Shishunki Bitter Change
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Shishunki Bitter Change

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Puberty Bitter Change
Japanese: 思春期ビターチェンジ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 9
Chapters: 67
Status: Finished
Published: Oct 25, 2012 to Jan 15, 2019
Genres: DramaDrama, RomanceRomance, SchoolSchool, ShoujoShoujo, PsychologicalPsychological, Gender BenderGender Bender
Authors: Masayoshi (Story & Art)
Serialization: Comic Polaris

Statistics

Score: 7.721 (scored by 50095,009 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #14332
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #896
Members: 13,006
Favorites: 343

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 22, 2015
MagicalMahou (All reviews)
Preliminary
As much as I like my Steins;Gates, Fate/Zeros and Evangelions, there are far too many things about the Slice of Life genre that attract me so much to it. Probably because the so-called "otaku" influence had gotten to my head and got me so into such mundane settings. However, quite recently, I learned the reason as to why Slice of Life is, really, my most favorite genre and that is, not because I can relate, not because there are short skirts abound and most definitely not because I'm a teenager but ultimately because of the complexity of mundane human beings. Now, I know it read more
Sep 17, 2016
_Sofi_ (All reviews)
Preliminary
The Gender-Bending genre. A genre that has mostly inclined for comedy, for understandable reasons. Men and women are quite different between each other, both physically and psychologically. Placing a man's psyche in a woman's body provokes humor because of the contrasts between the unfamiliarity of the situation and the previous familiarity of being in one's body. Ranging from works like Boku Girl to Baka and Test, men who possess feminine appearances are treated as a comedic exercise. Few works truly delve into the question: "What if you were a girl instead of a guy?" and vice versa in a serious manner. The closest example is read more
Nov 8, 2020
emmeka (All reviews)
Ahhh, body swapping. That tired old cliché that has been done hundreds of times in manga. Usually, we get a cheap laugh or two about the characters' failures at keeping up their façade around their family and friends, maybe a couple ecchi situations for the unsuspecting boy stuck in a girl's body, and a hackneyed romantic development to wrap things up before everything goes back to normal. And so begins this manga: with an elementary school boy and girl who swapped bodies after falling out of a tree and banging their heads together.

Given how well-trodden and mediocre the trope it builds its premise around read more
Aug 11, 2018
Kuropika_Kurta (All reviews)
Preliminary
Shishunki Bitter Change is a weird manga.

It takes a concept usually reserved for comedies, the idea of two adolescents swapping bodies, which is usually a lead in for a poorly done romance story. A popular example of this type of story, although I have yet to see it, is Kimi no Wa (Your Name), which from what I've read is a fairly usual affair of a boy and girl switching bodies.

So, if this concept is usually poorly done, why would I give Shishunki a 9/10? Well, that is because Shishunki focuses on the bad part of what could happen while in someone else's body. Whereas read more
Sep 23, 2016
MaskettaSenpai (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Shishunki Bitter Change", or "Gender Bender: Can't Return to Sender" isn't great. I'd hesitate to call it good, but I certainly can't call it bad, either. It's just serviceable. It's a light, breezy read with some chuckles and a few moments of genuine pathos but there's little else too it than that.

Maybe that's all you want, but personally I like a little cheese on my crackers.

Having the characters swap at an early age and then committing to it as they continue to age up through High School, with all the angst that comes with, is an interesting direction to take, and there's plenty of room read more
Jan 4, 2016
4b3 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Only 1 review? How can people judge if is worth to read from that short synopsis?

Here s my thoughts about this manga!

First, yes, the story talks about two childs that swap their bodies, but that s not all, through the manga we see how at first this condition cause big troubles for our protagonists, but slowly they get used to it. The reader can notice the emotions that they feel, and that's possible thanks to the good work that the autor has done.

Think that now that they re used to the body swapping plot it get better?
No, it get worst, that's because they grow, the read more
Aug 12, 2018
Callum23 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm not really one for writing reviews, but i just couldn't miss out here. Shishunki Bitter Change is a criminally underrated manga, and while the premise may turn you off at first, i guarantee it is nothing like you'd expect from a gender bender. I was a massive fan of Kokoro Connect and came in to this expecting something similar. Probably not as dark and probably a bit more fan-service. I was glad to be wrong.

Story - 8/10

Honestly the story isn't overly special, I predicted some of the major plot points within the first few chapters, but to be honest that was due to read more
Nov 15, 2018
TetraKiss (All reviews)
Preliminary
I came to read this manga thanks to a weird obsession with body swap manga lately. I started it hoping for an okay manga, wasn't expecting much. BOY WAS I WRONG! I read all current chapters out, (up to 60.2) And I CRAVE MORE!

Story (8/10)
The way they swap bodies isn't very intresting or very new. After that the story improves very much. Still has cliches, but that's fine. The story is fantastic, and a great slice of life feel. It doesn't yet go into a lot of detail about how this happened to them, and I don't believe it will in the future.

Art (8/10)
The art read more
Sep 17, 2020
Spindleglass (All reviews)
Shisunki Bitter Change is a pleasant surprise. The basic premise deals with an uptight little girl finding herself in an uruly little boys body and vice versa. The change is not easily reverted and they are stuck dealing with this problem as they continue growing up.

Gender swaps are not unusal in certain anime or manga and they are normally filled with comedic jokes and gags; however, Shisunki takes this concept a step further by actually entertaining us with the notion of what really would happen if faced with this dilemma.

That doesnt mean the series is devoid of any comedy regarding its situation, there is, but read more
May 9, 2016
Silvertide (All reviews)
Preliminary
Even though this manga is not completed yet, I'd like to review on what I've read so far (up to chapter 36).

Art

While the art is very simple, it works and is kind of cute in its own way. The art isn't ugly, just plain. It has its own charm to it.

Characters

The characters are very well done. I feel very emotionally attached to the two main characters and even the side characters are very realistically portrayed.

Story

I thought this was going to be something light and fluffy like Yamada-kun and the Seven Witches, with the body swapping. It would have even been alright if it was as read more
Apr 14, 2019
TheHentaiKing (All reviews)
Preliminary
I read the final translated release a day or two ago and finished this manga at 77 chapters. I'll remove this part when the page gets updated.

Just personal scratch.
Advised, possible spoilers.
Opinion & Informal

Art: 6/10
Fine. Anatomy and proportions checked out. Backgrounds looked about average. Not much nature showcases or environmental scenery. Interior details were a bit sparse at times but were fine for the most part. Supporting details looked alright. A few nice-looking impact panels and shots. Overall, the art was fine.

Panel Progression: 7/10
Good pacing. Feelings expressed nicely and panel design was thought out. Flair in a lot of panel cutting. Helpful amount of supporting tones read more
Mar 15, 2020
Nocturnia (All reviews)
Preliminary
Shishunki Bitter Change is both a rare gem and an unoriginal flop at the same time.

What is rare is to find a genuine body swap genderbender drama that doesn't ruin itself with stupid comedy. As any fan of serious genderbender can most probably sympathize, the number of genderbender stories that are not either

a) ecchi fan service, or
b) ridiculous comedy,

...is exceptionally low.

In addition to this, the characters are quite well developed. It's a character-driven drama, and its characters are its main strength. There are a few tropes, to be sure, but they are not executed too blandly. The relationship aspects are also handled well, read more