Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

MeruPuri: Märchen☆Prince

MeruPuri: Märchen☆Prince

Alternative Titles

English: MeruPuri
Japanese: めるぷり メルヘン☆プリンス

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 4
Chapters: 22
Status: Finished
Published: Aug 2002 to Sep 2004
Authors: Hino, Matsuri (Story & Art)
Serialization: LaLa

Statistics

Score: 8.141 (scored by 10996 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #6542
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #384
Members: 20,378
Favorites: 934

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 1, 2008
stellarx1587 (All reviews)
Well, this is my very first review... so bear with me! So let's start!...

Story: The story in my opinion was different from the regular shoujo/fantasy/romance setups. It was captivating from beginning to end... in fact... I didn't want it to EVER end. Everything was executed perfectly without any rushing nor dragging. When you can finish up a manga or anime and have that content feeling of satisfactory closure, but yet want more... you know the author did their job.

Art: What can I say... Matsuri Hino's art is freakin' incredible. Completely beautiful, soft, magical, and SEXY! She's the true definition of a Shoujo Mangaka. If I read more
Jan 11, 2008
Maffy (All reviews)
MeruPuri is one of my favorite manga. Personally I loved it from the first chapter and I finished in one day.
The story is the usual "girl meets boy and boy meets girl" and they have to go through adventures to be together. Actually it has little stories in it and together they make all the story. Though the main problem is the age difference xD
The art is great as expected from Hino Matsuri and anyone who has read Vampire Knight or Wanted know this . The thing that catches my eye when reading it is the eyes... always the eyes... She is one of my read more
Feb 9, 2008
Dissapeared (All reviews)
Meru Puri is a love story about Aram and Airi. Airi meets Aram when he comes out of het mirror^^heh. The arts are beautiful, the story is sweet And exiting, because Airi is a heroine. Aram is the kind of boy all girls want to have.

if you like shoujo and fantasy, you really have to read this manga! Sometimes it is a little pervert, but it is really funny.
My favourite manga!

Airi walks to school one morning and loses her mirror. Suddenly a boy comes out of the mirror! A strange boy, who gets bigger in the dark and can only shrink when kissed by read more
Apr 28, 2011
unicornize (All reviews)
I'm going to try and keep this sweet and simple.

Reading this story, I had no expectations. The story was alright. Knowing this was shoujo, I tried to think optimistically throughout the story and not get annoyed to a point I wanted to stop. The story was very predictable, and then again I say to myself-it's a shoujo. A 4 or 7 year old of course doesn't act as mature as Aram acted most of the time. I got confused about their ages especially. I'm going to guess that they're three years apart, even though the ages keep changing throughout the story. The only part I read more
Nov 8, 2009
minkie (All reviews)
The storyline is pretty easy to follow from the start and comfortably introduces the weirdness through comedy. It progresses at a good pace and the feelings of each character come through patiently, leaving you wanting more. The different possible arcs in the series are interesting and make up most of the bulk of the first volumes.

Towards the last two volumes, role-reversal is used to show how Airi comes to see things at anew. She is played on more as a heroine rather than a victim.

The series definitely plays on the fairy tale aspect of it in a comedic way, making the whole idea of magic read more
Jan 19, 2018
WdaCdaShdaDid (All reviews)
Well I kept my expectations low, and it is from 2002-4. I read a preview of this years ago when it was sent to me by Viz. Finally got around to reading the whole thing. It still wasn't very good.

I'm unsure if it's poor translation or what, but it seems like pages of story were removed in several places. Characters skip over important emotional and plot moments for no reason. For instance, after Airi nearly falls to her death off a cliff and gets rescued by Aram, after Raz is disappeared, Airi is immediately apparently over whatever happened between her and Raz, and we only read more
Jun 29, 2008
ichigopan (All reviews)
Great boy-meets-girl shoujo manga. What I loved about the heroine of this series is that she wasn't your typical boring, helpless dame. Airi is actually quite headstrong and has great determination. All the characters are fun and quirky. The artwork is beautiful, as to be expected of all of Matsuri Hino's work. 4 volumes long which is just right. I highly recommend this title if you like fantasy-themed shoujo mangas.
Apr 14, 2012
Sophiie (All reviews)
This manga was amazing(: The story was such an enjoying short story. It probably would've been one of those sotires that ended up getting boring if it was too long. But...when it was over, i still wished it was longer ha :P

The art was just soooo purdy :3 the boys werent just smexii....they were also beautiful x3 hah

The personalities of the characters were great. The main character had such a fun personality ^-^ she was a optimistic girl who kinda reminded me of tohru from fruits basket...but also reminded me of thre pessimistic from heart no kuni no alice.

I enjoyed this story read more
Aug 13, 2008
Maechi (All reviews)
This series is hilarious, heartbreaking, ... and I was going to keep going with the 'h' theme but I can't think of any more. :P This is a rare manga series where I love everyone, even the 'villains'. I love how Airi tries to keep her sanity even when she is surrounded by all these magical boys and their drama. Aram is adorable; I can identify with how Airi feels when he goes back to being young after being old-- like a perv! This series is only four volumes long; the story wraps itself up nicely, but it would have been awesome if there was read more
Dec 16, 2008
KiwiShim (All reviews)
I just finished this series and I must say it's one of the best romance shoujo mangas out there!

The characters are drawn perfectly...down to the very lace. The art is fantastic as usual coming from Hino Matsuri and for a magical story, the plot can be considered unique and slightly unusual. Good news is that for once the female protagonist does not annoy me... The only things that bothered me are Aram and Airi's age difference and Lei and the Queen's suspicious relationship. The ending is also slightly too long, taking up about 3/4 of a volume, so long that I almost rushed through the read more
Feb 3, 2009
MiRiNHa (All reviews)
I love short stories, and this one is perfect. With a cute and very funny story, MeruPuri is simply captivating.
The art is absolutely beautiful, but that was expected coming from Hino Matsuri-sensei (same author of "Vampire Knight" and "Toraware no Minoue"). The characters and places are very well drawn and detailed.
There are few characters, but they're all very likeable. Even the supposed villain is beautiful and incredibly sweet.
So, through lots of romance and comedy, a bit of adventure and some delicious UST, MeruPuri is very fun to read!
For the ones looking some light reading to spend a couple hours and have some good laughs, read more
May 24, 2010
Red_Sakura (All reviews)
Preliminary
Personally for me, Meru Puri's plot is very similar to most fantasy series. A person from a completely different realm is sent to the human world, and falls in love with a human. What makes it different from most is the fact that there are certain twists in every episode that makes you want to read on to the next and never leave your computer screen.
Matsuri Hino proved to me that he is a great writer, and has a wild imagination. For me Meru Puri is something that every girl should put on their "must read" list, because I am quite sure everyone will like read more
Mar 31, 2012
theatricals (All reviews)
My first review ! ^^ Pls. tell me if there is any mistake here~ thank you :) Also, there might be some spoilers. (?)

Story: 10/10
Very original! Makes me wonder what will happen next. Age gap? What's that? lol. Even though Airi is already 16 and Aram is still 7, they still continued loving each other. I like it when shoujo mangas end with characters at ease with each other.

Art: 10/10
Cute, simple and beautiful. The expressions are so Kawaii~ The clothes Aram, Jeile and later Airi are really big and has too much designs. But, I like Hino-san's style of drawing. An example of a good read more
Mar 17, 2010
lali97 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay. This romance is a little weird with a 7 yr old boy and a 15/16 year old girl. This boy is a prince and she is someone with an ancestor who was considered a traitor in this prices territory in the magical kingdom of Astell. This prince's older brother put a spell on him so he turn around this girl age in the darkness and the kiss of the woman he loves will turn him back to normal. With her ancestor being a "traitor" and all it is hard for her and the prince to love.
The "magic", "ancestor" part of the story wasn't all read more
Feb 20, 2009
bloodyroses (All reviews)
This manga is good too. I just keep wonder why they don't want to make the anime? I love the spirit of Airi when she is fighting for her love. And also when she keep her pain because of Aram lost all his memories about her. Even I don't think that this such of perfect love really exist, I love this manga after all. It's quite good for girls (i don't think boys love this kind of story too, XD)
Jul 23, 2013
AzuraTheCat (All reviews)
I'm not much of a Shoujo person but I found this to be quite enjoyable. It's not the best, most gripping tale of all time, but I found it cute and different than what i typically read. The art was very good. I very much liked the characters and the overall humor of this manga.

I didn't have that much of a problem with the 8 year age gap. One of the problems i did have with this manga was the maturity level of Aram, a 7-year-old boy. I don't think anybody was that mature in their speech and actions, and aware enough to know read more
Jul 1, 2013
Creativemind243 (All reviews)
First off I just wanna say, this series was rather short (there's four books in all), but, please, do NOT let that stop you from reading this series!

The overall story was AWESOME. Though in the beginning, it kind of creeped me out, but as it progressed through each chapter, I began to get more and more submerged into the story. 10/10

The art in this story was magnificent. I love Matsuri Hino's style of art. 10/10

The characters were also great. Quite interesting. 9/10

I thoroughly enjoyed the story. I wish Hino would add more to it, though. *gloom* 10/10

Overall, the story, art, and characters were wonderful. read more