Fuuka
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Fuuka

Alternative Titles

English: Fuuka
Japanese: 風夏

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 20
Chapters: 204
Status: Finished
Published: Feb 12, 2014 to Apr 4, 2018
Genres: DramaDrama, EcchiEcchi, MusicMusic, RomanceRomance, ShounenShounen
Authors: Seo, Kouji (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 7.431 (scored by 1675516,755 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #30192
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #250
Members: 39,039
Favorites: 1,512

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 11, 2015
Legendzerox (All reviews)
Preliminary
*THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS*

I honestly have no idea what this manga is getting such high reviews, its abysmal. I honestly thought he couldn't do much worse than Suzuka. Well, I was completely wrong.

Fuuka, down to its core, is a music tragedy that tried so hard to be different but failed so hard. In the end, it became nothing to a cookie cutout of all the other musical tragedies out there and for that, is nothing but boring and stale and lacks anything that would make it continue to be worth reading.

The whole manga feels rushed and it never ever feels like its well paced. read more
Nov 25, 2014
Ph3niXu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Even thought i have this account from 2010 this is my first review, so i hope it will help you.

The story is verry original, complex, funny but you will also cry at this manga is if you read it with heart.

I don't like beeing a spoiler but if you like genres like Music, Sports, Funny and also Drama you have to watch it.

Also even though the title is the name of a girl the main character is a boy who by the entire story becomes a real man. With good times and funny jokes and also with sorrowfull times when you might cry, this manga read more
May 30, 2014
Zayn_Boss (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story: 9
The story to Fuuka is well paced, light-hearted, funny, romantic... It's heart-warming to read stories like this. Kouji Seo puts amazing effort into all of his stories.

Art: 10
Every piece of work done by Kouji Seo has out-of-this-world art. This manga is no exception. You can see how much work is put into this every day, just by looking at the art, without even reading anything.

Character: 10
Honestly, I like the characters in Fuuka a lot. Fuuka's character is a music lover who needs music to feel complete. Haruna is a likeable character who keeps to himself, and values peace of mind. Although, he's a read more
Mar 30, 2014
Burukkusu (All reviews)
Preliminary
This sequel to Suzuka is great so far. With only a handful of chapters out, I can tell it has a bright future just like it's prequel series (Suzuka) not Machi. The story is in the same world as Suzuka (obviously) and is about Suzuka and Yamato's daughter Fuuka, and Fuuka is already much like her mother was in the early chapters of Suzuka. It kind of already feels like Suzuka except just different characters. Also, Fuuka is the same age as her mother was in the Suzuka manga.

I highly recommend this to all Suzuka fans out there who have been dying for an read more
May 21, 2018
Pipe (All reviews)
Fuuka is not a fantastic story as Suzuka. It has good and bad points. The hard question: Is it Suzuka’s sequel? For me, it is not. Some characters from the previous series appear here, at some point in the story, you will notice a disjuncture separating Fuuka from Suzuka, however. On the other hand, we can appreciate Seo’s style in the story. Furthermore, the story has some interesting twists that could get you happier and angry at the same time. It is hard to describe my feelings towards Fuuka but it is not Suzuka and never will.

If you are a fan of Suzuka, you read more
Nov 13, 2018
mangareader123 (All reviews)
Yuu Haruna is the typical shonen protagonist, a plain looking guy with no particular abilities. He meets an interesting girl, Fuuka and shares her interest in music. They met a few more friends and make a music band. That's the beginning of this manga, Fuuka.

I really love Beck, so I saw that Fuuka was recommended, what I also saw was that it had lots of downvotes, ie. many people have rated it 1/10 , and that's unreasonable. Maybe it is because when they started reading, they were expecting a sequel to Suzuka,(by Seo Kouji, same author), or maybe they were expecting a definite plot, sadly read more
Dec 3, 2015
ojQ8abjNGpYecfiV (All reviews)
Preliminary
**DOES NOT CONTAIN SPOILERS**

Simply put, many of the bad reviews for Fuuka are due to a single plot twist. Just one.

A plot twist so atypical of this genre, so uncharacteristic of the creator, and so devastatingly unexpected given the premise of the story that it was *bound* to divide readers into two very distinct groups: those who drop the series on the spot vs. those who can't stop reading if they wanted to.

After slamming my laptop shut, storming out of my living room, and screaming off my balcony for 15 angry minutes, I found myself in the latter.

IF YOU ARE THINKING ABOUT SPOILING IT FOR read more
Aug 29, 2018
EndlessSky (All reviews)
Fuuka is a very good story and personally this manga has a special spot in my heart regardless of the flaws it has.

In a superficial way Fuuka could be summarized as the story of some young people that seek to succeed in the world of music, however this is just a support for the true story and the set of issues that touches.

The theme of this story is the phases of grief, and in my opinion it has been written in a quite realistic way. I have been touched by the way used to develop it.

The story begins with a prologue of 4 volumes (~ read more
Jun 21, 2015
Kelvets (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm a fan of shoujo. Some of my favorite animes are Kimi Ni Todoke and Ao Haru Ride. But I have to agree with the reviewer Legendzerox that this work is "abysmal", mainly because it has ZERO buildup. The pacing is extremely fast and doesn't leave you any time to get excited and full of expectation for their romance. Furthermore it's very liberal with using classic tropes from anime/manga that everyone has seen a thousand times, which get irritating very quickly and scream unoriginality.

Let me lay down some examples:

- The Main Characters (MCs) meet when the girl (Fuuka) bumps into the guy (Yuu), and calls read more
May 27, 2019
ichigouchiha1324 (All reviews)
background:
I'm a new fan of Seo, Koija I started with Kimi no iru machi and then went to read Suzuka now Fuuka. So I was quite excited to read this. It is a continuation of the same universe of the three stories. They have some cameos of the other characters from both series which is always fun and nice.

Story: What is this about? Well its about Yuu-Haruno your typical shy guy who can't communicate in person but is obsessed with twitter. That all changes with a chance meeting with Fukka. (Who is the daughter of Suzuka and Akitsuki). They become friends and meet some read more
Nov 7, 2014
Neme-chan (All reviews)
Preliminary
CAUTION: MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

--

A great sequel to Suzuka? Pretty interesting. I'll definitely recommend this to all Suzuka and KNIM fans/non-fans out there. Don't let this one slip on your 'to-read' list. I know that you'll enjoy it. :)

STORY (9) - I get goosebumps when I read those romantic and drama parts. I even had to read it over and over again tbh. But I feel like the plot's moving a little bit faster. Probably just me, I guess.

ART (9) - Nothing has changed, or hasn't it? (need to clarify this one) I felt that Suzuka and KNIM art on this one, but I still like read more
Aug 10, 2020
Proto57 (All reviews)
This manga is really good, I really liked it. It was depth and interesting. The story talks about the MC who quickly joins a musical band. We'll see the musical band growing bigger. Of course you will have to follow their problems as a band. Being a band composed of many persons is very complicated, each person is important, the band have to stay together to perform well and even the personal life can make problems to perform.

This manga is not only focused on the music, I usually dont care about musical manga/anime. The only one i have watched is Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso. read more
Apr 8, 2016
Caimthehero (All reviews)
Preliminary
I can't tell you why I read this far. Here's how I imagine this series got created.

Author: What's the most formulaic way to make a popular manga. Let's take another androgynous lead and make a bunch of archetypical girls to form his harem! Wait we need another hook. Screw it, throw in some music and talk about climbing to the heavens or some bullshit. Wait we need Drama and angst! Let's kill off a character early in! That'll show that I'm edgy and anything can happen.

Seriously the art isn't anything special and is filled with fan service to keep 13 year old boys happy. read more
Jul 13, 2014
Tinpdb (All reviews)
Preliminary
How can I write a review without spoilering what made this manga so good to me? Anyone who has just started this and isn't around chapter 15 should go back to it and get there before reading this.

Now, I'm a huge music fan and an amateur musician. And I play bass guitar. I don't really like sports manga, besides the ones with sports I'm familiar with. What made me fall in love with this, then? Simple. It's about a bass player.

I grew up watching Beck: MCS, and this manga looks like a lighter, newer version of the masterpiece I loved. The amount of details read more
Nov 19, 2016
Nectar6 (All reviews)
Preliminary
To be honest, I thought this manga would be a little more like Your Lie In April with the story. I was so very wrong. This manga was terrible. I gave it more time than I would like to admit to become interesting (an entire 42 chapters), but ended up wasting more of my time trying to find a plot or reason for its existence than I did actually engaging in reading this horrid manga. It's not that the characters were not drawn well, they were. It was that they wasted more time focusing on Twitter and a damned phone (or lack thereof) than they read more
Aug 11, 2016
Unique911 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Seo Kouji did pretty good at his previous series Suzuka. Fuuka can be considered the consequence. After reading Fuuka, this is my review:

Story: 2/10.
Honestly, compare to Suzuka, this one boring. The plot seems off and doesnt lead the reader to anywhere. Somehow, i feel like Seo Kouji make this manga in half-ass way. Plus, the death of Fuuka seems too bland.

Art: 7/10
Talking about his art, i support there is nothing much to say.

Character:5/10
The only thing that keeps me interest is the old Fuuka not the new one. The dead Fuuka have interesting personality and that what keep me until she dead. The new one read more
Feb 13, 2019
TheRisingStar (All reviews)
A miracle story that could give you the strength to change your life !!!
Having read all Seo Kouji works, from Half&Half, Kimi no iru machi,... to the recently Suzuka, I strongly believe Fuuka is the best among already-great Seo's masterpieces. Fuuka is a miraculous journey of a legendary music band begun from zero. The story will take you through every level of emotions, from the deepest stage of sadness to the highest level of happiness. It also taught me the beautiful of friendship, family and love.
The best thing about Fuuka, in my own feelings, is that it taught me one life's lesson that i needed read more
Oct 13, 2020
AnotherAutumn (All reviews)
This review is spoiler-free, however, I recommend you read the series completely blind. If you hate it, you hate it; if you love it, you love it; but you'll do yourself no benefit trying to understand why others have such strong feelings around it. Figure it out for yourself and come back to compare.

Fuuka is a story with a lot of problems. If someone asked me to go through commentating each chapter, we'd probably end up with another CinemaSins clone. Overused tropes here, bizarre characterisation there, lewd filler throughout, and a plotline with so many random elements thrown in that it's read more
Jul 27, 2015
JTLouie (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ok, just a bit of warning, I will put up some spoilers in here. But I'll start off with a spoiler free review then move on to a spoiler review. I'll put up "SPOILERS" right before I start the 2nd review to warn you guys. Also, another warning, I like to babble a lot so this may be a pretty lengthy review.

Ok, here we go. In case you don't know, this manga is a sequel to one of Seo's first works and quite possibly the very manga that made Seo as famous as he is today: Suzuka. The fact that we got a sequel to read more
Jun 6, 2017
A-salty-suprise (All reviews)
Preliminary
spoiler free woo hoo(the others aren't)
the most important thing about the manga is this
this is NOT i repeat NOT your goey little romance
and 2 if you are so much as considering this manga jump straight in don't look back just DO IT although this review is technicaly spoiler free if you haven't read any other reviews then don't read past the dotted line, if you have read any other review feel free to read past it it will still be SPOILER FREE just not PURE SPOILER FREE
well it is kinda. its kinda like a creme egg in a marshmellow it starts off as read more