Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Vagabond

Vagabond

Alternative Titles

English: Vagabond
Japanese: バガボンド

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 37
Chapters: 327
Status: Publishing
Published: Mar 23, 1999 to May 21, 2015
Authors: Inoue, Takehiko (Story & Art), Yoshikawa, Eiji (Story)
Serialization: Morning

Statistics

Score: 9.001 (scored by 34890 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #72
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #28
Members: 102,513
Favorites: 11,048

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
May 3, 2009
Tanequil (All reviews)
Some seinen manga, I believe, take the meaning too far. The gore and nudity found in them is simply disturbing, no longer artistic, just omnipresent and absolutely in-your-face.

Vagabond is not like those seinen manga.

From the beginning, Vagabond has this strange allure to it. Drawn to this manga by the promise of awesome fight scenes, [oh yes, I assure you, you will not be disappointed by the fight scenes], you find yourself hooked to this manga.

Absolutely, completely, utterly, hooked.

It starts off with a rather rude and yet beautiful jerk, depicting the scene of a battlefield in splendid watercolor. The manga just rides on from there, rising read more
Jan 6, 2008
bigjig (All reviews)
Vagabond is perhaps the very epitome of a great manga. It has everything: action, suspense, excitment, drama and even a little romance - everything that is packed into Eiji Yoshikawa's amazing original story.

That's not to say it is to everyone's tastes. While I personally love Takehiko Inoue's drawings, the imagery at times is very graphic, bordering on grotesque at times. Limbs, guts, heads fly off in the heat of battle, the drawings are literally so good it's sickening. If blood is not really your thing, you might be better leaving this on the shelf.

For those who don't mind a bit of blood however, read read more
Sep 12, 2014
Dietrologia (All reviews)
Vagabond is, in my opinion, one of the most important titles in recent manga history, and perhaps ever. It is, in many ways, one of the most ambitious manga ever created, and although it's impossible to measure individual effort, it wouldn't surprise me if Takehiko Inoue worked twice as hard as most mangaka.

Vagabond follows the exploits of Shinmen Takezo, who would eventually become the legendary sword-saint Miyamoto Musashi, and his childhood friend, Hon'iden Matahachi. The two start off as very different people to begin with, and their inherently different natures set them off on completely different life paths. Though based on a famous novel read more
Feb 18, 2015
ChiefWarlock (All reviews)
Vagabond is one of the greatest manga ever written. The manga is totally different from the majority of seinen manga who focuses on gore and storylines without any depth to it. It is a gift to all those readers who enjoy philosophy and realistic stories.

Vagabond is a journey of a samurai named Miyamoto Musashi focusing on his life and the hardships & challenges he faces throughout his journey. The mangaka has done a brilliant job in portraying his life right from the first chapter.

The artwork is on a level of its own and the narration is exquisite. The story progresses at a read more
Jun 17, 2011
Neiru2013 (All reviews)
I read Vagabond to see what all the fuss is about. It's a very fast read. There are huge image panels and barely anything happening per chapter, which flows well if you're reading straight through but hellish if you're waiting chapter by chapter. The art is simply gorgeous - probably the best I've ever seen in a manga - but stands in stark contrast to the lack of actual story... sort of like special effects in a movie.

The "story" appears to be the warrior's drive to be the best, err, I mean "invincible under the sun." This results in such battles as the infamous "lets read more
Jul 16, 2011
Foolness (All reviews)
A manga you can ignore if you're not into it for the art.

Neiru2012 pretty much brought up all of my distaste for this manga but I think it's unfair to over-simplify Vagabond using spoiler cases.

That is because Vagabond can simply be said to be Shamo set in a samurai period using a famous character like Mushashi.

***Skip to the last paragraph for summary***

This isn't so much saying one is a clone of the other or that one came before the other or that others came before these two.

It's simply my way of attempting to provide a low review without taking away what the manga is by read more
Aug 25, 2017
Chinaz (All reviews)
Vagabond - GOD LEVEL DRAWING !!

Inoue Takehiko is known for being a legend, thanks to works like Slam Dunk - which is one of the best-selling manga series in history - or Vagabond - an adaptation from Eiji Yoshikawa book "Musashi".

Synopsis: In 1600 AD, Japan undergoes one of the most turbulent periods of its history. The young Takezo, with his friend Matahachi, leaves the Miyamoto village to fight in the Battle of Sekigahara. Although they dream of fame and glory, they only find defeat and a path full of uncertainties. Follow the journey of bloody fighting and spiritual challenges of this fearless swordsman, who was read more
Nov 7, 2013
Ujio (All reviews)
This is my first review and possibly the only review i will ever write.

Vagabond it's only the second manga i've read and the reason why i'm writing this review, it's because while reading this manga i started to notice how good this manga became to me. It's truly a masterpiece and to be honest, i don't think i can find another one like this. I enjoy reading this manga so much, i started to feel a certain empathy to Musashi's feelings because whenever he questions his ability and his strength or feels clueless about the true meaning of being invicible, i start to question read more
Mar 27, 2017
Daril (All reviews)
Vagabond is the story of Musashi Miyamoto, the most famous samurai, inspired by the novel "Musashi".

STORY:
This is one of the best and most simple natured stories I've ever read.
The story follows Musashi on his way to becoming the strongest, Invincible Under The Heavens. How he grows, from a wild ruffian, to a respectable man by slowly realising the importance of close friends, self-reflection and life itself. The story also follows our secondary protagonist, Sasaki Kojiro who also aims to be Invincible Under The Heavens, with a child-like personality and amazing skills with the sword, he is destined to fight Musashi one day. The premise read more
Jan 29, 2016
danisoriarev (All reviews)
I've been enjoying reading manga most of my life, but in the last few years, I've been trying to get a little more out of it than used to, trying to understand what makes great storytelling.

So, I bought volume one quite a while ago, after seeing Takehiko Inoue's art featured on pinterest and after researching him and seeing what many of you had to say about Vagabond, I had little to none doubt that it would be great. 20 volumes later, I must say that I was quite disappointed. It is a good book and I understand what people see in it but... Was this read more
Nov 20, 2009
kansas778 (All reviews)
What is amazing about this manga is how well the action scenes are drawn. Normally I have a hard time following manga action scenes that are too crowded or just a character in a pose with lots of "action lines" all over the place. With Vagabond you really get a sense of how the characters move--the speed, the timing, just how close the near misses are--you can see it all.

In addition the characters' eyes jump off the page. You really feel like they are looking you right in the eyes. The faces are so unique in how they are read more
Dec 13, 2018
Finite__ (All reviews)
This is arguably the best manga--or for the most part--ONE of the most engaging, captivating and exhilarating pieces of literature I have ever read!

At first, I was hesitant... I had originally thought: "Really?... Samurais and stuff? Nah... I'll take a pass".

Then reading more into genre and looking at other images: "ehh... another over-grown and nonsensical Seinen that over-glorifies gore... it looks great... it sounds simple..."

And now my current thoughts on it: "I acclaim this as the ultimate EPIC in the form of manga, while also adopting beautiful and masterfully drawn and painted artworks, exhibited and splashed throughout the pages and so forth..."

The fruition of beautiful read more
Aug 19, 2018
Daddy-O (All reviews)
It’s an old story. The hero is Musashi Miyamoto; the greatest samurai who ever lived, author of that esoteric sword-fighting guide that I couldn’t get past the first page of. His legend was brought to a more international audience with the film series starring Toshiro Mifune. While it would be impossible for another actor to outperform Mifune as the samurai master, the realm of manga can achieve the impossible. I was never a huge manga geek, but I’ve read a decent amount of the most highly-acclaimed. Vagabond is without a doubt the most incredibly drawn manga I’ve ever read.

The way of the sword in Japan read more
Feb 23, 2009
yaya-d (All reviews)
once you start to read this manga you're going to be hooked.

Vagabond is one of a kind manga , comedy , romance,action,blood,a little bit of drama.

the most thing i like about it are the art and the outstanding fighting scenes, i really enjoyed reading it whileI'm reading it i feel like i'm with them the story is very nice , there's no telling whats going to happen next .
i must say it has many blood , nude scenes .

if you like Samurai,bloody manga/anime ,
this one is for .


Dec 24, 2012
critic111 (All reviews)
The veteran mangaka Takehiko Inoue(Slam Dunk) brings another canonical work to the manga world. Vagabond based off of The Book of Five Rings, tells the tale of the legendary samurai Miyamoto Musashi. Amidst the clamoring swords, and spurts of blood, there lies a deeper and more satisfying existential quest, that Musashi slowly begins to unravel. Inoue punctuates this journey with deliberate pacing, and beautiful watercolor paintings; the likes of which I have rarely seen of the hundreds of manga I have read.


My favorite part of this manga is the character growth for Musashi, from an selfish boy, to enlightened master swordsman.

The story, art, read more
Aug 9, 2013
Gangankuroi-sama (All reviews)
The first thing that came to my mind when I saw this manga was "Boring, dreary and (judging by the cover) crappy artwork". But when I actually read it, I was simply blown away by the quality of it. It is truly a masterpeice and here's why.

The storyline is astounding. It has its own personal flair to it and it moved me. It is very deep and philosphical so if you don't like confusing and long stories, this ain't for you.

The artwork is amazing and it actually has that traditional, feaudal Japanese feel to it. And if you are stoned enough, makes you feel read more
Nov 30, 2018
zawardo_za_crow (All reviews)
“Preoccupied with a single leaf... you won't see the tree. Preoccupied with a single tree... you'll miss the entire forest. Don't be preoccupied with a single spot. See everything in it's entirety... effortlessly. That is what it means to truly "see.”
― Takehiko Inoue

this quote to me from the mangaka that made quite possibly my favorite fictional/ non- fictional work ever, summarizes his finest, most masterful and all the above work, vagabond.this quote is what i learned from vagabond. it crystallizes musashi's (the mc) main hidden struggle throughout the story. i shalln't give much more but know that vagabond for what its worth is a read more
Jan 10, 2017
CivilianHero (All reviews)
So, where do I start about this absolute jewel of a manga. Should I talk about the art, the story, the author or the main man mushashi himself. Everything in this manga was a perfect 10 baring just one thing that I personally wasn't very fond of, which I would talk about in the end.

The plot of the manga follows primarily Takezo aka Mushashi on his journey to become arguably the greatest swordsmen that ever lived. The story follows the trials and hardship he faced along the journey. The aspect of the story that I liked the most was the fact that the author stressed read more
Sep 21, 2018
Vandareer (All reviews)
Its rare I am changed on a spiritual and philosophical level by a piece of media. Sure I may form certain opinions after consuming a story or movie, however Vagabond is the only story to every completely change how I look at life.

To absurdly oversimplify it, Vagabond is a story of self improvement and finding your place in the world. Before I read Vagabond I didn't know where to go with my life. But soon after starting it I realised this wasn't a normal manga, this was different.

By volume 10 I had already been so motivated by Musashi and his journey that my grades at read more
Feb 15, 2018
leoniveli (All reviews)
When I first read Vagabond My first impressions were that the Art style was amazing but each chapter didn't really contain much content or that the pacing was too slow. Story wise I thought it was average until it finally expanded more on it's characters which later on are what make Vagabond great. The plot of becoming the strongest swordsman is pretty basic, makes it seem like just another fighting manga. There's a lot of philosophical aspects that I love involved every other chapter, like characters questioning why they are the way they are and why they can't stop being that way. My favorite aspect read more