Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

To LOVE-Ru

To LOVE-Ru

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: To LOVE-Ru Trouble, To-Love-Ru, To Love You, To Love You - Trouble, Toraburu, ToLoveRu
Japanese: To LOVEる -とらぶる-

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 18
Chapters: 162
Status: Finished
Published: Apr 24, 2006 to Aug 31, 2009
Authors: Yabuki, Kentarou (Art), Hasemi, Saki (Story)
Serialization: Shounen Jump (Weekly)

Statistics

Score: 7.691 (scored by 20412 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #20642
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #96
Members: 33,974
Favorites: 1,690

Reviews

Lyfa
Mar 12, 2008
Alright at first I need to say, this is one of my fav manga's but I will judge pretty strict so...

Story:
At first a normal story will start, well it's what you call normal I mean who meets a princess from a other planet, well Rito does meet the beautiful Lala Satalin, who did run away from a marriege on her own planet, when she knows him better she falls in love with him... but Rito falls for Haruna, a shy girl that he knows from when he was little... after some chapters this story will a little disappear and there will be random story's about read more
I found this review Helpful
Master10K
May 16, 2008
To-LOVE-Ru is a Harem, Sci-fi, Romantic, Comedy that gives off the initial feel of an idiotic Rom/Com nevertheless it is still an entertaining read. If you feel like having a laugh then this never-ending manga is worth checking out.

It’s basically about a high school boy (Rito Yuuki) who is forced into becoming a marriage candidate for an alien girl (Lala). It begins with him protecting her from the various marriage candidates’ confrontations but soon after that finishes, the story moves onto the typical high school Rom/Com, full of idiotic sci-fi elements and every shounen Rom/Com cliché imaginable (e.g. misunderstandings). Sure if you enjoy these type read more
I found this review Helpful
MassZERO
Mar 21, 2008
To Love-Ru is one of those series I always eagerly wait for to be released, simply because it has a high enjoyment value, mostly because of the comedy, and on top of that loads of fanservice, which gets even better because of the incredibly good art style. That said, I must say that it doesn't go any further than that. Even though the art is great and enjoyment value is high, the story lacks enormously and I also don't notice a lot of character development. Sure there's story, sure there's character development, but it's all very weak and minimal. Though, both these factors are not read more
I found this review Helpful
nyesman
Oct 15, 2011
I first started reading this manga about a year ago. I finished the anime (which sucked, by the way), and I saw that there was a "readaptation," Motto To LOVE-Ru, that followed the manga more faithfully, which sparked my interest in reading the manga. I walked into the manga, not expecting much, and the first few chapters were closely related to the first anime. I dropped the manga for a year after being disappointed, thinking it wouldn't change. I recently picked it up again and actually read the entire series in less than two weeks. Let me explain why I became obssesed with such a read more
I found this review Helpful
redsilversnake
Sep 16, 2009
After finishing Black Cat, I decided to check out some of Yabuki Kentaro's other works. Since I never found Yamato Gensouki, I figured I'd settle for To-LOVE-Ru, even though he only did the artwork and the premise was practically a carbon copy of Urusei Yatsura's.
To be honest, I actually found the first few dozen chapters to be fine. The jokes were largely hit-or-miss, but Yabuki's artwork and the chemistry between the characters kept me reading. All-in-all, it was a typical ecchi harem that didn't really wear out its welcome.
But then, at some point, writer Hasemi Saki lost steam. Her jokes grew more and more bland, read more
I found this review Helpful
erireira
Feb 20, 2009
aah, To-Love-Ru......
what a great manga to look at from the authors, Yabuki Kentaro(Black Cat) and Saki Hasemi.....
i like the come back of Eve as Yami in the manga, and Kyoko as the magical kyoko.
i think, To-Love-Ru has a great story, art, and characters that is ejoyable to see and look at closely.
you wouldn't wanna miss it!!
but, the anime is kinda dissapointing and only had 26 episodes...
but overall, this manga is worth readed!!! ^_^
I found this review Helpful
Rayyken
Jul 19, 2016
To LOVE-Ru serialized in Weekly Shounen Jump from April 2006 to August 2009. To LOVE-Ru is a Harem, Ecchi, Romance and Comedy manga that is well known to this day. The story is written by Hasemi Saki and the art is drawn by Yabuki Kentarou, which is the same artist as the Black Cat manga series.

I first heard of To LOVE-Ru a long time ago on an anime recommendations video on youtube. But, I don't really listen to recommendations, as opinions differ and I don't think that the reasons he listed would make me like it. But, almost a year later, I started reading the read more
I found this review Helpful
GodEmperor
Jun 27, 2010
Please be gentel with me cuase I suck at spelling and I have never written a review before...that siad let me start this off by saying Im a huge Harem fan and have read and seen very similiar stories and characters like the ones found in To-Love-Ru. The thing that sets this one apart though is that the story doesnt take it far enough and ends with you begging for more....


First things first, how lucky can you be to have a beautiful alien princess land in your lap and then almost instantly fall in love with you?? Will if your Rito then your that lucky. read more
I found this review Helpful
artemishiu
Aug 27, 2009
I decided to write this review after learning that this manga series will be completed next week. Despite my enjoyment of the series, I knew that the fanservice that the author provided wouldn't keep it afloat for much longer. I loved the story for it's comedy and yes, I also like the ecchiness. However, I feel that the story could have been much better. Out of the 160+ chapters that the authors managed to draw/write, only about 60-70% could have been considered story-relevant. Which also explains why the characters got a 7, after all, how can the character develop is the story doesn't? The art read more
I found this review Helpful
vince1996
Feb 13, 2014
To Love-Ru is a manga that uses a variety of genres which includes romance, harem and sci-fi; the plot centres around Yuki Rito a high schooler who is in love with his class mate Haruna Sairenji until he meets the alien Lala in which many misadventures spawn from.

Story - 8
The story of To Love-Ru at a first glance looks like sci-fi ecchi harem that centres around the character getting into to all sorts of random trouble, which is part is what it is but it does have slowly developing plot that slowly creeping plot which developed without me noticing until near the end which I read more
I found this review Helpful
Hamstersofdoom90
Aug 7, 2011
I liked To LOVE-Ru because it neither failed nor exceeded my expectations. I took it for what it was, a comedic ecchi harem, and nothing more. And I wasn't disappointed in the ending, like I was with Ichigo 100%.

Story: 4
The story was more of a distraction (and at best a complementary element) to the overall read. It got pretty crazy and beyond explanation most of the time, but it wasn't anything I got upset over. However, if you want a manga with a good plot, you might wanna skip this one.
Art: 9
The art style made this manga for me. The extremely well-drawn characters scenes read more
I found this review Helpful
Ace04
Jul 24, 2016

You think you have seen it all??? Not so fast dudes... Not until a pink haired, innocent alien princess emerges right out of your bathtub stark naked. Or not until you are informed of the fact that a silent assassin who is feared across the galaxy is after your head. Here comes the world of To-love ru defining friendship, youth and love (with a bit of ecchi acts, sneak-peek of panty shots and titty-groping... Wait, did I say a bit??? I mean a lot...). I mean what is a teenager school life without a genius alien girl, a shape shifting flirty idol, a clumsy ghost read more
I found this review Helpful