn’t read more
Jun 20, 2013
Shadostepz (All reviews)
Spoiler Alert! It's recommended you do not read the following unless you have finished both Neon Genesis Evangelion (anime and manga versions), as well as the theatrical ending, Death & Rebirth. Got any questions or comments about this review? Message me. Enjoy!

"Neon Genesis Evangelion.
My god, what a journey it's been."

I've said this phrase a total of three times after seeing the anime/rebuilds, Death & Rebirth, and finally the manga. I have to say though, neither of the first two were as refreshing as the third. (In this review, I refer to both the anime and Death & Rebirth as one component of the series)

Neon read more
Feb 26, 2016
Paraturtle (All reviews)
This review is for both newcomers and veterans of NGE who have yet to read the manga.

Story:
You're walking into a heavy laden narrative filled with an incredibly thick amount of character drama. Even if you're only reading this because big robots and monsters, it's better for each big robot to be piloted by a well-developed character and for a giant monster to pose a threat to them, then to merely watch them fight because reasons. For a story to have a strong ensemble cast is quite impressive, and it flows flawlessly across each of their histories to tell an all inclusive story that demands a read more
Aug 20, 2014
Mothmonsterman (All reviews)
It was towards the end of summer and I had yet to ever read a manga and I had tons of time on my hands so I decided to read the manga adaptation of Neon Genesis Evangelion, as the anime before had left in a sort of confused state and I didn't totally understand what people meant when they said that Eva is deep, but that was before I read this...

Impression:
From the very get go I was pulled into the story just as episode one of the anime had done before, but this didn't feel like the Eva I previously knew, it was different as read more
Nov 25, 2018
StaySkeptic (All reviews)
[Note: I read this in Japanese, but my Japanese isn't amazing yet.]

6/10

If this adaptation was just the show in Comic form, I'd have never wanted to read it. However I got interested in seeing Sakamoto's altered version of the story and how it compares, and thus I picked it up and used it as my next Japanese practice source.

Unless the adaptation entirely changes everything, or the source material was just meant to be a base, the Source Material is usually better than the adaptation as it takes advantage of said medium's strengths. I noticed anime originals tend to be of better quality than their adapted read more
Jul 5, 2018
TheSovietOnion (All reviews)
[Spoilers marked]

Incredible adaption of Anno's famous Anime of the same name. This manga contains seemingly minor changes to events and characterization that provides large changes to the story and the perception of the characters, making it a worthwhile read even for someone who has viewed the TV Anime + Movies multiple multiple times (like me).

Story (minor spoilers follow) [9/10]: This manga features the same incredible story of the anime with a few changes. As the anime has a (in my eyes) perfect story, this one is incredible as well. My one gripe [this is where the spoilers are] concerns the ending. It, in read more
Mar 25, 2017
TeKSMeLater (All reviews)
Neon Genesis Evangelion left a great impact upon the anime culture and to this day possesses the archetypal tropes that not only are seen in modern-day mecha anime, but also within other genres. The original anime sparked so many discussions and theories among the characters, and the depth it actually gives, while in essence, it really just comes off as pretentious.

The 1995 anime felt boring. Not the film, though, because the film wraps up the story nicely and grotesquely. The TV series had a disjointed narrative that, while good in confusing the audience on the big picture, does not give enough for the events transpiring read more
Mar 18, 2017
Snivius (All reviews)
For if you enjoyed the series but felt as though the budget constraints and ending were disappointing (Before End of Eva) this is for you.

For the most part is the basic retelling of the original series Story which is fine because A) Its merely meant to be another version and adaptation for people and B) Because even though it is for the most part there are newer parts to the story which, despite how small they are, end up benefiting the series and the characters background more. If you like the story already then you can enjoy the pure story itself but can now appreciate read more
Mar 5, 2017
Grardox (All reviews)
"Review" in English and Spanish/"Reseña en ingles y español.



This, more than a review, will be a comparative between the anime and manga of Neon Genesis.

Neon Genesis Evangelion is an original anime from 95, the last hope of poor GAINAX and a work that over the years is considered as a masterpiece, a good anime or shit.
The manga came a few months before to promote the anime, by the hand of Sadamoto Yoshiyuki (Who is known for the design of characters in the series), has 96 chapters compiled in 14 volumes, was published from December 26, 1994 to The 4 of July of 2013, one of read more