Blade of the Immortal
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Blade of the Immortal

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Mugen no Juunin, Inhabitant of Infinity
Japanese: 無限の住人
English: Blade of the Immortal
More titles

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 30
Chapters: 207
Status: Finished
Published: Jun 25, 1993 to Dec 25, 2012
Genres: Action Action, Adventure Adventure, Drama Drama, Supernatural Supernatural
Themes: Historical Historical, Martial Arts Martial Arts, Samurai Samurai
Demographic: Seinen Seinen
Serialization: Afternoon
Authors: Samura, Hiroaki (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 8.431 (scored by 1526215,262 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #1582
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #176
Members: 61,221
Favorites: 2,493

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 25, 2010
Neiru2013 (All reviews)
Preliminary
When Rin seeks revenge for the murder/rape of her family by the Itto-Ryu (a rival sword school), she hires Manji, an immortal swordsman, to help her. But things aren't quite that simple. The more Rin sees how her revenge affects the lives of others, and the more she gets to know her enemies, the harder it becomes for her to justify her goals. I think the story's greatest strength is character development, completely blurring the line between "good" and "evil." Seriously. Nearly all the characters are so sympathetic that you end up with nobody to root for or against. It's enough to drive one crazy!

Aside read more
Dec 28, 2014
ClownOnACloud (All reviews)
“I just want you to know one thing...I may be the one facing them. I may be the one cutting them down. The one who stands on their graves. But you will be the one that kills them.”

There are a great many stories that revolve around the concept of revenge. A great many writers have written a great many tales about revenge, each expressing their own sentiments towards the topic. Some glorify it, others ridicule it as a fool’s quest and others tell a more sympathetic story. Blade of the Immortal however simply tells it how it is, at no point is the author read more
Jan 8, 2011
manjifrankie (All reviews)
Preliminary
I have been reading Blade of the Immortal for a LONG TIME. It is the only manga I buy, the rest I either borrow or just browse online if it has not been released in English. To say I am a big fan of the series is an understatement. Now for those of you that need some guide of why this series is one of the best ever mangas from Japan:

Story:
If you read the synopsis it is pretty much self explanatory what is going on in the series, but what makes it special is the way the story is told and the twist read more
Nov 25, 2019
snowhytetan (All reviews)
I'll start with putting it bluntly-
Blade is an Action packed Samurai Manga with gorgeous Art & cool ideas relative to its setting.
So read it ONLY if you find that appealing.

Let's talk in detail now:

An impressive & also one of best things about it, which made it feel like a rich Samurai tale taking place in Edo Period of Japan, is how the story goes to so many different locations & explores quite good amount of concepts relative to that kind of setting. You can very easily notice that this manga has plenty of these little things & ideas which are a bit advanced read more
Aug 30, 2018
Joe_Med (All reviews)
TL DR; If you can bear gore this one is a must read
(I would recommend listening to "sowulo - SOL (2016) album" with your reading for full experience (fits with it like key and lock) )

story 10/10
I won't tell anything about the story so rest assured.

A Gory samurai age story as the cover implies (as the most of this genre) but:

1- with a bit of science fiction and some medical knowledge.
2- many arcs not long few boring ones
3-many characters so you are not only following a single protagonist but multiple characters so you not get bored
(and easy to follow don't read more
Sep 1, 2015
Nervin (All reviews)
Revenge is a topic a lot of philosophers have dwelled on, all with their own view on the topic. Of course not only philosophers thought about this subject: revenge is a common topic in mangas too, even readers themselves may have certainly thought on taking revenge in certain occasions; Blade of the Immortal is no different, though it certainly revolves around it, this manga has in fact much more to offer, allowing the reader to dwell on the topic of revenge, while at the same time enjoying the storyline, the engaging characters and the impressive art style. Sounds promising and well, but why was it read more
Feb 7, 2010
IppoSRB (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is one awesome manga. I'm actually not a fan of samurai stuff. I like Sci-fi and fantasy. But the first thing that stunned me here was awesome art.
The clean moves with pen makes an awesome drawing that is stunning and complex at the same time. But yet, in some places you cannot clearly see what is going on. Regarding that, i was amazed with so much violence and blood in this manga. And let's be honnest. This manga has it a lot.
The storyline at the begining seemed nothing special at all, but as you keep reading, the story shapes better, and introduces us with read more
Dec 1, 2016
Raggadish (All reviews)
"The greatest part of revenge, isn´t for the person who died. It´s for oneself"

Wow. What an intense ride "Blade of Immortal" was for me. I got interested in the manga throw the 13 episode anime, based on the first 44 chapters. But the anime adaptation didn´t get home to the viewers and the show was cancelled, so I decided to pick up the manga to see what happened to Rin, Manji and Anotsu. If you are a bit sensitive, this manga is certainly not for you. It contains a lot of detailed violence, deaths, blood, gore, torture and rape in a very realistic read more
May 14, 2020
Rohanbarai (All reviews)
Blade of the immortal is a Japanese manga series by Hiroaki Samura. The series is set in Japan during the mid-Tokugawa Shogunate period and follows the cursed samurai Manji, who has to kill 1000 evil men in order to regain his mortality.

Here's what its about :

Manji is an amoral swordsman, who has been cursed with eternal life. He has grown tired of living with all the death he has created. He has no skills other then those of killing, thus he forms a plan to regain his mortality: he shall kill one hundred evil men for each good one he has killed. The old read more
Jan 30, 2021
poemofdevil (All reviews)
I went in backwards having first seen (and ultimately loving) the 2019 anime adaptation of BOTI before deciding to read the source material. It was an incredible experience going through this story a second time. And surprisingly it felt fresh experiencing it again. I attribute this to the flexibility/advantage in being able to tell the story over hundreds of chapters compared to a few 20+ minute animated episodes. I was able to experience many scenes that weren't adapted in the anime, and therefor was able to get more story details during this second go-around.

What caught me by surprise in experiencing this story again is how read more
Feb 2, 2019
CrystalMountain (All reviews)
Spoiler-Free review


read more
Oct 28, 2019
Ysbryd (All reviews)
Preliminary
I have heard a lot about how great this manga is, and as a lover of samurai stories, I thought this would quickly become a new favorite of mine. Unfortunately, this was not the case. I found the art was incredibly inconsistent, ranging from very good to just plain awful, sometimes within the same chapter. The story didn't feel very meaningful, in the sense that I never grew to care about anything that was going on, and the characters felt flat. When a character would grow, it was predictable. I try to give every story at least 100 chapters, and that is what I did read more
Oct 25, 2021
moOnday_8 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hi there MAL peeps, Welcome to another review.
This time around we have the big title Mugen no Juunin aka Blade of the Immortal. So without any stalling lets get into it.

STORY
Blade of the Immortal is a Samurai/Swordsman's manga based around the period of feudal Japan. We follow Asano Rin and her thrusting bodyguard Manji, as she's set on a journey to avenge her family done in by the infamous Ittou Ryu. A group of highly capable fighters led by Anotsu Kagehisa.
Rin and Manji follow leads taking them all across the city of Edo (old Tokyo) in hopes of finding Kagehisa and possibly fulfill read more
Jul 12, 2020
cecillewisiii (All reviews)
Blade of the Immortal was an interesting series that I decided to pick up after surfing though the Samurai category of the website. This manga heavily entertained me with the journey of Manji and Rin as they set out to accomplish the goal of taking down Anotsu as requested to accomplish vengeance on Rin’s behalf. This introduction of new characters had me continuously caring for them, which eventually brought me to many emotional circumstances while new occurrences took place. I loved this series, and I was intrigued that this manga initially was written from left to right other than the typical manga that I’ve read more