Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

God Child

God Child

Alternative Titles

English: Godchild
Japanese: ゴッド チャイルド

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 8
Chapters: 48
Status: Finished
Published: 2001 to 2004
Authors: Yuki, Kaori (Story & Art)
Serialization: Hana to Yume

Statistics

Score: 8.281 (scored by 5945 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3842
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #593
Members: 14,229
Favorites: 993

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 25, 2008
Chupacabra-Food (All reviews)
I only recommend if for those sick people who can stomach the convulted, twisted, vile nature of humanity and still think its one helluva story.

Well then, hello you sick people, this is your manga.

Story:
Basically Godchild (first started in the Cain Saga) is the story of the Earl Cain, a posion collection, who is a noble of the prestigious English family, and finds himself investigating strings of murders involving serious psychologically distrubed people (seriously, they are MESSED UP) in the current decaying society which is London. As the story progresses he begins to find a pattern in these cases all connected to a read more
Dec 11, 2008
Uniasus (All reviews)
I absolutely love this series (and of course, The Cain Saga). I love Kaori Yuki's artwork, and the relationships she constructs between characters is always so involved, complex, and at time twisted. But..it always works out because the feelings of the characters are real. Very very real.

Plus, who doesn't like the feel and look of Victorian London? Who hasn't wondered about the perversive nature of fairy tales and Mother Goose tales? And the chapter titles were so appropriate for the setting of the manga, I can tell Kaori-sama put a lot of research in this.

The read more
Mar 16, 2008
katastrophykate (All reviews)
Preliminary
Kaori Yuki proved, with this manga, that she is a master story teller. Her characters are so 3-dimensional, it's hard to dislike any of them. I was also amazed by the amount of plot that she was able to squeeze into only 8 volumes without any of it seeming rushed. And the art is (of course) beautifull. However, the main reason this is one of my favorite mangas, is all because of how it ended. It has, in my opinion, the best ending I've ever read or seen in any anime.
Oct 12, 2010
poznati (All reviews)
I'm pretty new to the whole manga/anime scene, but despite that, I'm an avid reader and Godchild holds its own against my favorite novels. And honestly, I wish more novels were like this.

Story:
This is definitely a mature story, and not for people who are rubbed the wrong way by messed up family dynamic and "interesting" relationships. That having been said, Godchild has the right balance of disturbing, so it's just enough to give the story a healthy dose of macabre, but not enough to be excessive or ridiculous. It's full of twists and surprises, and I really mean surprises, not the kind that try read more
May 3, 2009
eneri (All reviews)
Preliminary
God Child is a rare gem that I had the fortune to come upon.
This manga may be shoujo, but don't be misled due to that. It's nothing like flowery high school romances with dimwitted main heroines. It explores the dark side of the human heart very well. Whether it be envy, loneliness, obsessive love or such.
The best thing is that the characters and their feelings are so real. It is impossible to think that they are mere drawings when such emotions have been weaved within. Whether it is a villain or the protagonist, none of their actions are carried out with no reason. read more
Oct 7, 2009
Lady_Violist (All reviews)
Preliminary
I found out about this manga about a month ago, a LONG time before I started to read it. When I first saw the cover, the art turned me off completely. For some unknown reason, I hated the characters' design, especially Cain's. However, "don't judge a book by its cover" proves to be right for me this time. I started to read it when I was bored. Although I did not finish the whole manga yet, it was only in a matter of days when I fell in love with this manga.

Story-9
How I found about this manga was from a recommendation from Kuroshitsuji. And, let read more
Nov 8, 2009
SaraSlurpsCoffee (All reviews)
There's no denying it, this manga is incredibly sick and twisted, with particular scenes so repulsive they'd make the faint hearted throw up.
...But you can't help loving it anyway!!

With artwork that beautiful, characters that lovable and unthinkable plot twists in every chapter, there's waaaay too much to love about this manga to ditch it just because it's sick. Kaori Yuki's done an amazing job of keeping the rather dark, 19th century aristocracy theme throughout and never fails to impress you with her wonderful - if not slightly deranged - ideas.
You're hooked by the very first read more
Apr 4, 2013
Vampire94Child (All reviews)
Dark, twisted, beautiful. This manga is definitely not unicorns and butterflies, it is dark. It shows insanity and how twisted and evil some people can be. Even though it is as dark and twisted as it can get it also shows how strong some bonds are, those that will not break.
The supernatural aspect of God Child adds to the mystery and helps to create twists and turn that no one would ever suspect.
The characters are created so well, and the background stories of the main characters makes them come alive, until you are left brimming with anger and hatred aimed at the villains making read more
Mar 7, 2014
TheRealTHEDragon (All reviews)
Preliminary
This manga isn't for the faint of heart or those with a weak stomach as it pulls no punches when it comes to this dark manga.

Set in an English background, there could not be a darker manga than this without adding gore to it (which this manga doesn't have a lot of gore in it - but it is only for mature readers as it includes scenes of violence, incest, & sexual situations).

If you have the nerve to delve into the dark that is goth, this manga is for you.
Feb 3, 2012
illuminatingmica (All reviews)
It's such a shame that I only recently knew this manga after reading Kuroshitsuji. I'm quite picky, and I hate to read a manga only to hate it afterwards. Thus, after reading some recommendations of several mangas with similar story with Kuroshitsuji, I decided to read Godchild.

And it's friggin' AWESOME.

Story (9/10):
Well, the story could just hit the perfect 10 only if it didn't move at such a fast pace. It depends on personal taste, but I wished it could go slower so I could get more of the story of its fabulous characters. However, it's still faraway better than the average story. Its tragic, heart-wrenching read more
Jul 31, 2016
HikaruShidou (All reviews)
God Child (9/10)
Oh my gosh. WOAH. This is the manga that had the ending that KEPT ME up for 2 hours last night. I couldn’t help but think over and over in my head: “How did I not see that coming? Did that just happen?”

Trust me. This never happened to me before with other manga.

It was so obvious that the ending would happen this way, yet it wasn’t. There was so much foreshadowing, but for some reason, I didn’t even pay attention to the warning signs. I was basically too emotionally attached to the characters that I didn’t have the courage to think about read more